We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“friendly, happy and Club level only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“friendly, happy and Club level only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location - Southbank - relatively quiet location for an inner city hotel - close to everything, amazing restaurants, 1 min walk to the cafe laneways across the yarra, away from the screaching trams and trafffice noise.
The public areas in the hotel arrival are beautiful and make you feel special instantly. The staff working at the hotel from the friendly cleaners to the reception and Club Lounge are very attentive and more importantly happy and friendly.
The rooms are a little dated and underwhelming compared to many high end hotels - my room had chipped wooden furniture, old wallpaper, silicon patching in the shower, our King bed had a definite lump in the middle where the 2 single bases were joined, and the bedhead looked very old world England rather than hip happening Melbourne, however the beautiful floor to ceiling marble in the bathroom was lovely. The dimmers on lights definitely add ambience to the room and the matress and pillows are comfy. If you stay at this hotel, you must stay at the Club levels. The extra cost gave us access to instant service, Chandon champers on tap, amazing nibblies, breakfast and afternoon tea and is a great escape from the hussle and bustle of a busy day. This made our trip - along with a visit to the South Melbourne markets and Claredon Street designer shops and cafe and of course the laneways of Melbourne CBD.

Room Tip: Club Level River view beautiful view of city and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ceanbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that you found our location accessible to the wonderful restaurants and shops that Melbourne does offer and that you were made to feel special by the classic elegance that the hotel does have. We are pleased that you found the staff were attentive, happy and friendly and you also enjoyed your Club lounge experience. This is a fantastic add on to enhance the Langham experience and can always be made when you book directly with the hotel.

As a five star hotel we are constantly maintaining our product and we will correct the shortcomings raised in this review. However, I would like to advise you that as a brand we intend to look classically English. Our brand name is after the Langham London which opened as a 5 star hotel in 1865. The club room that you were in has been redecorated with rich fabrics and materials including European wallpaper with reed motifs to reflect the Yarra river which meanders past the hotel below - classic, elegant and luxurious, a charming timeless haven but with today’s amenities. It is what differentiates Langham hotels around the world.

We want to assure you of our commitment to delivering a top class hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,255
    758
    247
    74
    56
See reviews for
667
2,193
234
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding where the reception was held in the Langham. This made things very convenient. It also has a great location across the footbridge to the CBD and close to Southbank precinct restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly enough but did not go out of their way like at other places I have stayed.
The room I stayed in was a river view. The view was nice and the room clean. Very classic style with a bit of grand old world charm. However, I must say the rooms are rather small. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels in Melbourne, and these felt the most cramped and smallest. Yes, the bathroom was marble, but with a pokey and dark shower and just a standard sized bathtub. If you're going to do that, I feel it's better to have just a shower that is of a good size rather than trying to include both. The bathroom amenities were plentiful, but again, were not of great quality. Maybe I've been spoilt and have overseas places in mind which i've visited, but even comparing to other places in Melbourne, I would not place this hotel above them. I would rather stay at the Park Hyatt or Crown Metropol again before I stay here.
I also included buffet breakfast daily with my booking at an extra $40/night. It certainly is not worth that. It was nothing spectacular. At a place like this, I would expect touches like house made baked beans and hash browns. These seemed to be straight from the can or packet!
Overall not bad, but I probably wouldn't waste my money to stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BmitchAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We appreciate and thank you for reviewing our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the location as it is accessible to the CBD, Flinders St Station and Federation Square. For a future stay of indulgence we can recommend for you to stay in one of our elegant Club Spa suite's which features seperate bedroom and living areas, with a design that capitalises on the city river views from each room, includes separate walk-in dressing room, large double vanity marble bathroom, with a luxurious two-person spa and shower. Breakfast is a special meal of the day and very popular in our Melba restaurant with the view of the city and extensive food selection available at the published price. As a resident, for best value, we would recommend a room package including breakfast such as our Perfectly Langham, bookable directly with the hotel through our reservations office or on our website. We do hope that you will try our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I regularly travel to Melbourne for business and have tried many of the hotels. The Langham is my favorite place to stay. Great rooms with helpful staff and a great room service menu with tasty lighter/healthy options on it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helsnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here one night over Easter weekend. We had a king room with a view to the river.

The location is amazing - you are right on Southbank and so close to the city and shopping.

The staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy it wax the best nights sleep I had had in ages.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great, great, great. Can't fault it. Everything terrific. Excellent staff who are very helpful and friendly. Great food in restaurant and room service. Very clean and everything works in the rooms. I could not fault this hotel. It is not the cheapest place, but you get what you pay for, and Langham really does shine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms the quality you would expect of a true five star hotel. The best part of the stay was the breakfast the choice was great and the quality of the food amazing. The price tag for breakfast was high but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoS_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Situated in the middle of the city, close by to almost anything, this is the perfect place to stay in Melbourne. Comfortable rooms with a luxurious feeling to it, helpful staff, polite and efficient maids and excellent food in all varieties in the buffet. The concierge gave us good information about the area whenever needed.

We did ask the guestrelations if there were any possibilities of a later checkout as our flight wouldn`t depart until midnight. They offered us a pretty lousy deal. We were told that we could stay four or five hours extra in the room for the cost of an entire extra night.. We decided not to stay as offered, as it would be very expensive hours... So, if you do have a late flight as we did, be sure to book in the extra hours needed in advance.

As we decided to check out they offered to store our luggage for us and gave us the opportunity to use the spa until late. We got access the facilities, and got to shower and change before leaving for the airport. Overall, we had a good experience at the Langham and would be happy to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,912 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing