We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old world style in the new world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
�G|ϗϨ�
Level Contributor
652 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Old world style in the new world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very lovely hotel ,very European ,but casual as well . Shorts all day and even seen at night for the men . Wonderful buffet dinner and breakfast defiantly a good stay . Center city in a city of gardens

Room Tip: All good rooms not particular advantage rooms that I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,401
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel has everything you could expect from a first class establishment. It is located on the south side of the river near a foot bridge to the other side of the river. The river walk itself a great place to enjoy the outdoors and people watch. The hotel restaurant has a breakfast buffet that is outstanding. Our room was large and outfitted with a comfortable king size bed. We ordered room service the first night we were there because we were jet lagged. The service was prompt and the food was tasty. The hotel lobby has as grand staircase and fountain that leads up to the restaurant. We spent two nights there and would come back again anytime we were in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this property just for a night. Nice property with a good location. Breakfast was average, and room was fine but old it needs a facelift. I stayed at this property previously but it was a different experience. Hired a car and parking was so expensive at hotel, I had to walk to a parking station to park it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Location was fabulous--after 4 days of Great Ocean Walk, the luxury of this hotel was more than welcome and the staff, room, food did not disappoint in any way. Since this was the end of our 3 week trip, we splurged for a club level room, which much to our surprise came with an enormous balcony that not only extended the size of the already oversized room, but gave us a panoramic view of downtown Melbourne., including great view for Saturday night fireworks. The room was clean and in excellent condition. The club level lounge was one floor up, and provided plentiful food and drinks for light meal or snacks. So, back to location. The first morning we walked along the banks of the Yarra as crews were getting their boats out for morning rows on the river, then onto Botanical Gardens where wedding was being set up. As we stopped for snack in the Gardens cafe it was fun to watch people dressed for the wedding go by. The next day we walked along the other side of the river to Hosier Ave where grafiti rules, then on to explore the nearby sports complex which houses the national cricket field, and Rod Laver Arena. Point being, great location to explore the city, great service and food--we felt pampered and for the splurge, the hotel lived up to our highest expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our first stay at The Langham Melbourne left a strong impression that the team take every opportunity (no matter how small) to delight their guests. Other hotels would probably think we're difficult to deal with (not that we were deliberately so of course) but they handled everything without a fuss.
We booked through Amex FHR which got us complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trisnadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in classic room, very clean, good size and comfortable. Bath was great. Bed and pillows very good. Food expensive and service hit and miss. Great location, easy walk to Flinders Station and city. Would stay again but eat out of hotel as very pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

By their ratings on this website Langham is supposed to be the best hotel in Melbourne. I am a bit surprised to this fact because I didn't think that Langham is anything special. By no means it was bad but there was nothing to make it stand out. The rooms and bathrooms definitely seemed old and used and even though I had picked a "larger" corner room, it still was fairly small and tight.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The location is quite good. It is situated by the river on the southside and is fairly close to the center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing