We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Elegant hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in September in a king river room. The staff were attentive and even surprised us with a birthday cake for my husband's birthday! The breakfasts were great although when the hotel is busy then the service in the restaurant gets a little bit slow. Otherwise its a lovely hotel in a great location with very good staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    824
    266
    78
    63
See reviews for
740
2,401
254
833
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We like to get away for a weekend in Melbourne at least once or twice a year. We decided this time to try the Langham as we had heard lots of positive reviews and thought it might be nice to stay on the other side of the river.

The hotel is in a good location, however the Southbank area was under a lot of construction whilst we were there.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were very impressed by the foyer, it is quite lavish. Check in was excellent, the service could not be faulted.

We chose a king room with river view. The room itself was nice, but really nothing special. The view is lovely, especially at night. The furniture is a little dated, but I guess this is the look the hotel is going for. Decor wise an update is really in order, a new coat of paint would not go astray! The carpet also needs replacement, it is old and flat.

The bathroom had a separate shower, however it was very dark and the shower head was like something out of the 80's, it was terrible. The bathtub is small and they provide no bubble bath - if you want that you have to pay for it!!

Now to the bed. I have to admit, we have a lovely king size bed at home, so when it comes to hotels, I really expect quality. The bed was saggy and the mattress protector was lumpy. Really not nice at all, it is in need of an update!

We had planned on using the pool whilst we were at the hotel, but when we ventured down to check it out, we found the tempurature to be quite cool. There were people swimming, but for me, it was too cold. The spa bath was full, so we did not bother having a dip.

Overall I would say The Langham is average. It is nice, but for me, there is no wow factor. For the price you pay, a wow factor is expected. I really could not fault the staff as their service was excellent. But the hotel itself is dated, a renovation should be on the cards! There are better hotels in Melbourne - for me, next time I would go back to The Westin Or The Sofitel, for this price bracket they certainly have a bit of an edge over The Langham.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryMegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear MerryMegs.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked our hotel foyer, check-in and the room. Next time, please ask for a Grand Room, which are our redecorated rooms that continue our theme of "classical elegance" and also include our new "blissful beds".
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Langham Melbourne was elegant, gorgeous and so very lovely. Our room was fantastic, overlooking the Yarra and city skyline, I could have definitely taken the bed home it was so divine!

We enjoyed a lovely winter's swim, jacuzzi and took advantage of the lounges out on the deck in the Sunday morning sunshine - pure bliss. Next time am going to book into the Chuan Spa and treat ourselves just that bit more too!!

Have never had such wonderful service in a hotel, every staff member went above and beyond and made us feel like VIPs. So helpful, congenial and fun too. Being woken up from our lazy afternoon nap to a special birthday cake was really humbling, and so very delicious. The breakfast buffet was like a show - the atmosphere is so much fun - and the food is in abundance, so many choices I felt like a kid in a candy store.

We went out for dinner, and returned to our room having been "turned down" - it was such a pleasant surprise, one we've never experienced before - and I do think I have Concierge to thank as he knew we were on our way to an amazing dinner and can only imagine he had organised for us to relax our very full bellies as soon as we walked in our door! We almost had to 'jump' into the bed it looked so inviting.

Despite a weekend of food indulgence, we couldn't help ourselves and had to partake in High Tea whilst waiting for our lift back to the airport - what a way to end our delictable stay.

The Langham Melbourne is beyond doubt one of the most elegant and excellent hotels I have stayed in. We're already planning our return before the end of the year!

PS...we ordered a pair of The Langham's European pillows as soon as we got home!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 21st floor - it was fabulous - in a grand river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Ive stayed at alot of the Langham hotels and this was rated really high and we were so excited to try The Langham Melbourne but we think it lacks the feel of other Langham hotels. Everything here is expensive but you don't usually mind paying when the food and service are of high quality. I think there are alot of other nice hotels that you could get better value for money and a enjoyable stay in this area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ntegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Ntegra
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you ranked our Sleep Quality and Cleanliness highly. Please contact our Reservations staff directly next time and they will gladly suggest packages that guarantee great value.
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spend sometime at the Bar....and you may as well order the very best fish sandwich.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had a beautiful weekend with great service. The decor was elegant and romantic> The location was excellent as it is central on Southbank. I would say it is expensive for even a 5 star hotel. The Aria Bar was extremely busy both nights and afternoons on the weekend, so it you want to have a drink or high tea I suggest get there early.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matisse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Service was A1 with friendly & very helpful staff. Valet parking took care of the car. A pleasant walk to the city for shopping or shows. Didn't get the chance to try a meal there but the restaurant looked great & was full. Our spa suite was of the highest standard with views of the river and a bed to die for. We also loved the great coffee & chocolates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing