We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff is incredible, and not just in the club. Peter was able to secure two last minute tickets to the football semi-finals and was spot on for shopping suggestions. Room was extremely comfortable with the bathroom especially roomy. I am a big admirer of a separate shower and dual sinks. Buffet is truly incredible with unusually high quality multi-ethnic offerings.

Room Tip: Club rooms are superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,348
    778
    256
    76
    58
See reviews for
690
2,256
239
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

For my daughters 21st we had 24 hours between Uni and work commitments to celebrate this event. On the reviews I picked the Langham for our family to catch up and eat, massage and spa, drink, sleep in and relax together. Fantastic experience from the moment we drove in, car parked, luggage brought into our rooms, cake placed in the fridge, chocolates on arrival. AMAZING beds for sleeping, Breakfast was delightful. Melbourne turned on gorgeous weather. The staff, the ambience, worth going for a feeling of luxury. Highly recommend. Sisters are now watching this space. Weddings have been fantasised about, lots of reasons to come back. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Views of river over Melbourne were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushflowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed for four nights and from the moment I arrived, the staff were charming, helpful and accommodating. It may be an older hotel but because of that it is opulently elegant not opulently garish. Staying club level is a must. It is perfect for a relaxing holiday but also conveniently located to all that Melbourne has to offer. The facilities such as bar, restaurant and spa have a lovely ambience. I will only come back to Melbourne if I can stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Bilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for the tennis, paid through the nose and it was worth every cent.

We had a standard room and it was excellent. Very clean, well appointed and quiet.

The hotel is superbly located by Southbank, but just slightly away from the main city centre, which is excellent.

The hotel breakfast was first class and very enjoyable.

Service on check in, check out, at breakfast and in the bar were all excellent.

All in all, it deserves its reputation as Melbourne's best hotel.

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked the Langham based on Trip Advisor reviews and found it completely over- rated. The entrance is down a back alley, apart from a brief stretch of restaurants the location can only be described as tatty. Although it is walking distance to many places you have to walk through the decidedly seedy Flinders Station area. The rooms are ok but took ages to warm room above chilly, it was also very noisy with screaming kids in adjoining room. There is very poor sound- proofing. While staff have smiles glued to their faces they give the distinct impression they are just doing the job. It is an average hotel not a great hotel. This is definitely over-rated to a major extent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. We aim to offer a sense of welcome. Our entrance is a large private Porte Cochere off the main Southbank street, City Road. It has a classic English sculpture garden of oak trees, manicured topiary and seasonal plants. We trust you were greeted at the carpeted Front Door by a bowler hatted doorman and luggage offered to be taken to your room. There are two bridges over the river into the city from the hotel. The alternative route is to leave the hotel from the Podium exit and wander through the top level of the Southgate shopping complex and across Princes Bridge into Federation Square. I am sorry your room controlled thermostat did not heat your room quickly enough. We have advised engineering to investigate. We hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a club room and it was worth every penny. The staff in the club lounge were brilliant, especially one guy, unfortunately I didn't get his name, he looked quite young and was Asian and was so friendly, helpful and efficient. Everything in the room was great, the attention to detail made us feel so valued. The location of this hotel was also ideal.n we stayed for four nights and I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family chose to stayed at the Langham because of its location. We all came from different states of Australia and chose this hotel as our destination to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. We enjoyed our entire experience. We had club suites and liked everything about the rooms, cleanliness, bathrooms & views. Loved the day spa & the club lounge but most of all it was the staff at the hotel that helped to make our stay a memorable one, nothing was too much trouble, they provided real customer service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, quite rare to find such personalised service these days. Overall great experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,986 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing