We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were in Melbourne for a weekend so had little time and were tired from travelling. Despite the price (ca $500 per night) the Langham is central and comfortable so was want we wanted.

The room was fairly standard for this type of hotel with all the amenities but decor a little tired and could do with a refresh but everything was in good order. The bed is very comfortable and pillows the fluffy sort that wrap around and seem to want to smother you. The rooms are a little warm for the doona, even at the lowest zircon setting.

Breakfast is fantastic and a wonder we actually got out of the hotel before lunch time. An excellent range of gluten-free cereals, breads and sweet things (enough calories in the brownies to keep an army going). Dinner is a buffet and looks great but quite expensive compared to the restaurants along Southbank (try One World left from the hotel along the boardwalk or the wine bar at the end on the right, avoid the seafood bar/restaurant near the hotel on the right).

Staff were all very helpful and competent.

The only annoying aspect of the hotel was the internet. This is just like phone used to be before calling card and then mobiles cut that source of revenue. For a mayor hotel why charge for an ok connection when many others are past that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,787 - 4,793 of 5,780 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

First time at the Langham and disappointed.
On arriving at the 18th floor the first thing we noticed was
the dirty marks on the lift lobby floor area.
Our first thought was a dirty hotel.
The room was small and average in appearance.
We received 2 body lotions no shampoo and the talc powder
was not usable. This all had to be requested on the phone.
Breakfast...what a absolute disaster.
Far too many people crowding around a very average selection
of available food. They had only one egg chef with up to 5
persons deep ordering. A queue at the bacon and sausages
was enough to turn anyone off.
The selection of food for breakfast compared any 5 star hotel
was poor and certainly did not reflect a 5 star hotel.
Coffee was served at the table..we requested extra hot... it was
poured luke warm and my husand demonstrated to the waiter
by placing his finger in the cup and advising him it was cold.
Generally the breakfast as uninviting and was not looked forward
to the having the following morning.
The Valet Parking and the service at the ground floor was
excellent.
We would not stay at the Langham again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v130246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that the service given by our Valet and Front Office was excellent, however have noted your comments with regards to your breakfast experience and we are sorry the volume of guests affected your dining experience. We will certainly pass on your feedback to the Food and Beverage Director in order for them to make further improvements to the product and service. We do hope that any future visits will result in positive memories.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was our second time at the Langham. The first time we were in a corner room, this time in a River view classic room.
The rooms are quite small and quite dated but have a fantastic view.
The beds are fantastic. Last time we stayed there we wanted to buy one and I think they are still just as good.
We don't stay in town often now so I am not up with what other 5 star Melbourne hotels offer however comparing the Langham to other cities I would say it falls short.
The reception staff were fantastic. The staff in the restaurants OK. The breakfast was good but not great. For example the poached eggs were well under cooked and the coffee was average. We had to call for our cups to be refilled - it was never offered. The crockery was all mis matched.
We had afternoon tea - once again I am not up with prices in Melbourne for afternoon tea - we felt it did not offer good value for $69 pp.
The other bad was the room service. The girl who delivered it had trouble with English and could hardly push the trolley. She did not set up the meal just pushed it in and almost ran out.
The other thing I found really bizarre was they said they charged 1.5% for using a credit card - in the end they did not charge it but what hotel charges a fee for using a CC.
The position of the hotel is fantastic.
Next time would we stay here - perhaps not - I will check out other options.
Still overall an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us. We were pleased to hear our “Blissful Beds” remain as desirable as ever – we do offer them for sale via our “Flavours of Langham” outlet .We have noted your comments with regards to Melba, Aria and In Room Dining and our Food and Beverage Director will take corrective action. Most hotels in Australia impose a 1.5% credit card service fee. This is highlighted on our website; booking confirmations; on our registration card at check in and signage at cashier desks. There is no fee for guests who choose to pay by cash or debit card. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to look after you again.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've stayed in the Langham three times now, the third time for four nights in a grand river view room. Each time I've stayed here, everything from check-in to check-out has been impeccable. All I can say is read the reviews - they speak for themselves. Going back in May for a birthday getaway & can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Langham in Melbourne is no doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The room is of an excellent accommodation quality and the service is second to none I have experience.
The common area are very gracious and the F&B ouitlets are of a very high standing

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gout77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We attended a friends wedding in Melbourne. First impressions were very good. Beautiful fountain to greet you, decor immaculate and clean. Seemed to be an issue with our booking at first however the receptionist was great and sorted everything for us. My husband and I stayed in The Terrace. It's truly amazing, a large rooftop private terrace with sun beds and stunning views around the city. Buffet breakfast is brilliant. Staff very friendly, in particular in the reception area, they can't do enough for you. My husband discovered on return to Sydney that he had lost his wedding ring. The Langham called us to inform the cleaner had handed it in. Over the moon, we had considered it gone forever, not many hotels would hand that in. Overall, very impressive and would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The service was fine and the rooms have agreat view but I've stayed at better five stars. The rooms were quite comfortable and very clean. the view from the River Room we had was terrific and the location in Soutbank was ideal for a city escape.

I guess when you pay $500 a night you just expect that little bit more and I didn't quite feel that. The only thing I asked for in the three day stay was to checkout one hour later than the standard time (so we could wait for our airport transfer) but this was apparently too much to ak for - it was flatly denied. Having stayed in many five star hotels around the worl I found this a little odd especially given we were checking out on a Monday.

Saying that we had a lovely time in Melbourne and the hotel's location was excellent. I guess the fact that the Grand prix was in Melbourne must have impacted but it was still left a negative end to our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room and look over the brown Yarra River and the city scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed the view from your room and the location of our Hotel – the Langham Melbourne is close to all that happens in Southgate and also for easy access to the CBD. We do apologise that your request for a late checkout was not granted and we will certainly follow up with our Front Office team to ensure a greater degree of flexibility is shown in such circumstances. Thank you for choosing The Langham Melbourne as your hotel of choice and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,815 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,404 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $196 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing