We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dandenong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night but vowed we would come back longer next time. Staff are lovely,helpful and this hotel is perfectly positioned. Rooms clean,bed comfortable service excellent. Well equiped gym. Awesome breakfast. We will be back

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADFmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,095
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
857
2,713
287
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights - a couple of business meetings for my husband but the rest was vacation and a chance to catch up with our daughter who was studying at the university. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room with a river view, beds were comfortable and everywhere spotlessly clean. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning overlooking the river, swam in the pool and used the gym facilities too. The valet parking was also included - we found Melbourne a very easy city to drive in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for leaving us your kind feed back on the trio advisor. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable 8 night stay at the hotel and were charmed by our service staff and hotel location. It’s true that driving in Melbourne is undemanding and getting around the hotel is very easy. I look forward in welcoming you back to the Langham next time you are in Melbourne to see your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bittern
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had two nights here and enjoyed a great experience. Booked on line and had valet parking and breakfast included. Proximity to city fabulous, right near the pedestrian bridge over the Yarra. Breakfast good, comfortable beds and reasonably priced wifi

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I don't really understand how the Langham has rated so highly for so many years. It's a great hotel, but is it outstanding? I don't think so.

They've recently refurb'd the rooms but there are certain element of the rooms that are always going to look tired (bathroom) and no few fabrics or splashes of colour will take away from that. The lobby is a very glamorous in a 90s gold kind of way, I enjoy it but the hotel has never really moved forward design wise.

Customer service is great, once they repaired a shoe for me with tape as an emergency when they were unable to locate a shoe repairer. The gym has staff there all of the time and I think they also sell external memberships perhaps? Feels a little too crowded at times, equipment isn't great for a 5 star hotel either.

I have no particular complaints, I just think it's overrated as a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night and it was the perfect place for a perfect day.

Upon arrival the staff congratulated us and we were told we had been upgraded!

We entered our amazing river view room to find a slice of cake with congratulations written in chocolate, a hand written note again congratulating us and a dress bag for my wifes wedding dress! Now that is service. The dress bag did tear apart but we were brought a new one.

The rooms have everything you need and would expect from a high quality hotel.

But while the hotel itself is grand the location makes it even better. You have everything a tourist or local would want around the hotel.

Highly recommend this hotel for tourists and for people's wedding night!

Room Tip: If you are getting married that day, let them know beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Point, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I reviewed The Langham Melbourne in September last year and my main gripe was the housekeeping. I felt it let the place down. This weekend however was totally the opposite. On the 12th floor our room was beautifully presented and spotless. On the second day we'd left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door by mistake so the room wasn't made up. The turn down service got more than she bargained for, but did a wonderful job and left the room in immaculate condition. Means a lot when you're travelling. Reception staff on this occasion were welcoming, informative and helpful. Also a vast improvement on the last time well I felt they were on automatic pilot. I love this hotel for it's proximity to all things Melbourne, but back to loving it for style, grace and GOOD HOUSEKEEPING!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel did not disappoint. It met every expectation I had and exceeded some. It is centrally located just a stone’s throw from the Yarra River with easy access to everything Melbourne offers. I think the best thing about the hotel is the staff and service. For a hotel of this size, this is where they exceeded my expectations. The treatment I receive here, I usually get at smaller boutique hotels. When I arrived, I was warmly greeted by the reception staff and later taken to my room by Sumati from guest services who was a great host. He showed me around the room and club lounge, leaving no detail out. When asked about dining options he gave me the name of a great Thai restaurant. Throughout my stay, he inquired about my visit and needs. Francisco at the concierge was outstanding. No matter how many times I went down to ask for directions and to confirm reservations, he was always very helpful and pleasant. Ben at the concierge was also very helpful, but I dealt more with Francisco. Jamila another gem from guest services was very hospitable. The staff I encountered (Mehul, Soudie, Justinne, Nathalia) in the club lounge remembered my name from my first visit and they were also very hospitable. All these interactions made for a very memorable stay. When back in Melbourne, I will definitely stay at the Langham and I will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose a club room with views of the Yarra River if you can afford to, the views of the sunset are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing