We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Opulent, Luxurious and the best location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Opulent, Luxurious and the best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed but one night at the Langham, my husband was made redundant at his job and his peers were giving him a send off, we stayed at the Langham for the night of his send off as it is a long way to go home late in the evening or as it turned out for us the night!! The room we had had a Yarra River view, lovely. The room was spacious and elegant even though we had a base rate room. The bed was enormous and comfortable. Our stay there was lovely. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it.

Room Tip: If you can have a room with a view it is just Icing on the Cake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,602
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,400
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
King Island, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Langham for a week while undertaking training for corporate governance. The hotel has topped the list of our favs in Melbourne. We would rate it above the Sofitel and just above the Grand Hyatt, mostly for its homely but sophisticated comfort. We love the location, the staff and the architecture: grand but welcoming.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangejellybean115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for New Year's Eve - and what a great location! The huge terrace area had a great view of the fire works and there was plenty of room to relax, have a drink and some snacks, when waiting for the midnight celebrations.

The bathroom was well stocked and practical/spacious and I was a big fan of the Nespresso coffee machine.

Breakfasts were an international extravaganza and the location was excellent for restaurants, bars and a good base for exploring Melbourne city and surrounding areas.

Expensive but recommended for a special treat / or if you are rich ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel with nice rooms and a good breakfast. It is also well located to the city and the MCG and local restaurants and shopping. Only disappointment is three unanswered emails regarding membership of their 1865 club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerbob6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the location convenient.
We apologise for not responding to your queries on 1865. We will write to your directly to get more information on this matter and aim to resolve this very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Langham Melbourne for five nights. We had a mixed experience and
I am quite surprised that this hotel would be voted number one in Australia. Had it not been for the fact that we pre-paid with our travel agent, we may have moved to another hotel.
The swimming pool was closed ( of course this can happen) but which hotel does not pick up the phone when you dial front desk, room service, operator or concierge?
We have had many occasions when nobody would pick up the phone and we would have to ring later and then again, nobody would answer. The room was nice, a little on the small side, the staff were friendly. We had a corner room and although you could see the river if you sat up from the bed, the view was really not nice, seeing office towers right in front of you. It is a good hotel, but I am sure it cannot be No.1 in Australia.

Room Tip: the rooms with river view are more expensive, but otherwise you are looking at hundreds of offices r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses which are not in keeping with our normal standards. The pool is now scheduled to reopen on May 31st.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Langham is a truly exceptional hotel.

We had the pleasure of staying in a Grand River Room on the 16th floor for two nights during a weekend conference. It was stunning to take in the view of the CBD skyline, Flinder Street Station and the Yarra River from the window whether it be day or night. The room was generously spacious, with a nice entrance hallway where a marbled bathroom situated. The wallpapered room felt just that bit different and elegant. The bed was very comfortable and restful. There are three pillows to choose from.

The room maintenance was second to none. It was refreshened by staff each time we left the room, with adjustment of lighting and curtains depending on the time of the day we were anticipated to return. The very high-quality amenities were replaced each day. The collection of amenities was the best I've seen in an Australian 5-star hotel to date.

The pedestrian bridge right in front (or as a matter of the fact, the back) of the hotel takes you straight to the train station/CBD crossing the Yarra. In the actual frontage of the hotel is a 7-11 diagnally across (next door to the Travel Lodge). There is a mall (Southgate) with direct access from hotel also.

As good as Langham already is but if to improve nevertheless, I would appreciate free internet access and more complimentary drinks/snacks. These are unfortunately never a standard inclusion in 5-star hotels in Australia and I do wonder why.

We also had breakfast at The Melba. It was priced exceedingly high but the made-to-order omelette was very delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Without a doubt the Langham is the best hotel in the city. From the moment you arrive the service is outstanding. Our room was lovely with everything you could ask for and more, the room service food and also our dining experience in the restaurant was also excellent. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing