We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare for absolute Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prepare for absolute Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enter another world where the chaos of the day melts away on arrival. I had a very difficult day and checked in fully 'wound-up'. What charming service I received from the moment I got there. Lovely room with an amazing balcony and views of my town - Melbourne. I travel mainly for business so, the personal experience of this stay was going to be important. The Lanham and their wonderful staff did not disappoint. I will be back and recommend this hotel to everyone. Just lovely, soft, exclusive, calm, friendly and so efficient... Many thanks.

Room Tip: I chose one of seven rooms with a very generous balcony with outdoor furniture to relax. Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planetwalker180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times. I can not fault it.
Best hotel in Melbourne.
You enter the hotel to a magnificent chandelier and the scene is set. The decor in this hotel is luxe and just transports you to a different head space - truly time to be pampered and relax.
The staff are exceptional. They go above and beyond. Always friendly and willing to lend a hand.
Melba is amazing for buffet, and their champagne bar is perfect for high tea or the delectable chocolate buffet!
The rooms are so beautiful, and that bed.... Pure divinity to sleep on. Super clean and immaculately presented.
The location is perfect - walking distance to Crown and just far enough not to be in the hustle and bustle.
Love this hotel and I always recommend it to anyone who is going to Melbourne!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondsinchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It had been almost two years since I last stayed at the Langham so was pleasantly surprised to find that they still had my Langham membership details and preferences all ready when I arrived. I had a room at the end of the passage but which meant it had great views on two sides of the river and overlooked Flinders Station and downtown.

In actuality I found the walk from the hotel to Collins Street where most of the offices are was much shorter than I anticipated and the immediate adjacency to the South bank restaurants makes for almost a dozen 'in-house' restaurants.

Will definitely stick to the Langham in Melbourne

Room Tip: definitely a room with a view overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As soon as we pulled up to the front door, we were treated like Kings and Queens. The Staff were professional, friendly, attended to ever need, went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. The food... where do I start, the best I think I have ever had. The room was stunning, loved the personal greeting on the TV as we walked in, everything was crisp, clean, and the view looking over the Yarra River was divine. Wait until you try the king sized beds!! cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I like to give balanced fair reviews so I was trying to think of something constructive to write, perhaps an improvement that they could make but there isn't one. Our stay at the Langham was without fault. We arrived very early and they had a room ready for us. The staff were friendly helpful and spent time helping us even if it was late and even if they were busy. And they had a sense of humour. The rooms were immaculate, the beds comfy and spacious, the bathrooms modern. Breakfast was wonderful complete with chocolate fountain and even on a busy Fathers Day it all flowed (no pun intended) and was managed with poise. The Spa was a fabulous experience and highly recommended and sitting in the hot tub on the 9th floor admiring the view was a very nice way to pass some time. I loved the location. In the past we have stayed at The Blackman which we loved but this location is unbeatable. We were there to see the Monet Exhibition which was about 400m away if that. The famous laneways are just across the river and if the Casino is what you're after, it's just a 10 minute walk along the riverfront. I have already booked to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

just had 1 night stay on footy finals weekend and the Langham was its usual 5 stars all the way. From the time we arrived we were welcomed by friendly check in staff and when we left we were farewelled with a smile. service is first class and for a 5 star hotel the value is excellent. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the langham this weekend with my daughter, well from our arrival to departure was excellent, the welcome on the footpath was friendly and efficient, then at check in once again very friendly, asked if we needed any information on what to do in Melbourne, then we get to our room , once again fantastic, very clean and very comfortable, all needs catered for, a proper good quality iron, and also a good quality hair dryer, and well appointed amenities in the bathroom, the towels also great quality

Comfy beds and great pillows

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing