We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Langham for 4 nights in December, and it was a truly memorable stay. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

As we were on our Honeymoon during our stay the hotel very kindly upgraded us to a Grand River room, the views were amazing as was the room itself. Upon arrival in our room the staff left a very yummy complimentary chocolate cake and a keepsake wedding dress bag which was beautifully presented. Little touches which were lovely and really made our stay special.

The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was so comfy. Lovely big bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities along with a well stocked mini bar.

Melbourne is a lovely vibrant place with loads to do, and the location of the Langham is the perfect base to explore the city.

If your looking to stay somewhere very special and central then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,264
    760
    249
    74
    56
See reviews for
670
2,199
235
759
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just great, the access to the check-in is preceded by a series of water falls for starters.
Our room was on the 21st floor and overlooked the river, train station and the city. The city view was particularly impressive at night.
We had access to the club lounge, which served a more than adequate varied breakfast, and evening drinks and snacks. The staff in the evening, including Suzanne, Yuki and Brendan were brilliant.
The hotel also boasts an impressive sun deck and covered pool area. It's also in a great location, being on the south bank and close to numerous bars and restaurants and within easy walking distance from the city centre.
The concierge, Peter, (a good Aussie bloke) sorted our car hire put without any dramas.
This is a fantastic hotel which offers everything a traveller could need.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for New Years Eve so that we could view the fireworks over the city. For this experience i highly recommend it although it does does come with a hefty price tag for the night.(breakfast and parking included)
On arrival we commented on the warmth of greetings by the door staff. Room was what you would expect from a hotel of this rating -very good.Didnt eat there NYE -too expensive. Breakfast which was included had many choices. Shame the wait staff don't tell you you can order espesso. I had to ask a neighboutring table!
Yet another hotel that doesnt offer wifi in rooms-only in bar area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Langham was a haven of luxury! Wonderful attentive staff, beautiful surroundings and such comfortable beds! The hotel itself is well positioned for access to the city being adjacent to the river and the shops and restaurants. The staff really get to know you and youi feel completely spoiled. A great stay and a real treat!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had heard very good things about the Langham in Auckland, so we're expecting great things. The hotel started well by calling me 2 days before our arrival to welcome us to The Club, and let us know about the private bookin area etc. Lovely welcome.
Unfortunately they didn't follow through when we put in a request for a 2pm checkin. We were greeted by a very young & inexperienced member of staff on the 24th club floor, who informed us our room wasn't ready. Would we like a cup of tea? 1.5 hrs later he finally rang the relationship mgr to give housekeeping a "wriggle on". We didn't get into our room til after 4pm. At the rates the hotel charges for these rooms I thought at least a bottle of champagne might have been in order, but nothing was offered. While we were there, I witnessed this happen to 3 other couples, one of whom said this was the second time it had happened to them at this hotel. Langham will not get a chance to do this to us again.
The hotel has everything going 4 it. Location, magnificent building, lovely rooms. They let themselves and their chain down with poor quality food and service in the club room, including inexperienced staff who get very stressed when under pressure.
The service area is too small, so guests bump into each other trying to get to the brevity etc. speaking of which, seriously the bacon on the first morning had atrophied. The food served to us for afternoon tea was very poor. It is my understanding the dry scones and ham&cheese sandwiches are those nerves for the pricey high tea. Not a patch on the quality one might expect 4 the price. Clotted cream? In your dreams...
The range of wine & spirits is the most limited I have ever struck in a club room and the service was impersonal and sparing. We witnessed many guests giving up on waiting for service on the 1st day & help themselves. Fair enough too. We noticed an improvement on the 2nd day and found out the managing director was in town. Lucky for us the quality of the food lifted a bit on that day too. The antipasto was nice.
Disappointing stay for a premium price.

Room Tip: If you're not too fussed about the club food, the club spa rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location on the south of the Yarra and handy to tonnes of shopping and cafes/restaurants. The hotel is very welcoming and all staff are happy and obliging. The lounge bar can fill quickly and it attracts some non hotel guests so plan ahead if you want to meet someone there. Great facilities, clean and great breakfast available...

Room Tip: ask for a river/city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxV870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had Christmas lunch for the 2nd year in a row at the Langham. This is a fantastic experience, fantastic food, great atmosphere and pleasant staff and great location. whilst Christmas lunch is quite expensive ($1300 for 4 adults) it is something to be remembered - we all just absolutely loved it. And I must say, I don't know where they get him from but they have the most authentic Santa you would ever see.
We also stayed at the hotel over Christmas, which was equally wonderful. It is good to see the pool area has been refurbished. I have been fortunate enough to travel extensively overseas over the past 17 or so years and without doubt would rate the Melbourne Langham as one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing