We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Elegant Langham in ideal location; Wonderful!”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Elegant Langham in ideal location; Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Langham Melbourne is a 5 star hotel in every way, deservedly so. The hotel itself is beautiful and elegant, the staff-professiional and at the ready, the location is fabulous, just steps from the South Bank and river walk. We had a lovely room, (with a grand river view-which offers a beautiful view of the river and city skyline); the bedding is worth noting, as it was fantastically comfortable! The hotel has a terrific pool, that we used daily, with an outdoor deck area and hot tub offering the same beautiful city and river views. The fitness area was just one floor above with the commensurate treadmills, ellipticals, etc. The whole spa area is lovely in every way. We were fortunate to have included with our room free wireless, (wifi), as well as breakfast. The breakfast is noteworthy for its fantastic array of hot and cold choices, of everything, while again, enjoying the beautiful Melba room, and its wall of windows looking out to the city. Our thanks to all at The Langham for a wonderful stay, in every conceivable way. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 868robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,109
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
860
2,720
288
924
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I had planned to stay in a Crown Villa Easter Monday but we found the Crown booking agent (within Crown) rude and inflexible with her/their pricing and this is despite having stayed in their premium villa's and suites on numerous occasions before so we called The Langham. From making that initial telephone call, to leaving the valet car-park this morning and finding a bottle of chilled water placed in the center consul, the service at The Langham was absolutely superb!!!!! We stayed in high corner one bedroom Club room and we found the room layout spacious with the best views Melbourne has to offer. Although the decor could be considered a little "Nanna" and perhaps slightly dated, this was easily overlooked in light of the beautiful spa bathroom, bathroom emenities, incredibly soft bed, beautiful stationery, thick fluffy towels and did I mention VIEWS!!!!
The food served in the Club was AMAZING!!!!! The service in the Club was AMAZING!!!!! We would recommend The Langham to anyone and cant wait to return to this beautiful hotel where service, class, views and food are second to none!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Club access and request a river facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the feedback you have given us in regards to your recent stay at the hotel over Easter. We are delighted that you had wonderful experiences in our Club Lounge and that you had enchanting moments whilst staying in a Club River Corner room. Perhaps for a future stay may we suggest that you stay in a Club Terrace Room which has breathtaking views of our most livable city whilst still keeping the charm of our classic elegant style. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for our first night after our wedding and it was a great stay. The rooms were modern and clean. The view of Melbourne was great from the room and the service was great. Breakfast was delicious. Overall a great stay. Perfect for couples and business

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at the Langham. We got the Away With The Fairies package which included valet parking, dinner and breakfast at Melba.
The only let down for me was the seafood at the buffet dinner at Melba, it wasn't fresh and was terribly bland. Although that was a low point the rest of the food was delicious! Next time though, we will eat elsewhere for better value.
We will definitely stay at the Langham again. The rooms are fantastic - we were upgraded to a corner suite - and the beds are so comfortable. The location is excellent and the staff are all fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Langham! We particularly enjoyed staying in a Club room with access to the club lounge. A lovely afternoon tea was served and very generous pre-dinner drinks and canapés. Suzanne in particular went out of her way to make our stay special, she remembered our 1 yr old sons name and took extra special interest in him. Would love to go back again one day!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This was about our 5 th stay and it was as good as ever.
Doorman missed our car door on arrival which was a little disappointing however the porter who looked after us on leaving was excellent.
Staff and service in hotel was first class. We stayed one night for football and although not close to mcg the hotel was well worth the walk back to. Melbas is always good for breakfast and lunch. Heading back to Melbourne shortly and wont hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed in the Langham five times now. It's always a pleasant experience, quiet, friendly. The gym is well equipped and open 24 hours which is great. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are fantastic. I like being right by the water and Flinders Street station. It's a great part of town and easy to get around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JasonNyilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,298 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,662 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,036 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,906 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing