We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice classic hotel”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice classic hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

i have stayed in langham hotels all over the world. this was was just as good as the others that i have stayed in. once again the theme is very classic (not overly modern) and a real joy to walk into each day after a long day of sighseeing. the rooms were spacious and offered great views of the yarra river and the cbd lights. we had a buffet breakfast and lunch at their in-house restaurant. we noticed locals eating here for a birthday so shows just how good the place is for food. we will return here on our next visit.

Room Tip: choose a room with a city view or you will face a car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucket_list_patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,095
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
857
2,713
287
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights from 12/21-12/25. I found that while the property is beautiful and well located, there are some significant service issues throughout that gregatly impacted my overall experience.

Check-in was actually fine...no problems at all.

The concierge was also very nice, although I was unable to use a restaurant reservation he made for me since we talked about a place but he didn't send me a card with the name or location, so I could not find it when I went to go for dinner. Unfortunately, it was for a Sunday night and no one was staffing the desk, so I could not check in either.

The room is functional. I had a club room, which provides access to the Club lounge, free internet, and apparently some other amenities. I did find that both the sheets and pillowcases were quite worn, and there were actually several small holes in at least one of the pillowcases. If I can see these, why can't the housekeeper? And if you can see them, why would you leave them? This is not an Econolodge...this quality should be unacceptable in a hotel like this one.

Of the three mornings I was there, I only received housekeeping ONE day. This is inconceivable to me. One day I called for service...and the other day, I didn't bother and got what I needed when they came for the evening turn-down.

Service in the bar is "iffy" at best. I waited quite a while to place the order, it came relatively quickly, and then I was never actually able to order another drink. At Melba, they act like they are doing you a favor allowing you to make a reservation. It is such a turn off when the conversation starts with "Can I please make a lunch reservation for Monday?" and the response is "That will be $89 per person." I didn't ask how much lunch on Monday would cost, I just wanted to make a reservation. Very odd.

The club lounge is probably the worst I have ever been in. There are only tables and chairs--no couches or comfortable chairs to relax in. All the tables that are there are right on top of each other, and there is impossible to have any kind of conversation without overhearing the people next to you. In the other small room, there is no way for a guest to change the tv station without checking in, and the tables/chairs should probably be replaced with couches to make it more relaxing. I arrived one day at 2:40pm and was hungry. I was scolded by a woman who worked there and told that nothing would be available until 3. I asked if getting some water would be asking for too much. Truly, this was very disappointing.

Finally, as I mentioned above, I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Upon check-out, the woman who checked me out did not ask how my stay was, which should be an absolute minimum at a property that aspires to be exceptional. It was obvious she could not have cared lass how my stay was...and I don't think anyone else did either.

I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone else. There are other "nice" hotels in Melbourne...I am sure they will appreciate you, and your business, more than they do here. (Please see my review of the Langham Auckland--THAT is a hotel focused on service!!)

Room Tip: If you get a club room, don't bother with the river view room--the view from the lounge is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovemypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the Langham over christmas, my 1st visit to Melbourne and realised we had picked a really good hotel, great location, a lot of money is obviously being invested over the southbank side with the new Crowne casino plus much more. As it was christmas we decided to upgrade to the Club Lounge and to be honest this made our stay, the staff, with a special huge thanks to Somati, Suzanne and the team up there, nothing was too much trouble, we felt very special and were totally spoilt, by Somati especially (thankyou). The only comment I would make as far as the room goes was to avoid being put above the car park entrance side as the noise from the fans is really very loud, the room we ended up in was excellent, quiet, nicely decorated, so had a really great stay.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the car park entrance side as the is a very noisy fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We enjoyed the central location, being very close to the river, shopping and restaurants. The room was lovely, very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The buffet breakfast was terrific and we enjoyed sitting directly outside of the restaurant as the restaurant could get very crowded. We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nice/taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a king river view room which was very nice. Big room and nice bathroom. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

Booked online direct for free breakfast and wifi. The breakfast is fantastic!

My partner had a spa treatment which she loved.

I think the pool area could do with a renovation but it is still adequete.

I used the concierge to book a nice restaurant for us and he did exceptionally well with the staff spoiling us from the moment we arrived.

All in all a great stay and i would definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THESHONKOFTONK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent the Christmas there. Being a long way from home over Christmas, the Langham gave a very chritmassy feel! Beautifully decorated. Great central location to Melbourne. Great service from staff.
Difficult to get into a hotel restaurant - we hadn't thought it through though, as it was Christmas Eve/Day. But would have been nice for hotel to say "we'll be busy do you want a reservation".

However, still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at a discounted rate using wotif/a summer special offer. It was still pretty pricey but everything was absolutely amazing.

The location is great, just on the south bank of the river, 5 mins walk to town and 15 to the MCG. Beautiful riverside views too.

Service was outstanding - all of the staff were helpful and friendly and really make the place very special. And the buffet breakfast is awesome....we are quite well travelled and think it is the best hotel breakfast we have ever seen! It's like a smaller version of the brunches you get in Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_tweetnothings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing