We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2 nights without kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“2 nights without kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just had the 2 night Easter Haven package. Make sure you do breakfast, but leave room for the chocolate goodies on offer... pancakes with shaved chocolate, smarties and ice-cream. And the chocolate fountain for breakfast!! Unashamedly decadent!
Had a massage with Daniel at the Chuan Spa and loved the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room!
Great position at Southgate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view! I forgot to and then did not bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,324
    772
    254
    76
    57
See reviews for
684
2,241
235
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Langham is a true home away from home. An old-fashioned notion with a modern context. Everything is beautiful, elegant and quiet - the food is fabulous, location super-easy and the Chuan Spa is delightful. Thank you Langham for being an oasis for every Melbourne visit!

Room Tip: the river rooms are worth the extra $ and the corner rooms are a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from our first stay at the Langham and couldn't be happier with experience. I had booked a river view room for one night on the wish apon a star package as we had a show to go to at Rod Laver arena. To further enhance our stay I had booked for afternoon tea so we arrived early expecting to leave luggage with valet etc, however there was a room ready and we also received an upgrade to grand river room. The concierge and reception were first class all the way, our check in was seamless as was our whole stay. The room was lovely, traditional furnishings, very fresh and very clean, very comfortable bed and also noticeably quiet. Afternoon tea in Aria was delightful as was our late night snack and drink after our show that evening. Breakfast in the Melba restaurant couldn't be faulted either, great food, excellent service and good coffee. We also managed to fit in a swim in the pool. My husband and i who enjoy travelling for pleasure and staying in 5 star hotels were very impressed with The Langham, the service is what you hope to receive from a 5 star hotel but often isn't what you get! The staff we dealt with are a credit to the hotel. The Langham obviously understands the value of a smile! The Langham also excells with the little thoughtful touches such as the bottle of water left in our car on departure. The hotel is also in a perfect location for restaurants, walks and shopping. If you are considering staying in Melbourne, give the langham a go!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherbetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. I always wanted to stay there and it was everything I had imagined. From the moment you arrive the staff are so polite and helpful. The room was amazing and the buffet breakfast was delicious. Overall we had a great break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidonop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Wow! What an amazing hotel with excellent service! This was the first visit to Australia for me and my wife and I don't think it could have been better. The staff were extremely hospitable when we thought we could show up with no reservation. They were able to get us a room right away and helped us plan our activities for the week we were there. Honestly such an amazing experience and we are forever grateful to have stayed at The Langham.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five days and thought the hotel itself was beautiful and very comfortable. However, I find it really annoying when a pricey hotel like this charges extra for everything. Wireless internet was $100 for the 5 days and a guest for breakfast was an astonishing $40. Coffee to go was also an extra charge.

The staff was very helpful, including the two guest services agents who each spent about 45 minutes in our room trying to get the wireless to work. Apparently they just "upgraded" their broadband service and it isn't working right with certain computers such as my macbook air. They did loan us an iPad when they couldn't get the wireless to work with my computer... that was a nice touch (and no extra charge for that!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay. We are so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and able to assist innovatively with your connectivity whilst in the hotel. We will certainly let them know that you appreciated their assistance. We only charge for items that guests need. There are always helpful ways to include items in your room rate. The ideal package for your preferences would be the Perfectly Langham Package bookable online which includes internet access and breakfast as well. We do hope you’ll enjoy a stay with us again if you’re visiting Australia.
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had booked 2 rooms for 3 of us for 4 nights. Breakfast was included. It was our anniversary and our daughters birthday. We received champagne and chocolate cake which was lovely.

We had a side view of the river which was beautiful. The rooms were very elegant and comfortable with beds/ bedding that we wanted to stay in all day!

Couldnt fault the service, everyone was friendly and attentive - particularly the concierge upstairs and the bell boy service downstairs were fantastic - so helpful and friendly:)

Breakfast buffet was included in our 'deal' and was super. Would have liked breakfast in our room on one of the days when we had an early start but this wasnt allowed because it was included in the price which we thought was a real shame and rather odd. Stayed in many hotels in different countries with inclusive breakfast but never had room service refused before.

The first evening we had a buffet meal in the Melba restaurant - expensive but a good selection and good quality - something for everyone. I love seafood but thought, generally, that it was a bit watery and tasteless (maybe previously frozen?) but anyway there was plenty to eat so I was very satisfied.
We had room service on the last night which was excellent.

Had spa treatments which were great (cheaper mid-week) and enjoyed the pool / jacuzzi and sun deck very much. Good gym too.

Had a fabulous stay and would love to go back :)

Room Tip: River view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIcouldretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing