We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poughkeepsie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Old world charm with modern conveniences. Great location. Helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,264
    760
    249
    74
    56
See reviews for
670
2,199
235
759
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Myself and my daughter stayed here to celebrate her birthday and also Christmas shopping. The late 2pm checkout was wonderful. The Beds luxurious. The complimentary items were very generous. They even gave my daughter a beautiful slice of chocolate cake to celebrate her birthday. All staff were friendly and caring. The breakfast - delicious. Would recommend 100%. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend the river view even though it costs more it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I took my mother for a 3 night linger longer package & booked a Grand River room. As an 1865 voyager member I hoped for an upgrade but was told that nothing was available. This is fine except the guest services person needed an etiquette makeover "It doesn't matter WHO you are, we're fully booked." I could have done without that. All would've been fine except we returned from a walk on day 2 to find water leaking from a light fitting over the minibar area which necessitated a room change. The duty manager and the love porter were great but our replacement room had a smashed bathroom mirror & cleat shouldn't have been marked available. Suffice it to say that we were then upgraded to a club room with all the extras and this was fantastic. Could be a bit of miscommunication or that it was the Langham staff Xmas party! Still we had aovt stay & appreciated the efforts of the staff to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I had considered the Westin as I am an SPG member & found it superb on my lady trip to Melbourne. Next trip? Undecided but the Langham is still delightful- thank u Langham Staff!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great hotel stayed a few times and always good,the bar has the best daquiris and singapore slings ans im fussy.great steam room and spa overlooking the city.I did have one incident where i had charges made to my c/c after leaving but the managment sorted these out quickly with no stress.

Why would you go anywhere else for dinner the buffet is out of this world.

Room Tip: All good,heavy drapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

When first walking in all you see is the most magnificent fountain and wow was this place amazing, very pricey but very much worth it.
Stayed there for my anniversary and got a view from our massive window over the entire south bank.
staff were incredibly pleasant, room was gorgeous, but the only downfall was the cold breakfast, when paying $50pp for room service and a big breakfast you'd expect for it to be hot. Other then that this hotel is worth it's stars !!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Langham a couple of times now for work and it is a great hotel. The rooms are big, the service if great. The buffet breakfast is amazing there is so much choice. But be aware that if you stay at the weekend there can be a bit of a queue at peak times so try and go earlier or later. The rooms have all the modern features but have the old world feel which makes them very cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a really stunning hotel to experience - I have stayed twice now and have been delighted each time. I love the entrance water feature and the impressive (for Australia) lobby. The rooms are beautifully appointed. I would agree with other reviewers that bathroom toiletries should be of a higher standard - why not provide mini Aesop products or something similar? The products felt cheap. That is my one gripe. The gym and pool area is well maintained and looks impressive. The breakfast here is out of this world and totally indulgent. For example, there is a chocolate fountain, and icecream! I don't know why these items are provided as they are clearly not breakfast food. These things are great - the breakfast buffet is pretty special - but a few more interesting healthy options would not go astray. Overall I would certainly recommend this to anyone, particularly business travellers who like the finer things in life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing