We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Night!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Night!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

When first walking in all you see is the most magnificent fountain and wow was this place amazing, very pricey but very much worth it.
Stayed there for my anniversary and got a view from our massive window over the entire south bank.
staff were incredibly pleasant, room was gorgeous, but the only downfall was the cold breakfast, when paying $50pp for room service and a big breakfast you'd expect for it to be hot. Other then that this hotel is worth it's stars !!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Langham a couple of times now for work and it is a great hotel. The rooms are big, the service if great. The buffet breakfast is amazing there is so much choice. But be aware that if you stay at the weekend there can be a bit of a queue at peak times so try and go earlier or later. The rooms have all the modern features but have the old world feel which makes them very cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a really stunning hotel to experience - I have stayed twice now and have been delighted each time. I love the entrance water feature and the impressive (for Australia) lobby. The rooms are beautifully appointed. I would agree with other reviewers that bathroom toiletries should be of a higher standard - why not provide mini Aesop products or something similar? The products felt cheap. That is my one gripe. The gym and pool area is well maintained and looks impressive. The breakfast here is out of this world and totally indulgent. For example, there is a chocolate fountain, and icecream! I don't know why these items are provided as they are clearly not breakfast food. These things are great - the breakfast buffet is pretty special - but a few more interesting healthy options would not go astray. Overall I would certainly recommend this to anyone, particularly business travellers who like the finer things in life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Eliza
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Langham Melbourne exudes quality and class, from your first interaction with the check in staff, right through to dining, concierege and bell man, you are made to feel like a king and queen. I travel a lot for business interstate and find the Langham clearly streets ahead. Thanks for a complete and very special stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayfrmhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Frankly, I thought this property was boderline "excellent" because of a few set backs experienced during my stay: Bathroom- on the tired side; Toiletries- Fancy Langham packaging but low quality; Business centre- cramp; Corridor floors (I stayed on Level 16)- crooked under the carpets for some reason, very unusual and possibly hazardous.

Other than those though, this place is among the best for Australian standards. The in-room HD entertainment system, the top notch breakfast, the staff, the gym, and the location really add up to a highly commendable package that business travellers in particular would find attractive. Well done.

Room Tip: Note that the rooms here are designed in a traditional (read "old") style. You might be ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ompong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Arrival- faced by a long line but had booked a club room so went to the lounge on level 24 and checked in - big tick.Room was spacious and comfortable, fantastic bathroom, on level 22 (apparently a club floor) ,but looked onto an office building.

Langham management if you read this I hate the new Chuan Spa toiletries that Langham have introduced - who wants a dark grey cake of soap and black containers with conditioner etc.- not only does it look all wrong with the classic marble bathroom and room decor but appears to be a noticeable downgrade in quality.

Next the Club Lounge-very nice but some items that are freely available in the Langham Auckland lounge ( e.g. ice cream) are not self serve here- you have to locate a staff member and be handed one.Nevertheless the staff in the lounge are pleasant and attentive.

I like the 1865 loyalty program but had to ask for the welcome amenity.Points to a small lack of communication between different aspects of the hotel operation.Once pointed out to them a very lovely lady came to my room and delivered the missing items very graciously, and ensured that everything else in the room was satisfactory- excellent follow up.

The location is fantastic a few minutes easy walk to the city, Federation Sq, casino, Southbank, a food court is virtually under the building next door as are a very wide range of bars and restaurants, trams and trains are right across the Yarra River with a pedestrian bridge connection.The area is pedestrian friendly and buzzes with buskers and activity day and night- but in a nice way.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth the extra to take advantage of the Club Lounge facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Do I even need to add this review to the list of faultless reviews about this hotel?
The Langham is 5 star, 100%. The entrance is summarized in one word... WOW! Chandeliers hanging down over stair cases and water features take you into a fairy tale land and make you feel like a princess!
The staff are beautiful and make you feel special during your whole stay.
The room is charming and is decorated by elegant furniture and classy amenities. The bed is comfortable and feels way too good to leave behind and try NOT to put into your suitcase on the way out! There is a cute little desk by the bed with pink Langham stationary - making your stay very girly and princess-like!
Try and get a room with a view of the Yarra river and South bank! If you can't, don't worry, I'm sure the room will win you over anyway! The bathroom is fantastic and comes along with great amenities also.
Taking my mum to the Langham for her birthday was a fantastic experience. We ordered room service dinner and had delicious food before heading down the road to Rockpool, where we had an indulgent desert! (I'm sure the hotel had great deserts also, but we felt that we had to leave the room at least ONE time during our stay!)
The pool is fantastic and has a view of the Melbourne City skyline which made me proud to be from this great city!
If you are not from Melbourne, this hotel is the hotel for you. Even if you ARE from Melbourne - this hotel STILL is the hotel for you. It is located in the centre of South Bank where you can find Crown Casino. You are also minutes away from the city centre known for restaurants, bars and great shopping.
Can't fault this hotel at ALL and can't wait for another excuse to go there again!
PS: Forgot to mention the buffet breakfast at Melba's...Ahhh---MAZZZZZZZZINGGGGGG!!!

Room Tip: Try get a view of the Yarra river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Pago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#