We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langham deserves its #1 rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved our stay at the Langham and give it top marks for all round service, style and sheer luxury. First impressions count and from the moment we arrived and took in the surroundings we knew we were in for a special treat. Breakfast is delicious with plenty to select from and earned top marks from the elite athlete in the group. The juice is the best we have tasted and we could go on and on praising the food and the service. Rooms are warm and inviting and beds, pillows and bathroom including the bathroom accessories are all top class. The pool and spa passed our very high standard test, with both just the right temperature. The location is perfect situated near to the Yarra, close to fine eating places, over the bridge to the delights of the CBD and not far from Federation Square and the Eureka tower. Also easy to navigate to the Western Freeway for our trip to boat racing, the purpose of our visit. Thank you Langham and Melburne for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,075 - 4,081 of 5,780 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Langham Melbourne is just like Langhams should be.
The whole hotel is full of elegance. The service is excellent; bellboys, doormen, reception & especially the concierge team were great! The Location of the hotel is good and there's great views from the hotel. Very nice rooms, clean, peaceful, great amenities in the toilet! I do also recommend the spa. I was suprides it had almoust real finnish sauna. Good steam room & nice jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love the Langham for its old fashioned elegance and service. It's very British in its style and I loved it. I was only here for two nights with work but brilliantly looked after. Great discreet service, amazing buffet and wonderful bar service. My room was quite small and a little old fashioned but great amenities and the toiletries are brilliant.
I left my iPad in the safe when I checked out and the hotel were so helpful in getting it back to me - great service!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkbootpootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staying here at the end of 4 week holiday for a bit of luxury. Very efficient and friendly staff. The location is fantastic with great views of the river and city. Rooms were standard for this type of hotel and very comfortable. We had a slight issue over the rates for breakfast which we were offered at check in and which mysteriously increased when we arrived at breakfast.
We were allowed to keep our room for a 2pm checkout which is very useful.
This hotel met our expectations and we would recommend as reasonably good value for money.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Over the last few years my husband and I have treated our grandchildren with a trip to Melbourne for their birthday. The children enjoy the luxury of the Langham, the beautiful breakfast buffet each morning and its proximity to many of Melbourne's tourist venues and transport choices. The swimming pool is an additional bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Staying here always reminds me of the luxury boutique hotels in London. From the time you arrive, greeted at the entrance for your car to be valet parked, the extra little luxuries in the room &the turn down service in the evening. The Langham is a step back in time from the modern designed hotels and has an element magic. Walking distance to the Yarra and a gluttony of restaurants, entertainment why stay anywhere else if you're looking for something special

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had my wedding here on the 6th of April and it was an absolute delight. From the moment we booked Zanya (wedding co-ordinator) was a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was ever to hard. The food was so delicious and there was so much of it. No complaints from our guest saying there wasnt enough food. Also the staff were very prompt on topping up the beers and wine. Normally when you go to wedding the staff are very slow on topping up the drinks but not here. Our room (which we were up-graded too) was on the 24 floor which had the best views of Melbourne. In the morning we enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was the besst cure for my hangover :)

Cant fault the Langham and I would highly recommend having your wedding here if you are planning one or better still stay overnight. you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,815 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,404 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $196 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing