We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Never before have I truly felt like an actual guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whittier, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never before have I truly felt like an actual guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed in countless hotels across six continents, and I have never before been welcomed as a guest in the truest sense than what I have experienced at the Langham. While the entire staff were superb, Laurie and Lyndon in particular made it such a point to not only remember me by name, but make me feel genuinely welcomed the moment I returned to the hotel - even after beeing away for two weeks! When Laurie said, "Welcome home, Mr. Fay," the moment was real and genuine and meaningful, and changed my whole perspective from being "away from home" to having just arrived there.

The location at Southbank is also the best in the city, and the rooms are first rate. The moment you walk into the lobby and see the fountains running down the center of the grand staircase, you know you're someplace special. Yet despite how top-shelf the hotel is, it is really the staff that make the Langham someplace I look forward to coming back to.

Room Tip: The rooms that aren't adjoining are quiter, and the rooms facing the river have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,347
    778
    256
    76
    57
See reviews for
689
2,256
239
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was truly an amazing stay. Having lived in Melbourne for 3 years a few years prior to this trip I had never visited the Langham. Shame on me! This is absolutely one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were upgraded to the suite floors since having booked through Amex but I recommend asking for an upgrade- they might give you one if you're lucky and you won't regret asking.

Perfect location and stunning views, lovely staff, breakfast buffet was amazing - even had a chocolate fountain, great gym and sun deck etc etc.

Basically the only bad thing I can think of is the constant line at the counter everyday- it was annoying sometimes when you're just after a new room key and had to line up in with all the others checking in....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow, what a way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Absolutely Devine. Great service, we got an extra three rounds of sandwiches, any allergies, they attend too. A must do!!! Chocoholics delights. Do not eat lunch if going at 2.30pm session, we didn't even need dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our main reason for picking this hotel was the location & it did not disappoint. It is located on the Southbank of the Yarra River with beautiful views across the Melbourne cityscape. It was fairly easy to find in our hire car once we had mastered the "hook turn..." athough we did have satnav. The bellboys were very helpful in holding our car for us whilst we unloaded our luggage as we had to return the car that afternoon to the depot.
The hotel is grand opulent & luxurious with a stunning lobby. Check-in was swift & efficient so we were in our room in no time.
The room was nice & of average size but we had only booked a standard for the stay. It was however clean & quiet so we enjoyed a good nights sleep. We did manage to spend an hour in the roof top spa during our stay which was lovely - stunning views & we had it all to ourselves.
The concierge service was excellent giving us plenty of tips to help us enjoy our stay & organising our dining reservations for us.
On leaving the hotel you are just around the corner from the river & a pedestrian bridge takes you across the river to the city. It is only around a 5 minute walk to the train station. There are lots of bars & restaurants lining the river so plenty of choice for an evening cocktail.
In conclusion we were very happy with our choice of hotel - well worth it's 5 star rating & the location is great for a city break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived early morning after our flight from UK, & were hoping to be able to leave our luggage at the hotel & find somewhere to relax till check - in time, but the friendly & helpful receptionist had us in our room within an hour, which was pretty impressive.

The room was lovely - tastefully furnished with a comfortable King size bed & very quiet. We really liked it.

The location of the Hotel on the Yarra River is perfect, with a pedestrian bridge just outside the Hotel which takes you into the City Centre or the Railway Station in 5 minutes.

We stayed 3 nights, & found the staff very friendly & helpful throughout our stay.

All in all, we were very impressed with this Hotel - so much so, that we decided to stay in the Sydney Langham the last few days before returning home.

Room Tip: We had a side room looking onto office buildings, but it was very quiet. I suspect most rooms in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the best short stays in the city.
best service and beautifully appointed room , a large bath and huge bed. The most comfortable beds ever . Love the roof top pool and jacuzzi . Staff very helpful . it must be that it feels like a home warm and friendly and not like a cold modern corporate hotel.

Room Tip: the roof top pool and jacuzzi and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The décor is a bit old fashioned but overall the room and the service have been on the up side.
The only exception was for room service.
I ordered it twice. The first time they forgot to bring one of the entrees, the second they forgot to bring the entire order, I had to call them after one hour to check and they admitted they could not find it.
They apologized profusely but I think they should straighten this up.
Food was good anyway.
Location is perfect (Southbank lots of restaurants, bars and close to the Crown Casino)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDIvoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your time and effort in reviewing our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the lovely vantage point that our location offers with its accessibility to the city, Southbank and Arts Centre. We have refurbished bedrooms in a classically elegant style with Langham luxuries. It is what differentiates us from most modern hotels and we strongly promote our unique style. As you know we recognised our mistakes on your in room dining order. As you would expect of a top 5 star hotel this information is always shared internally so that improvements can be made. I am sorry you were inconvenienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham Melbourne in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,874 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing