We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff is incredible, and not just in the club. Peter was able to secure two last minute tickets to the football semi-finals and was spot on for shopping suggestions. Room was extremely comfortable with the bathroom especially roomy. I am a big admirer of a separate shower and dual sinks. Buffet is truly incredible with unusually high quality multi-ethnic offerings.

Room Tip: Club rooms are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,716 - 3,722 of 5,694 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

For my daughters 21st we had 24 hours between Uni and work commitments to celebrate this event. On the reviews I picked the Langham for our family to catch up and eat, massage and spa, drink, sleep in and relax together. Fantastic experience from the moment we drove in, car parked, luggage brought into our rooms, cake placed in the fridge, chocolates on arrival. AMAZING beds for sleeping, Breakfast was delightful. Melbourne turned on gorgeous weather. The staff, the ambience, worth going for a feeling of luxury. Highly recommend. Sisters are now watching this space. Weddings have been fantasised about, lots of reasons to come back. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Views of river over Melbourne were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bushflowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed for four nights and from the moment I arrived, the staff were charming, helpful and accommodating. It may be an older hotel but because of that it is opulently elegant not opulently garish. Staying club level is a must. It is perfect for a relaxing holiday but also conveniently located to all that Melbourne has to offer. The facilities such as bar, restaurant and spa have a lovely ambience. I will only come back to Melbourne if I can stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Bilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for the tennis, paid through the nose and it was worth every cent.

We had a standard room and it was excellent. Very clean, well appointed and quiet.

The hotel is superbly located by Southbank, but just slightly away from the main city centre, which is excellent.

The hotel breakfast was first class and very enjoyable.

Service on check in, check out, at breakfast and in the bar were all excellent.

All in all, it deserves its reputation as Melbourne's best hotel.

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked the Langham based on Trip Advisor reviews and found it completely over- rated. The entrance is down a back alley, apart from a brief stretch of restaurants the location can only be described as tatty. Although it is walking distance to many places you have to walk through the decidedly seedy Flinders Station area. The rooms are ok but took ages to warm room above chilly, it was also very noisy with screaming kids in adjoining room. There is very poor sound- proofing. While staff have smiles glued to their faces they give the distinct impression they are just doing the job. It is an average hotel not a great hotel. This is definitely over-rated to a major extent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crowe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. We aim to offer a sense of welcome. Our entrance is a large private Porte Cochere off the main Southbank street, City Road. It has a classic English sculpture garden of oak trees, manicured topiary and seasonal plants. We trust you were greeted at the carpeted Front Door by a bowler hatted doorman and luggage offered to be taken to your room. There are two bridges over the river into the city from the hotel. The alternative route is to leave the hotel from the Podium exit and wander through the top level of the Southgate shopping complex and across Princes Bridge into Federation Square. I am sorry your room controlled thermostat did not heat your room quickly enough. We have advised engineering to investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a club room and it was worth every penny. The staff in the club lounge were brilliant, especially one guy, unfortunately I didn't get his name, he looked quite young and was Asian and was so friendly, helpful and efficient. Everything in the room was great, the attention to detail made us feel so valued. The location of this hotel was also ideal.n we stayed for four nights and I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family chose to stayed at the Langham because of its location. We all came from different states of Australia and chose this hotel as our destination to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. We enjoyed our entire experience. We had club suites and liked everything about the rooms, cleanliness, bathrooms & views. Loved the day spa & the club lounge but most of all it was the staff at the hotel that helped to make our stay a memorable one, nothing was too much trouble, they provided real customer service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, quite rare to find such personalised service these days. Overall great experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,117 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,269 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,921 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $200 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing