We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay, Amazing Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms the quality you would expect of a true five star hotel. The best part of the stay was the breakfast the choice was great and the quality of the food amazing. The price tag for breakfast was high but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoS_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,401
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geilo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Situated in the middle of the city, close by to almost anything, this is the perfect place to stay in Melbourne. Comfortable rooms with a luxurious feeling to it, helpful staff, polite and efficient maids and excellent food in all varieties in the buffet. The concierge gave us good information about the area whenever needed.

We did ask the guestrelations if there were any possibilities of a later checkout as our flight wouldn`t depart until midnight. They offered us a pretty lousy deal. We were told that we could stay four or five hours extra in the room for the cost of an entire extra night.. We decided not to stay as offered, as it would be very expensive hours... So, if you do have a late flight as we did, be sure to book in the extra hours needed in advance.

As we decided to check out they offered to store our luggage for us and gave us the opportunity to use the spa until late. We got access the facilities, and got to shower and change before leaving for the airport. Overall, we had a good experience at the Langham and would be happy to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Langham with my husband for our wedding anniversary. I read the reviews on TA and decided it was the place for us. It did not disappoint. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the hotel itself is beautiful, the location couldn't be better and the bed was heavenly. This hotel deserves its position as number one on TA. I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was a generally wonderful hotel. Cannot fault anything. Room was comfortable and well lit. Even the bathroom had a Villroy & Bosch toilet, how fancy is that?!
great location, on the river across from the train station, near restaurants and not too far from the art museums.
the restaurant in the hotel, Melba, has a buffet dinner that is amazing. Has everything you could think of. And the buffet breakfast was wonderful also

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed there twice last year, both just quick weekenders with friends Couldn't fault the place. Great staff, great rooms, great service, great location at Southbank. Just made our impromptu weekend that much better. Will definitely be back again this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Langham Hotel is well located at the Southbank, just within a short walking distance to the Crown Casino and a large selection of restaurants, Chinatown and the railway station. Just a stones throw from the hotel is a 7-Eleven Store that you can pick up your knickknacks.
Check-in was flawless. We were booked in the Club level which allowed us complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and per-dinner drinks on Level-24 as well as complimentary WiFi.
The room was large and airy with views over the river and Melbourne. We had a welcome chocolate and a bowel of fruits on arrival. There was a large flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of water. There was also a writing desk and a settee.
The bathroom consisted of a toilet, shower and a separate bath. Water flow was excellent with piping hot water.
We were a group of fanatic golfers, so we had 2 rental cars that we Valet parked in the hotel at AU$50/- per night per car. The excellent service of the concierge loading and unloading the golf bags and moving the cars in and out a couple of times a day is highly commendable. The hotel is conveniently located for us to drive to the various golf courses each day.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Particular mention to Suzanne on level 24 lounge. I apologise for not recalling the names of the other very excellent staff.
I met the General Manager Ben and was pleasantly surprised that the recalled our previous visit to his hotel a couple of years earlier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a luxurious, comfortable, welcoming, helpful, guest-centred hotel. We had a room overlooking the river - a view from which I'll attach when we return home - which was just lovely. Well located within walking distance of many of the city's attractions. Concierge was particularly helpful in organising trips. Only niggle was that w-fi was not part of the package. One had to pay, use the hotel's facilities, or take your device into the lobby. Not something one would expect of a high class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing