We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular hotel”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here because of conference & trip advisor reviews. Hotel facilities are spectacular, staff friendly, helpful, efficient & knowledgeable without exception. Food pricey but excellent, rooms & service superb, beds a comfortable cloud, also very good location in Melbourne. Spa & health club facilities good. Overall wonderful & deserves its #1 ranking.

Room Tip: yarra river view rooms a bit more expensive but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,990
    914
    290
    83
    69
See reviews for
830
2,655
281
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at Langham while attending DesignEX at the Exhibition Centre. I usually stay at Crown Towers but as their rates were unusually high over that weekend Langham was my next choice.

Arrived in Melbourne in the evening to heavy rain and lightning. Pulling up at the Langham the service was instantly warm, friendly and inviting. Check in was easy and friendly, our room (Grand River room) was newly renovated with an amazing view of the Melbourne skyline draped in mist.

It was just such a cosy luxurious room. Ordered room service and it was delicious. I recommend the Valrhona chocolate tart for dessert! The bed was amazingly comfortable and it was just heaven drifting off to sleep with the rain pelting against the window with cracks of thunder and lightning.

Breakfast in Melba was great with a huge selection of food and a great view of the river.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Langham Melbourne again. A beautiful hotel with good, old fashioned, friendly service.

Room Tip: Grand River rooms are newly renovated and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vissi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of the Langham was perfect for our city stay, in walking distance to everything that we did, restaurants and sightseeing. The view and the state of the room was great. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, definitely a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Langham is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. We were able to check in at 1100 and had a late check out of 1400 which was very much appreciated. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The buffet breakfast at Melbas was superb, and the Buffet dinner with its different cooking stations was fantastic. The seafood, sushi which is handmade in front of you, and the amazing naan breads which are also made in front of you were all amazing. The service and attention to detail and from the moment we arrived was fantastic

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May to attend a function on Southbank. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful, clean and comfortable room. Great location. Great breakfast. I regularly visit Melbourne, and would stay here again and again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the langham hotel with friends and family. The hotel offeres great food and beverage. The rooms are very nice and have some of the best beds in Melbourne.

Some of the downs to this hotel is that great food and beverage comes at a price, some of the drinks and foods are a little more expensive then other hotels in the area. It still very nice and great quality, but i wouldn't recommend eating there every night as it may put a hole in your bugget.

But other then that, the rest of the hotels features and amenities are magnificent. For example my favourite was the monsoon shower in the mens shower rooms and the spa beside the pool is very relaxing and quite spacious and the 24/7 Gym was a real winner.

Room Tip: I highly recommend that you stay as far away from the lift as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amara_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Langham in Sydney and on my return to Melbourne staying with family for a few days meant I was unable to stay in the Hotel Langham itself. However, I did get the opportunity to enjoy the most amazing High Tea. By the time I had partaken of the major content I had very little room left for the chocolate table and the chocolate fountain but the few portions of chocolate related bites was enough for me to vote this Hotel's High Tea as the best I have ever experienced. It is expensive but the motto "you get what you pay for" applies and I did not begrudge paying out for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,733 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing