We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay at the Langham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
2 reviews
“Great stay at the Langham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed at the Langham for 2 nights after flying in from London. The staff were very professional and helpful and the rooms were of a good size. The rooms felt slightly dated though. The Langham is a good 5 star hotel but the Westin Melbourne is better.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Room was slightly dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImeldaMarcos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,605
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,401
255
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

Recently stayed at the Langham for three nights, four days while enjoying a long weekend in Melbourne. Originally choose the hotel for the Chuan Day Spa but soon realised that it was perfect for our girls weekend!! We arrived at 6am on Fri morning to drop our bags off and asked if there were any free rooms so we could sleep - yes (at NO charge)!! The rooms were large, beds very comfortable and bathrooms clean and spacious. We were very impressed with the staff - the concierge was very helpful and Jessica at the Spa was brilliant. If you need some good restaurants try the Italian one (upstairs on the 1st floor of shopping centre next door) and Cervo (near Crown Casino shopping arcade). Will definately book the Langham again (try ringing up direct as 1/3 price as compared to what quoted on internet websites!!)

  • Liked — Chuan Day Spa and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

A pleasant stay at a generally good hotel
Location: right on the Yarra although you have to pay to guarantee a view; close to restaurants, the casino etc. About 15 min walk (or less) to the CBD.
Welcome: A beautifully attired 'older' gentleman who makes it a pleasure to arrive at the Langham
Check in: Professional
The room: A bit dated but very clean: Best feature - the bed, very comfortable; Worst feature - the OLD TV. Internet $10 per hour or $30 per day. A few things like alarm clock and lamps showing wear and tear.
Room service: expensive but good food, delivered quickly

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The TV
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveltragic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Outstanding service all round. The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful. The Club lounge is worth paying for not just for the food and service, but also the convivial atmosphere - the staff just seemed to have the right touch of engaging conversation without being overbearing.

The room I was allocated was spotlessly clean and completely isolated from external noise. The views over the Yarra were spectacular.

However, what is most impressive is the service. It knocks the Four Seasons chain into a cocked hat.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — outstanding service - it shows the Four Seasons how to do it.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NickDynamics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

My partner and I chose to stay at the Langam overnight and feel that we got a good deal. We got our accommodation, valet parking, 2 glasses of champagne and buffet breakfast for $330.
The service was fantastic and all the staff were very helpful. We received 2 free bottles of water in the room and then another bottle waiting in our car, just a nice little touch.
The surroundings are very grand with alot of marble and a very spectacular staircase as you walk into the foyer. The rooms are a little dated but have great views of the city and the beds/pillows were very comfortable.
The buffet breakfast is beautiful and probably the best I have had in Melbourne. The range is huge and they have cooking stations with different things being cooked fresh for you. The pancakes were my favourite with fresh berries added.
They also offer a 12 noon checkout which is great so we didnt have to rush to leave.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the langham and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast and Service
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Stayed there for 3 days on Business during July. I stayed here years ago when the Sheraton owned the hotel, they check in service was pretty average as they didnt really make you feel welcome, that was probably the only negative aspect. The restaurant was great and breakfast was world class, big gym and great day spa. Whilst i was there i got a 1 hour massage which was perfect, room was big and i liked the high ceilings, its right in the middle of southbank which is 5 mins walk to the casino. Try to book on wotif.com as i got a $199 per night deal which is about 40% of the price of what is on offer via there own website. The bar is good too, during happy hour they brought us free nuts and finger food. I would also recommend the Westin Hotel in Melbourne too but its usually $300-$400 per night.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JasonFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

My family and myself spent a wonderful weekend at the Langham when we went to see 'The Phantom of the Opera 'at the theatre.From the moment we arrived in the beautiful lobby all decorated with the magical XMAS TREE and the lights adorning the fountains we were all made to feel comfortable. We stayed in the CLUB LOUNGE rooms and I would definately recommend this to fellow luxury lovers. The Melba Restuarant great , the service was impeccable and the views were amazing.... The three rooms we had for our stay all had different views over Melbourne. LOCATION is without a doubt one of the delights of staying at the Langham we couldn' t have asked for anything better. I would definately stay at the Langham again we had a fantastic weekend and the staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were cosy and comfortable , we felt we were staying in a Luxury Boutique Intimate Hotel not a Five Star Snobby Pretentious Show Palace . Loved the Langham......

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank starchild13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing