We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Heart of south bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heart of south bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed here a few times for work, all marble and Langham trade mark pink which I've thought must always be a bit disconcerting for men. The location is great - close to all that Southbank offers as well as the art gallery and an easy walk across the bridge to the city. The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms well appointed and the breakfast is one of the best with chefs at different 'stations' or prepare omelettes etc to your taste. It just feels a bit over the top for my taste but this is the Langham experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your thoughts on our corporate colours however we have designed the rooms and the public areas to be classically elegant, reminiscent of the first grand hotel, The Langham, London which was built in 1865.

We are committed to delivering a top class hotel and trust that you left with great memories hope we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,423
    787
    258
    76
    57
See reviews for
705
2,295
243
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Langham Hotel ( Melbourne) has not been awarded the "Best Australian Hotel" for 2013 for no reason! I recently spent 4 nights there needing a much needed break and recharge of the batteries and I was not disappointed in anyway that I chose the Langham! From the moment I arrived my stay went seamlessly. From check in, to concierge, 'my' room, the Bed, the River view, the club, the Chuan Spa, room service, Melba's, housekeeping, the position and above all the Staff were all simply outstanding! The Staff without a doubt (in my experience) are the backbone to the Langham's wonderful reputation. They excelled in all areas especially in the Club Room who without exception could not be more attentive and welcoming! They really provide a 'home away from home' atmosphere never forgetting your name or preferences for beverages/ food and nothing is too much trouble! It was a joy to stay at the Langham and althought it was my first visit now as a 1865 member it will certainly not be my last!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had rang to book a room with 2 double beds as there were 3 of us staying back in March 2013. Whilst I kept the reservation number and confirmed my booking as this is a habit I always do I was still surprised on check in that we had only been reserved a room with 2 single beds. After much discussion with reception the best they could do was push the 2 single beds together and then give us a roll away bed as the 3rd bed. The 2 single beds pushed together were vastly different as 1 was soft and 1 was firm so they didn't quite join properly. I found the lady on reception to be somewhat pleasant in trying to resolve the issue but no real empathy and lack of apology for the error. The stay itself was lovely, very close to all attractions, beautiful hotel lobby and rooms quite tasteful but not overly modern. Upon departure we were double charged as the staff member on departure did not remove the previous bank authorisation which resulted in a delay with my credit card, once this was bought to their attention it was rectified. I may stay here again however my preferred hotel in this area is Crown Towers.

Room Tip: Double check your booking, particularly if by phone and I would recommend the river rooms, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your important feedback. We’re delighted to read that our location near attractions such as Federation Square, Flinders Street Station, the Yarra River and our hotel lobby was a highlight of your stay.

We do understand that your stay was disrupted by the confusion that must have come from when booking with our reservations team. We are pleased that our front office staff we able to think quickly to resolve the sleeping issue as we understand on that night we were fully booked. However, will be discussing your experience with our reservations and front office staff to ensure your future stays exceed your expectations.

As a 5 star Langham hotel we pride ourselves on delivering genuine service with poise and we want to assure you of our commitment to delivering a top class hotel. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Only disapointment was we only stayed one night. Went with friend to Pink Concert and stayed at The Langham using the "Wish upon a star" package. This was a great way to share the room with 2 double beds which were super comfortable after a late night out in Melbourne. Walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and many restaurants and shops. Package included valet parking and breakfast for 2 which was very tasty. Every breakfast bar should have a chocolate fountain!!!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the lobby was just beautiful and the staff were VERY friendly and helpful.
A wonderful stay here and hope to re book again soon!

Room Tip: Yarra view rooms have a beautiful city skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqualene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in a corner suite on an executive floor for three nights and were very impressed with our rooms and with all this hotel had to offer. There was a lot of thought behind trying to make your stay as memorable as possible. The hotel is central to the CBD and on the Southbank where there are numerous restaurants. The executive floor provided extras for when you wanted to retreat there. The rooms were beautifully presented and the beds were very comfortable

Room Tip: Corner room suites are like home away from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have not stayed here for a long time, but it was very bit as good as I remembered from my last stay. A traditional 5 star hotel, that knows how to deliver. I stayed in a club room and it was well worth the extra, the lounge on the 24th floor was excellent with a good selection of food and drink. My room was very comfortable and quiet even though close to the lift. The staff are friendly and helpful and you are always greeted with a smile. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked The Langham after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor and wanting a bit of luxury for a night ! We arrived at 2.30 pm and first impressions were great - it has a gorgeous interior with the piano player setting the mood. We got to the desk only to be told our room wasn't ready ( we had booked a 2 pm check in). NO sorry Madam - just "you are welcome to sit over there and wait" We were advised to check our bags in downstairs and return in 30 mins, So we went downstairs to the luggage hall only to be told our room was indeed ready. So back upstairs - and checked in. . Up to our Classic King room only to find 2 single beds. Back downstairs to advise - and to be told -" it is only a matter of pushing the two beds together".
As we had a 3 pm appointment - we left our luggage in the room and when we got back - all was ready. The beds had a definite rise in the middle where the two beds joined. Hmmmpf ! Black hairs in the bathroom sink didn't impress me either.
The hotel is beautiful but when you pay extra for a bit of luxury - you expect great service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeMac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#19 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing