We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beechworth, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and style”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the valet parking on arrival through to the small details and luxuries in the room, finishing with the excellent service provided by every staff member I met, my entire stay at The Langham was a delight and a wonderful experience. The gym was excellent with a range of equipment all in working order. The pool looked beautiful (didn't get a chance to use it) and the club light and airy with wonderful views and helpful, engaging staff. The buffet breakfast was extensive and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,157
    940
    300
    85
    71
See reviews for
873
2,739
289
946
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penrose, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recently stayed at the Langham ,what a beautiful hotel . Had the buffet dinner at Meba's it was outstanding best ever, so many choices and so fresh can't wait to return. The room are comfortable and clean a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Langham for one night in April as a treat. The Langham is truely deserving of the #1 hotel in Melbourne, with welcoming, attentive staff, an amazing grand entrance, classic rooms and a gorgeous roof top spa. We got a great deal booked through the hotel website, including breakfast, free valet parking and 12pm checkout. The Langham is an elegant and luxurious hotel deserving of all the praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

In more ways than one. We loved the design, structure, lines and contour of the hotel, the elegance of the grand staircase and water fountains, the delightful smell of lilies upon every entrance into the hotel, the mystic pink inscribed into the design and the friendliness of staff, the cleanliness of everything and the comfort of the rooms, I have not one complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Langham for tge second time now and it was better than the first.
From the time you walk in, smell the aroma of The Langham it starts the experience.
Stayed in classic room but was upgraded due to staying before.
Room cosy and beautiful.
People that work there are very friendly, warm and up for a chat or to give advice.
Ate next door at La Camera as didnt feel like Melbas. La Camera was beautiful too.
Breakfast in Melba was amazing as usual. Great view while eating breakfast.
Only issue was work being done on room next door woke us up, then just as snoozing again the window cleaners woke us again.
All in all, a great night away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeciesezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and even though it was a quick stay, we loved it.
Breakfast was amazing! So many choice's of food, and so fresh!
Entrance inside is beautiful, well designed hotel, can only imagine the Club room's and Suites are amazing!|
Room was large and cosy, clean and comfortable, well stocked supply's in the bathroom
Missed out on viewing the spa and pool area, but will do when we return.

Room Tip: Views are always a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiandKeith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had wanted to stay at The Langham for some time and, thanks to a great internet offer on the hotel's website, my husband and I stayed there last weekend. Check-in time isn't until 3pm, but we went there directly from the airport around lunchtime hoping to at least store our bags there. Fortunately for us our room was ready. When we were checking in we were asked in passing by the very efficient and pleasant receptionist what the reason was for our visit to Melbourne. We told her that we were spending the weekend with our daughter and her fiancé to celebrate their engagement and also to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Later that evening, after arriving back from an afternoon exploring Melbourne, there was a beautifully decorated plate wishing us a happy anniversary and topped with a very generous piece of mudcake. Little touches like that really make you feel valued.
The room was perfect - pristine clean, and the bed was luxurious. The foyer is quite spectacular and when we first walked in we said that we would be happy to just stay in the hotel for the weekend! Of course we didn't as The Langham's location is brilliant. Just a short stroll to Southbank and across the bridge to Flinders Street Station. We also noticed that the Grayline bus tours also commence close by if you were wanting to do a day tour from Melbourne. We caught the Shuttle Bus from the Melbourne airport to Southern Cross Station and then a free Hotel Shuttle delivered us to The Langham.
We hope that the next time we return to the beautiful city of Melbourne that we will be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,331 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,680 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,098 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing