We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class hotel”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sterling, Il
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“first class hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was an awesome hotel! It's rooms rmind me of the Ritz Carlton. They are very modern and clean. We had a great view of the Yarra river and the downtown skyline. The staff was courteous and helpful. The food was great. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever had. It has a good location on the south bank, with many restraurants in the area and easy access to shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,992
    914
    290
    83
    69
See reviews for
831
2,656
281
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
567 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Langham is a lovely hotel with a fantastic location. You can walk everywhere which is a huge advantage for any hotel. The lobby was elegant but when you get to the room, do not get disappointed. Maybe our expectations were too high for Australia and this is as good as it gets.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this one falls bellow with decor and room and bathroom perks.
However, the staff was friendly, courteous and informative and the breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent.
We would probably return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and highlighting our wonderful location, it’s definitely one of the most enviable locations in Melbourne with is accessibility to the CBD and Federation Square. We’re also pleased that our staff in Melba Restaurant was another highlight of your stay. Thank you for the feedback on our rooms, we have styled the rooms in a classic elegance which definitely separates us from the more modern looking hotels. We recommend with your next stay to select our Grand River room with its view over the Melbourne city skyline and Yarra River. We do hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions. This time was offered a $20 pp breakfast upon check-in. Great value - breakfast buffet. Room perfect (as always). Early check-in not a problem. Spent afternoon poolside - decking around pool is a little tired but I noticed that pool area is to be closed for a revamp early May 13. Would always recommend any Langham - never disappointed...just wish they had one in New York!

Room Tip: Ask for city view - beautiful city lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Langham was the perfect hotel for our Melbourne visit. We stayed a week then returned later in the month for the weekend. Well located on the Southbank it is convenient to the CDB and to the cultural areas of the city--the art museum, botanical garden, etc. The customer service at the hotel is perfect. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, gorgeous large marble bathrooms with all amenities one could need and a staff going out of their way to help. We did not dine there but the concierges gave us many suggestions of places to eat--a nice way to see more of the city and it surrounding areas.
Also, the rooftop sundeck and pool overlooking the city was a delightful break after touring.
This hotel gets an A+ from us!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Langham Melbourne is a 5 star hotel in every way, deservedly so. The hotel itself is beautiful and elegant, the staff-professiional and at the ready, the location is fabulous, just steps from the South Bank and river walk. We had a lovely room, (with a grand river view-which offers a beautiful view of the river and city skyline); the bedding is worth noting, as it was fantastically comfortable! The hotel has a terrific pool, that we used daily, with an outdoor deck area and hot tub offering the same beautiful city and river views. The fitness area was just one floor above with the commensurate treadmills, ellipticals, etc. The whole spa area is lovely in every way. We were fortunate to have included with our room free wireless, (wifi), as well as breakfast. The breakfast is noteworthy for its fantastic array of hot and cold choices, of everything, while again, enjoying the beautiful Melba room, and its wall of windows looking out to the city. Our thanks to all at The Langham for a wonderful stay, in every conceivable way. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 868robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I had planned to stay in a Crown Villa Easter Monday but we found the Crown booking agent (within Crown) rude and inflexible with her/their pricing and this is despite having stayed in their premium villa's and suites on numerous occasions before so we called The Langham. From making that initial telephone call, to leaving the valet car-park this morning and finding a bottle of chilled water placed in the center consul, the service at The Langham was absolutely superb!!!!! We stayed in high corner one bedroom Club room and we found the room layout spacious with the best views Melbourne has to offer. Although the decor could be considered a little "Nanna" and perhaps slightly dated, this was easily overlooked in light of the beautiful spa bathroom, bathroom emenities, incredibly soft bed, beautiful stationery, thick fluffy towels and did I mention VIEWS!!!!
The food served in the Club was AMAZING!!!!! The service in the Club was AMAZING!!!!! We would recommend The Langham to anyone and cant wait to return to this beautiful hotel where service, class, views and food are second to none!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Club access and request a river facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the feedback you have given us in regards to your recent stay at the hotel over Easter. We are delighted that you had wonderful experiences in our Club Lounge and that you had enchanting moments whilst staying in a Club River Corner room. Perhaps for a future stay may we suggest that you stay in a Club Terrace Room which has breathtaking views of our most livable city whilst still keeping the charm of our classic elegant style. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for our first night after our wedding and it was a great stay. The rooms were modern and clean. The view of Melbourne was great from the room and the service was great. Breakfast was delicious. Overall a great stay. Perfect for couples and business

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing