We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended without qualification”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommended without qualification”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This very well appointed Hotel is ideally located in the exciting Southbank area of town, next to the arts and theatre precinct. We have stayed here from time to time and cannot fault the service, the available facilities, the competent, helpful staff and the views from our River View room. Our room was spacious with excellent bedding and all comforts including reading lights over the bed and well stocked mini bar. High quality restaurants ,bars and room service are first class. A visit (or two) to the 'Chuan Spa' is a must !
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: suggest you book a 'river view' room to take in the activities on and around the Yarra River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, General Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are pleased you appreciate the location of the hotel situated within the vibrant Southbank precinct and the close proximity to the CBD. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious guestroom with the sweeping views of the Yarra River and City, the furnishings as well as our Langham Blissful Bed.
We agree that a stay is not complete without at least one visit to our luxurious haven, The Chuan Spa. always the ideal location to refresh the body and mind. Thank you for your recommendation we appreciate this and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,099
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
858
2,716
287
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I'd heard the Langham was a lovely hotel but was nonetheless surprised by just how wonderful it was.
This is not for the Versace set, nor the minimalists. It is a beautifully appointed, elegantly decorated hotel that does not draw attention to itself, but instead gives. I felt soothed by the decor and cared for by staff. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for writing us such a gracious note. It was a great pleasure to look after you and your guest. I am pleased to learn that you were able to experience the uniqueness in our hotel features and that is what Langham as a brand strives for. I am certain you will come across similar elegance in all our Langham properties. Our Langham team at Melbourne looks forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

How long did I wait to get here? It was so lovely. You will be very satisfied to stay here as well.

I had a "Club room package" with afternoon tea, evening drink/snack and the breakfast included and stayed on the 21st floor. Fantastic view. They catered well for special meals such as vegan, gluten-free etc. We were very happy with quality, service, food and all. I just enjoyed the hotel life and did not have to go anywhere else.

Everything was just perfect......

Room Tip: Higher floor but avoid the room in front of the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B747-400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you and we really appreciate your post on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to cater all your dietary requirements in the club lounge and you had the pleasure to take in the panoramic Melbourne city views that we have to offer. On behalf of my entire team at the Langham, Melbourne I look forward in welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What is not to love at the Langham Melbourne! The staff are so very helpful even to the point of housekeeping sending me a box of their great hair products because I loved them. A trip to the Spa is a must, but don't expect to feel like hitting the town after because you are just so relaxed. So order room service! Good choice and well presented. Breakfast at the Melba is fantastic and you are spoiled for choice, try the chocolate or m'n'm filled nan bread, different probably bad for you but heck it's a long weekend, enjoy. Try the afternoon tea I come back for this with my daughters at least once a year, again the service is great and the staff so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the river on the higher floors for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recently stayed at The Langham in Melbourne. From the time I checked in and checked out, the experience was truly wonderful. The staff were always helpful and always had a smile on their faces! I stayed in a grand classic room. The room was always clean with lots of great goodies, in the bathroom. It was handy to have the room safe and umbrella. The bed was turned down at night; it was handy to have fresh towels given at night and some yummy chocolate. I loved the pool and spa, which was very relaxing! The food at breakfast and dinner was beautiful and I loved the buffet, which is unlike any other buffet I had eaten!
I hope to visit The Langham in Melbourne again, in the not too distant future. I had the best time and I will always remember this trip!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a kind post on trip advisor. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and have the opinion that we are the best hotel that you have stayed at. Our housekeeping and restaurant teams are quiet humbled with your kind feedback about them. We certainly look forward for your next visit and are encouraged to make it another good one for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the Langham for one night with my best friend, it was a pleasant night. The room was clean and tidy, it has a traditional vibe. I had no complaints up until it was time to check out. I had made the booking online via webjet and supplied payment details to the website for the discounted price. However, upon checkout the staff asked me for my credit card and almost deducted the full amount of the room fees (not the discounted price I had booked online). Ultimately, there was a lot of confusion and I was appalled that the staff does not know how to handle online bookings. She did continue to use the credit card for the payment. It was on my mothers card so I still dont know if there has been a double payment. Frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel was excellent, the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was really good, the choice of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was wonderful.

We had a river view room which was lovely, just over the river we could see Flinders Street Station and Federation Square. Position of hotel is really good both for getting there by car, also for bars and restaurants along Southbank and also the street artists. Right outside the hotel there are river cruises along the Yarra and the city is just a short walk.

Our room was very comfortable, the bed felt really luxurious and we enjoyed 2 really good nights sleep, the only criticism is that some of the furniture is a little tired, but this did not detract from the comfort of the room in any way.

All-in-all a really enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyann8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay.I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be retuning soon for your next visit. I also notice that you enjoyed your buffet breakfast at MELBA whilst you stayed with us. I would highly recommend you to try our lunch or dinner buffet in your next visit. Melba for last few years have earned the respect of being the best buffet in town. I am positive that you will not be disappointed. Our entire team at Langham, Melbourne looks forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing