We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Langham nice hotel - poor follow up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Langham nice hotel - poor follow up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel with nice rooms and a good breakfast. It is also well located to the city and the MCG and local restaurants and shopping. Only disappointment is three unanswered emails regarding membership of their 1865 club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerbob6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the location convenient.
We apologise for not responding to your queries on 1865. We will write to your directly to get more information on this matter and aim to resolve this very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,326
    772
    254
    76
    57
See reviews for
684
2,241
235
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Langham Melbourne for five nights. We had a mixed experience and
I am quite surprised that this hotel would be voted number one in Australia. Had it not been for the fact that we pre-paid with our travel agent, we may have moved to another hotel.
The swimming pool was closed ( of course this can happen) but which hotel does not pick up the phone when you dial front desk, room service, operator or concierge?
We have had many occasions when nobody would pick up the phone and we would have to ring later and then again, nobody would answer. The room was nice, a little on the small side, the staff were friendly. We had a corner room and although you could see the river if you sat up from the bed, the view was really not nice, seeing office towers right in front of you. It is a good hotel, but I am sure it cannot be No.1 in Australia.

Room Tip: the rooms with river view are more expensive, but otherwise you are looking at hundreds of offices r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses which are not in keeping with our normal standards. The pool is now scheduled to reopen on May 31st.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Langham is a truly exceptional hotel.

We had the pleasure of staying in a Grand River Room on the 16th floor for two nights during a weekend conference. It was stunning to take in the view of the CBD skyline, Flinder Street Station and the Yarra River from the window whether it be day or night. The room was generously spacious, with a nice entrance hallway where a marbled bathroom situated. The wallpapered room felt just that bit different and elegant. The bed was very comfortable and restful. There are three pillows to choose from.

The room maintenance was second to none. It was refreshened by staff each time we left the room, with adjustment of lighting and curtains depending on the time of the day we were anticipated to return. The very high-quality amenities were replaced each day. The collection of amenities was the best I've seen in an Australian 5-star hotel to date.

The pedestrian bridge right in front (or as a matter of the fact, the back) of the hotel takes you straight to the train station/CBD crossing the Yarra. In the actual frontage of the hotel is a 7-11 diagnally across (next door to the Travel Lodge). There is a mall (Southgate) with direct access from hotel also.

As good as Langham already is but if to improve nevertheless, I would appreciate free internet access and more complimentary drinks/snacks. These are unfortunately never a standard inclusion in 5-star hotels in Australia and I do wonder why.

We also had breakfast at The Melba. It was priced exceedingly high but the made-to-order omelette was very delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Without a doubt the Langham is the best hotel in the city. From the moment you arrive the service is outstanding. Our room was lovely with everything you could ask for and more, the room service food and also our dining experience in the restaurant was also excellent. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and The Langham has got it right. Renovations in the swimming pool meant that we couldn't do laps this time but a pool down the road is made available.
Good size rooms with great amenities, very nice staff, happy to service when required but not in your face 24/7. Fan noise in the room is a bit noisy at night.
If you're not too fussed about the price tag (reasonable I think if you book on their website) then this place is central, well serviced and is close to lots of eateries. Monet's garden is on show at the Gallery just 100m away until Sept 13? Worth a look.

My only gripe here is that I had an $800 bottle of wine to drink with Mrs on our anniversary and they would only open it for me in their Melba's restaurant at a cost of $100 corkage. HMMMM!
Sour grapes - We just drank it in our room . Then we went to Melba's. Hic!
Melba's was terrific. Buffet dinner, fresh seafood includes a sushi bar Great selection of meats, fish, asian and indian cuisine. Desserts were amazing with a chocolate fountain too.
Close to trams and the city.

Room Tip: Book on their website and ask for a room away from renovation noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yianni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the this wonderful hotel for one very special night and wished we were able to stay for more! From the minute you walk into the huge and grand foyer, with chandeliers and water features to when we arrive in your room, you get a sense of taste and elegance. Our beds were so comfortable with 3 different styles of pillows to choose from. Our room was a standard room but still had a river view and it was so quiet. The bathroom was equipped with everything that you would expect in a 5 star. Breakfast was included in the tariff. It was in a spacious and sunny downstairs room, buffet style which I prefer with a great variety of foods catering for many palates including Asian. Of special note there was a table set aside for guests requiring gluten free foods with a dedicated gluten free only toaster. All of the staff that we came in contact with were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Being right in the Southbank precinct the location was splendid. There was a great choice of restaurants and cafes within minutes of the hotel. For those who enjoy river bank walks they are right there. We were able to walk over the St Kilda Road bridge to Federation Square and the iconic Flinders Street Railway Station and to the trams in minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grevillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Don't get me wrong this is a terrific hotel but the fact that it rates number 1 in Melbourne made me expect something really special and in fact it's no different to other 5* hotels. The bed was certainly very comfortable and a bit quirky finding Alice in Wonderland in a drawer for bed time reading! Although being woken at 7.30 by hammering and grinding below was a bit disappointing - the pool renovation I think. Great views of the river and the City. The room had all the facilities you would want and the bathroom had a bath, great fluffy towels and nice bath robes. The staff were friendly and helpful but nothing extra special. No free wi fi - disappointing as always.

Room Tip: A river room view is terrific - especially at night - aim for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you found our Blissful Beds a pleasure to sleep on and that you enjoyed the views from your room.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the renovation of the pool area. It should not have affected your sleep and we have spoken with the contractors regarding their start time. I am pleased to advise that the upgrading of our pool deck to a superior product is almost complete and reopens on June 1st.

Guests who join our complimentary 1865 Loyalty Programme receive complimentary standard internet throughout their stay at any Langham property worldwide. Take advantage of this offer by signing up to 1865 next time you check-in at the Langham.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing