We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, very comfy bed and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, very comfy bed and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a king river view room which was very nice. Big room and nice bathroom. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

Booked online direct for free breakfast and wifi. The breakfast is fantastic!

My partner had a spa treatment which she loved.

I think the pool area could do with a renovation but it is still adequete.

I used the concierge to book a nice restaurant for us and he did exceptionally well with the staff spoiling us from the moment we arrived.

All in all a great stay and i would definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THESHONKOFTONK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,325
    772
    254
    76
    57
See reviews for
684
2,241
235
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent the Christmas there. Being a long way from home over Christmas, the Langham gave a very chritmassy feel! Beautifully decorated. Great central location to Melbourne. Great service from staff.
Difficult to get into a hotel restaurant - we hadn't thought it through though, as it was Christmas Eve/Day. But would have been nice for hotel to say "we'll be busy do you want a reservation".

However, still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at a discounted rate using wotif/a summer special offer. It was still pretty pricey but everything was absolutely amazing.

The location is great, just on the south bank of the river, 5 mins walk to town and 15 to the MCG. Beautiful riverside views too.

Service was outstanding - all of the staff were helpful and friendly and really make the place very special. And the buffet breakfast is awesome....we are quite well travelled and think it is the best hotel breakfast we have ever seen! It's like a smaller version of the brunches you get in Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_tweetnothings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a Grand River King room for one night before Christmas. We arrived to the temp in Melbourne of 39deg and so the air con was very effective in the room. The room itself was very comfortable, clean and had a wonderful view over The Yarra towards Flinders Station and Federation Square. The bed was superb! We had a good buffet breakfast in The Melba but one negative. There was only one chef dealing with numerous requests for eggs/omelettes etc. resulting in too many guests hanging around waiting and causing confusion! We had afternoon tea in Aria which included the Chocolate Bar as it was a Sunday. This was an increased price to the weekday tea of which we were not aware of at the time as it had not been explained to us in detail. However, having queried the matter it was all resolved very quickly and satisfactorily. The pool/spa area was very busy with children and adults when we visited and we only stayed a short time as it was quite noisy. Apart from the couple of blips mentioned our stay at The Langham was super!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Every aspect of the stay was truly excellent - interactions with all staff, food and rooms.

We asked for and received early check-in (8am), late check out (1pm), fast check out and had airport transfers flawlessly organised by the hotel.

Business Club offers fantastic breakfast and free afternoon drinks and snacks.

The only reason for a reduced mark on rooms is that there should be a better selection of TV channels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BojanNenadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A good hotel in a good location. Great views over the river, lovely roon, beautifully decorated, very clean and a good size. The food was good but on the expensive side. Service was patchy at times, nothing major just not as slick as you would expect from this standard of hotel e.g. Restaurant slow to replace drinks and clear plates. Internet access which is often free in this type of hotel was expensive

Room Tip: Request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Langham does give what you would expect. Luxurious surroundings, well appointed public spaces, great furnishings, luxury bedrooms and oversize superbly comfortable beds. All this at a price. Service is excellent throughout. Great choice of buffet in the restaurant though we ate a la carte and it was equally good. In room breakfast for one certainly was enough for two. Right on the Southbak overlooking the river with many restaurants nearby. The City Centre just a short walk across the river bridge. What a shame they charge for WiFi as this really should be in the room rate.

Room Tip: Choose Grand River room for best view of river and city. Great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PASP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing