We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely hotel right in city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel right in city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Langham for tge second time now and it was better than the first.
From the time you walk in, smell the aroma of The Langham it starts the experience.
Stayed in classic room but was upgraded due to staying before.
Room cosy and beautiful.
People that work there are very friendly, warm and up for a chat or to give advice.
Ate next door at La Camera as didnt feel like Melbas. La Camera was beautiful too.
Breakfast in Melba was amazing as usual. Great view while eating breakfast.
Only issue was work being done on room next door woke us up, then just as snoozing again the window cleaners woke us again.
All in all, a great night away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reeciesezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,255
    759
    247
    74
    56
See reviews for
667
2,194
234
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and even though it was a quick stay, we loved it.
Breakfast was amazing! So many choice's of food, and so fresh!
Entrance inside is beautiful, well designed hotel, can only imagine the Club room's and Suites are amazing!|
Room was large and cosy, clean and comfortable, well stocked supply's in the bathroom
Missed out on viewing the spa and pool area, but will do when we return.

Room Tip: Views are always a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiandKeith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had wanted to stay at The Langham for some time and, thanks to a great internet offer on the hotel's website, my husband and I stayed there last weekend. Check-in time isn't until 3pm, but we went there directly from the airport around lunchtime hoping to at least store our bags there. Fortunately for us our room was ready. When we were checking in we were asked in passing by the very efficient and pleasant receptionist what the reason was for our visit to Melbourne. We told her that we were spending the weekend with our daughter and her fiancé to celebrate their engagement and also to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Later that evening, after arriving back from an afternoon exploring Melbourne, there was a beautifully decorated plate wishing us a happy anniversary and topped with a very generous piece of mudcake. Little touches like that really make you feel valued.
The room was perfect - pristine clean, and the bed was luxurious. The foyer is quite spectacular and when we first walked in we said that we would be happy to just stay in the hotel for the weekend! Of course we didn't as The Langham's location is brilliant. Just a short stroll to Southbank and across the bridge to Flinders Street Station. We also noticed that the Grayline bus tours also commence close by if you were wanting to do a day tour from Melbourne. We caught the Shuttle Bus from the Melbourne airport to Southern Cross Station and then a free Hotel Shuttle delivered us to The Langham.
We hope that the next time we return to the beautiful city of Melbourne that we will be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There wasnt much I didnt like about this hotel, it was a great rate for a great location. It had a 'grand' entrance with great service from checking in to checking out. Even the cleaning staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was cosy, quiet, comfortable, clean and with a comfortable, luxurious bed with great pillows. The touches of marshmallow pink accessories in the bedroom were charming.
The food choice for room service is pretty good. The mini bar would have to be one of the best I have seen in a long time.
The location is perfect, 1 km from Docklands, 50m from Crown promenade and all the eateries and bars along the way is very good. The hotel is above Southland shopping mall with one of the best cafes for breakfast, luch or dinner - The Blue Train cafe, well worth checking out.
We went to a show at Rod Laver Arena, great casual walk to the arena, then we caught an $8 water taxi ride back to the jetty right out the front of our hotel in an old gem that once taxi'd the Queen up and down the Yarra
The only issue with the hotel would be security, you dont need to put your room card in the elevator and we saw a couple of roamers come in from the shopping mall staggering around, they were lost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank narellesinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Langham for 5 nights at the end of May to meet up with friends from Victoria. From arriving at the hotel in the taxi to the moment we left the Langham surpassed all expectations. The staff were all amazing so attentative friendly and always willing to help. The room was excellent clean, roomy and the bed was so comfy and huge. The food in the hotel was excellent and the night we ordered room service was a superb experience 5 star service and meal. The location on the southbank was perfect and only 4 minutes walk from the shops and cafes in the lane ways. Next time we visit Melbourne the Langham will be our first choice hotel too stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISB3happycustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel, the entrance is amazing ! great location and superb beds. Very close to all the great restaurants and approximately 10 minute walk to the Crown Casino. We loved this hotel and would have no hesitation to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is one of the most reviewed hotels in Melbourne so it is only worth adding or confirming some recent reviews. I recently stayed here for five nights and have also stayed extensively at the Sofitel and the Park Hyatt in Melbourne.
The Rooms
If you get a room overlooking the river the views are good but it you are on the west side you look into the Eureka Towers and the cement juggle that forms the South Bank. Our room was average size for a hotel room. It was clean and fittings were good and well maintained. The turn down service was good and the daily cleaning was also good. They are however small. The rooms at both the Sofitel and the Park Hyatt were much better. The beds at the Langham are really good.
The Club
I would have to agree with a previous reviewer blackcap on 6 June 2013. However, the staff in the club were excellent and were it’s only saving grace. In particular Suzie was an absolute gem. The clubs at both the Sofitel and the Park Hyatt were much better. In fact I have been to many clubs in hotels recently and this one does not rate as it is far too small for the number of people who use it.
The Melba restaurant
I have never paid $42 for a plate of seafood paste before. My wife was not well so we ate in the hotel one night as we did not want to go out. I would agree with Singapore on 6 June 2013. My advice. There are many good restaurants along the river bank try them first.
Front desk
Staff here were Ok and my reservations were handled well.
Summary
Does it warrant its number one rating? I find Langham, Sofitel and the Park Hyatt are all a bit stark for me. Which is the best? I think there is nothing in it. The Langham is the most expensive but in a very convenient location. The rooms are best in the Park Hyatt and the Sofitel has the best views.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the west side they have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your delightful comments regarding the service in the Club.

There are many dining options to choose from when staying at The Langham, Melbourne. Dining along Southbank is an indulgent experience and we always recommend our guests to try them. Alternatively, our Melba Restaurant serves up a unique interactive dining experience with diverse flavours from different cultures allowing you to choose from not only Seafood, Sushi, Asian stir fries and dumplings, Italian pastas, Indian dishes and tandoori oven specialities.

We believe what differentiates us from other hotels is our well trained staff providing intuitive service with poise and our unique Langham signatures. For example our award winning Chuan Spa, pink roses, ginger flower scent in the lobby, our service stylists providing bespoke and individual service to our guests, Langham’s traditional afternoon tea, the Langham Club, Flavours of Langham retail shop, and our wonderful Blissful beds.

We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing