We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$98
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$178
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$202
$188
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (6,364)
Filter reviews
6,364 results
Traveler rating
4,755
1,072
350
100
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,755
1,072
350
100
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelba restaurantchocolate fountainaria baryarra riverthe club loungea river view roombeautiful hotelturn down servicehigh teasouth bankcorner roomvalet parkingbuffet breakfastfive star hotelarts centreflinders street stationold world charm
Filter
Updating list...
5,002 - 5,007 of 6,364 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed her with family and booked two rooms. I am an 1865 member and was upgraded on both rooms! All amenities were great and rooms were well positioned and recently renovated. Gorgeous sheets and fab bath tub! We only did the breakfast once - best to check out the Degraves St cares over the bridge but our new favourite place is the bar under the walking bridge over theYarra. What fun! Staff and attentive service at The Langham was back to its usual class and style. In all a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Above all else this place has exceptional customer service. Nothing wastoo much trouble. Some rooms are on the small side but I would always recommend this as the place to stay in Melbourne. The buffet is excellent and the location across the river from the station is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Scone-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at this iconic hotel for four days and had a grand time from our arrival where my daughter was pleasantly surprised with chocolates,a backpack,teddy bathrobe and slippers and a cute and cuddly teddy bear.security was a huge priority and the staff went out of their way to ensure this events the point of accompanying us to our rooms after our late night return from the wedding.moreover ther is a walkway connected to a rather lovely shopping centre where we had an early dinner at lovely Chinese place but do take your key to get back into the hotel.despite the hectic afl weekend ,the staff were very professional and friendly,including at the club lounge (which I highly recommend )as well as the room service and housekeeping .nothing seemed too hard despite the place being run to full capacity,with a number of celebrities to boot.The legendary afternoon tea does not disappoint ( as my guests would attest) as was the other food and beverage on offerIt was a lovely stay for mother and daughter and I highly recommend this grand old dame to anyone.

Room Tip: The club floor rooms have superb views of the river and the city.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The great thing about the Langham is their old-style personalised service; from the moment the guys open the taxi door and make your bags miraculously appear in your room before you arrive to them hailing taxis when you leave, there is an attention to personal service that is seldom found in hotels today.

Arriving can be a bit confusing once your bags have disappeared as reception is on the first floor and accessed along the side of a long cascading water feature –all very impressive. Check in was usually slick (I say ‘usually’ having alternated between here and the Crown Towers over 3 months while working in Melbourne) and it was generally a treat to wander upto your room bagless even though you still have to contend with key-card lifts again.

The rooms are maybe a touch smaller than some newer hotel and the furnishings feel solid and homely rather than the minimalist brushed aluminium popular in other hotels but overall the effect is comfortable and speaks with touches of lost elegance. I especially liked the old-fashioned clothes hanger with room for a suit, cufflinks and tie all in one place which saved having to put everything on hangers in a wardrobe.

In room facilities included the usual TV with plenty of in-house channels and pay to view movies (once you’ve learnt how to navigate away from the in-house welcome channels), iron, hairdryers, kettle etc. and bottled water was freely available; there were normally at least two in the room on arrival and two more provided every night by the turn-down staff.

Room service was exceptional as it all arrived in a cart with an onboard heated box to keep everything warm and almost every meal seemed to be accompanied by a complimentary selection of breads with balsamic vinegar and olive all and individual pots of sauce. The complimentary box of travel mints that accompanied every meal was also greatly appreciated.
The swimming pool and gym were not large but certainly adequate for a morning or evening work out and I spent plenty of time swimming lengths in the mornings. There didn’t seem to be any changing rooms so remember to take a bath robe (although towels are provided in abundance).

There was only really one bar which was all open-plan and a bit of a let-down and similarly the dining room was a self service/buffet affair. Breakfast offered all the usual cooked and cold options you’d expect from a large hotel, but having access to the executive lounge as part of package I took breakfast there most mornings.

The executive lounge is quite small an intimate but the staff there treat everyone as an old friend after the first night and loudly welcome everyone by name as they appear for breakfast each morning (which can be a bit disconcerting to start off with but after a couple of days you realise that the sheer enthusiasm of the staff is enough to send everyone off to work with a spring in their step – maybe they should be employed as corporate moral trainers?).

Check out again was generally slick except that my room package included internet access and I was charged for it on every occasion; the hotel systems didn’t seem to be able to not charge anyone accessing the internet even if their room package included it. These errors were always corrected once pointed out although I often felt that the standard of the younger reception-area staff was not quite up to the confident high standards of the other older staff. They could at times be a bit stiff and robotic and could do with working on that.

Overall the Langham works hard to be a real home away from home; it maybe lacks some of the glitz and sparking lights of other, larger hotels but it’s ideally located for the Southbank restaurants and CBD and has a charm and welcoming demeanour that many of its glitzier neighbours lack.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend during the Footy season.
The hotel is in a great location. Easy to walk into the city & also to the MCG.
Staff were pleasant. Check-in & out quick & hassle free.
Room was spacious & bed very comfortable
Didn't eat here-too expensive!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oz-ireMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews