We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacular hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here because of conference & trip advisor reviews. Hotel facilities are spectacular, staff friendly, helpful, efficient & knowledgeable without exception. Food pricey but excellent, rooms & service superb, beds a comfortable cloud, also very good location in Melbourne. Spa & health club facilities good. Overall wonderful & deserves its #1 ranking.

Room Tip: yarra river view rooms a bit more expensive but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,343
    778
    256
    76
    57
See reviews for
688
2,253
239
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at Langham while attending DesignEX at the Exhibition Centre. I usually stay at Crown Towers but as their rates were unusually high over that weekend Langham was my next choice.

Arrived in Melbourne in the evening to heavy rain and lightning. Pulling up at the Langham the service was instantly warm, friendly and inviting. Check in was easy and friendly, our room (Grand River room) was newly renovated with an amazing view of the Melbourne skyline draped in mist.

It was just such a cosy luxurious room. Ordered room service and it was delicious. I recommend the Valrhona chocolate tart for dessert! The bed was amazingly comfortable and it was just heaven drifting off to sleep with the rain pelting against the window with cracks of thunder and lightning.

Breakfast in Melba was great with a huge selection of food and a great view of the river.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Langham Melbourne again. A beautiful hotel with good, old fashioned, friendly service.

Room Tip: Grand River rooms are newly renovated and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vissi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of the Langham was perfect for our city stay, in walking distance to everything that we did, restaurants and sightseeing. The view and the state of the room was great. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, definitely a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Langham is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. We were able to check in at 1100 and had a late check out of 1400 which was very much appreciated. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The buffet breakfast at Melbas was superb, and the Buffet dinner with its different cooking stations was fantastic. The seafood, sushi which is handmade in front of you, and the amazing naan breads which are also made in front of you were all amazing. The service and attention to detail and from the moment we arrived was fantastic

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May to attend a function on Southbank. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful, clean and comfortable room. Great location. Great breakfast. I regularly visit Melbourne, and would stay here again and again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the langham hotel with friends and family. The hotel offeres great food and beverage. The rooms are very nice and have some of the best beds in Melbourne.

Some of the downs to this hotel is that great food and beverage comes at a price, some of the drinks and foods are a little more expensive then other hotels in the area. It still very nice and great quality, but i wouldn't recommend eating there every night as it may put a hole in your bugget.

But other then that, the rest of the hotels features and amenities are magnificent. For example my favourite was the monsoon shower in the mens shower rooms and the spa beside the pool is very relaxing and quite spacious and the 24/7 Gym was a real winner.

Room Tip: I highly recommend that you stay as far away from the lift as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amara_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Langham in Sydney and on my return to Melbourne staying with family for a few days meant I was unable to stay in the Hotel Langham itself. However, I did get the opportunity to enjoy the most amazing High Tea. By the time I had partaken of the major content I had very little room left for the chocolate table and the chocolate fountain but the few portions of chocolate related bites was enough for me to vote this Hotel's High Tea as the best I have ever experienced. It is expensive but the motto "you get what you pay for" applies and I did not begrudge paying out for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing