We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night for my wife's birthday on a package that included breakfast and parking. Overall both of us were very satisfied with the hotel - she declared it the nicest one we've ever stayed at in Melbourne. We had a King River View Room.

The good points -

The entrance foyer is beautiful with waterfalls and chanderliers. Nice prints in the Room was very nicely furnished and the view of the Yarra looking towards Fed Square was magnificent. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom spotless and very tasteful.
Service was very good. Gym was good, probably average for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast buffet was excellent with heaps of unusual options although we were glad we hadn't brought the kids (I mean a chocolate fountain with marshmallows, ice cream and lollies for breakfast...really?) Location is perfect - walked to the Sunday Market, Fed Square, Southbank Food Count etc.

Not so good - nothing major, I am honestly being very picky in listing these

Pool wasn't available - being renovated (but these things need to and do happen) - pool at Quay West next door was offered though if we wanted it. Paper we got wasn't the one we asked for, there were spare copies available on the floor that I did manage to swap with. The check in was delayed a bit as a suitable room needed to be found (although I had booked a fair way in advance). Peak times on Sunday at breakfast looked like queues could be a bit stressful (luckily we were early enough to avoid this).

Room Tip: Riverview King Rooms are well worth the few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiji_Novice255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,980 - 3,986 of 5,693 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked the Langham Melbourne for a 4 day weekend to celebrate a 50th birthday, we arrived around 8ish on a Thursday morning, our bags were whisked away by the door man, he directed us up the beautiful entrance way to check in, the foyer is just gorgeous with it fresh flowers, fountains and marble.
Our check in was easy, our room wasn't ready by we hadn't expected it too be, so we left our hand luggage and proceeded to breakfast at The Melba restaurant, front desk phoned us to let us know out room was ready, the duty manager then escorted us up to our room, which was a classic room on the 20th floor, it was at the back of the hotel but with a view of the Yarra.
The room was very clean, well maintained the bathroom was lovely, bathrobes and towels all fresh and fluffy, bathroom supplies were lovely and handy our luggage including hand luggage had already been sent up.
The turn down and house keeping service were very very good.
All the staff we interacted with were genuine, polite and a credit to the professional hotel service, The Langham was perfect for us to access the State Arts Centre and the free tram and visitor bus were a short stroll away.
If you exit the lift at the Podium level you can walk through to the Southbank Complex very handy, Bear Brass restaurant is a nice spot for a Sunday Bruch, and the Bond Store which is a 5-10 min walk behind the hotel is a lovely quirky we breakfast/lunch spot
The Pool area was looking a bit tired but was due for renovation starting 29th April, the steam room, sauna and tri shower were very much appreciate as a nice way to start the day, as was the hot salt water Jacuzzi.
Our loved our stay at The Langham and would definitely return

Room Tip: we were in 2018 this is a classic room but it had view of the Yarra, we booked through the hotel dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comfortdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You really wont be disappointed. Great Service, wonderful service, and the location was perfect for us! I do prefer the Langham's new Sydney hotel, smaller and intimate... however, cant fault this hotel... will stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and i have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and on both occasions the service was consitently impecable. The decor is pleasing and from the moment you arrive at the hotel you are welcomed by smiling staff and a luxe entrance with beautiful atmosphere. Our first impressions have obviously not been waivered over our 2 stays and as a parting gift on our most recent stay we were pleasantly surprised to recieve 2 bottles of water placed in our vehicle. It is the very small things that count and i must say the Langham definately has its eye on the details.

Room Tip: To maximize your stay you could request a room which overlooks the yarra. Take your time & tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsdothat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed here on a few occasions and really enjoy it. I find the rooms a bit on the smaller side however. The buffets at the Langham are the best in the business. Personally I prefer crown towers just down the road. South Bank has peaked in my opinion, time will tell.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed in many wonderful hotels in the world and amounst the best would have to be this hotel, the staff were magnificent, the place spotless and an experience to behold. Situated right in the heart of Melbourne, it was truly a wonderful trip and a big thank you to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbanebrian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

the best stay we have ever had the service was very excellent it started from the second we pulled up in the car the rooms were superb we felt cared for in every way possible what really made are stay even better was the staff at the langham were a great credit to the place every one had a smile which made it beautiful place to stay at i would have to give it a 300% for customer service we bot felt really cared for

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfi483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
8,268 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,920 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $200 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing