We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence Everywhere”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellence Everywhere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wife's birthday...why not visit the Langham? So we did! Just superb; from check in, Aria, Melba, housekeeping to check out; very professional, very organised. Great location; easy to get to CBD, easy access to parks, Yarra cruises, Crown just down the Southbank if that is your interest. Good sized room, enough space for us having nearly a week in Melbourne.

Special treat; try the buffet at the Melba; pricey but the food is sensational; we had seafood, Japanese a little Indian and dessert. The service again was professional; the waiter was attentive (from Germany learning English but his English was better than mine!)

Thoroughly recommend; we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtholPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,047
    924
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
843
2,685
286
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked 3 nights in advance of returning back to Victoria after our holiday. Thinking that this is the best hotel in Melbourne.

On arrival our car was taken care of and our luggage quickly made it's way to our room. We had only booked a standard room and it was quite nice, plenty of room and all the cumforts.

Our plans were out of the hotel for our 3 day stay so we were satisfied with the room. All the staff at the Langham were very curtious and helpful. I was amazed at how efficient the older gent doing the arrivals handled the amount of traffic and people at the front of the hotel.

Our first breakfast sitting was less than adequate. We were seated promptly as the restaurant was not that busy. After being asked if we would like hot drinks nothing arrived. Eventually having to get up from our table to request hot drinks.

The table was cleared after each course promptly but to get another coffee I found I had to get up again and again and approach the staff. They were intent on clearing tables but not serving drinks.

This improved considerably the next morning but was just a poor on our 3rd morning.

Having recieved the express checkout document I then found that we had been over charged for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed.

Lovely hotel, I will return but not the sort of problems I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay at The Langham Melbourne.
I am delighted to hear that your arrival at the hotel was pleasant and that you were happy with the room. Our front line colleagues will be pleased to read your words of praise.

I am sorry to learn about the shortcomings in some of our service and will share your concerns with the respective teams. We have contacted you directly for your booking details so that we can rectify these issues for your next stay.

Thank you once again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

In agreement with almost every review on here. We had the pleasure of staying at the Langham on Saturday night to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary and it was everything I hoped it would be.
There was a slight mix up on our check in when we got to our room someone else's bags were in the room, we went straight back to the front desk and the mix up was sorted immediately. We were then personally shown up to our room by management to make sure it was all to our liking. During the conversation with the Manager he found out we were celebrating and then about 20 minutes after we arrived a bottle of complimentary champagne was sent up, it was a nice touch and much appreciated.
The rooms are clean and spacious, we had a Grand River Room and had excellent views of the Melbourne skyline. Breakfast and valet Parking were included in our package and it was worth it I believe the parking is $50, the breakfast was great sat at a window seat overlooking the river and the choice of food was amazing. We couldn't get in for dinner at the Melba as it was two sittings on a Saturday night and the first sitting was 5pm which didn't work with our evening as we were going to see a show, but Federation Square is just across the bridge and with all the great restaurants that are in Southgate the choice is endless.
The only negative I could possibly give this hotel is that our room was far too hot and we struggled to get the temperature down but that is the only minor flaw I could find.

Room Tip: Pay for the River Rooms it is well worth it, ask for a floor above 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indecisive123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are luxurious and spacious, with comfort and old-fashioned style. The staff are lovely, and the buffet is delicious. The hotel is right on Southbank, so in walking distane to the centre of Melbourne, particularly Crown Casino. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A group of six friends Went to Aria at the Langham for the Tiffin High Tea for a friend's baby shower.

$69 for a sumptuous "afternoon tea": translation more than enough for lunch and could not eat dinner as we were so full after our high tea.

A beautiful silver tray of delicacies for two to share. Six of us, so three silver tiered trays. A special one for the pregnant one who requested no smoked salmon, no soft cheeses. Not a problem for the staff: her own special three tiered silver tray. Endless pots of tea: silver pots and jugs, fine bone china cups, each cup served by the attentive staff with a silver tea strainer.

Sandwiches with the crusts cut off ( of course!) , fruit and plain scones served with jam, double cream and butter, and then the cakes and pastries!

Deconstructed lemon meringue pie, chocolate mousse, raspberry meringue, rocky road, hazelnut and salted chocolate rolls..... It just went on and on. All washed down with a bottle of champagne (the only item not included in the price) and endless cups of Darjeeling, Earl Grey,pomegranate and English Breakfast tea. Absolutely amazing.

We knew the table was required back by 2.30pm and there was a little hurried rush to get us out of our lounge chairs from 2.15 onwards: having said that, we could not have eaten or drunk another thing. Staff were very happy to pack up a take away container within unbeaten delicacies: did get us to sign a "waiver" before we were allowed to exit with the food. That was a first. Sign of the times, I guess.

Overall: I would highly recommend. Excellent food and attentive service. Very happy we chose The Langham over other High Teas on offer in Melbourne. Really great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend, for 4 nights, a brilliant hotel, the entrance is amazing, with a great location. We had a great room overlooking the river, with wonderful views. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful at all times. The room was very clean, the bed luxurious, lots of little touches, well maintained, no complaints. The turn down service is always a feature we love. Location wise, excellent, just a short stroll across to Southbank, all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the valet parking on arrival through to the small details and luxuries in the room, finishing with the excellent service provided by every staff member I met, my entire stay at The Langham was a delight and a wonderful experience. The gym was excellent with a range of equipment all in working order. The pool looked beautiful (didn't get a chance to use it) and the club light and airy with wonderful views and helpful, engaging staff. The buffet breakfast was extensive and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,262 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing