We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Treated like treasured guests!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Treated like treasured guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We recently stayed at The Langham in Melbourne. From the moment we arrived every staff member treated us as if we were treasured guests and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Although it is a very large hotel it feels like a boutique hotel due to the level of professionalism of the staff and their genuine desire to do their job well. From the bell desk to reception to concierge we were made to feel special. Truly a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,594
    821
    263
    78
    63
See reviews for
739
2,394
253
830
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just stayed here for 2 nights. The reception and concierge staff are super friendly. But the hotel experience was really let down by the food and service at breakfast. Two days ordered a la carte breakfasts - burnt French Toast with no syrup on day 1, and Porridge that had to be sent back on day 2 as it was inedible. Pick up your game, Langham. My experiences at your HK and Shanghai branches have been superb.

The bed was very comfortable, but the heating/cooling was erratic. It was the middle of winter and we had to leave the air conditioning on all night lest we would boil alive. The hotel engineer did check the aircon unit, but it was just a hot room. Gateway to hell?

This is an elegant hotel, but not my style. Lots of marble and oldy-worldy elegance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your review – I am pleased that the staff you encountered were excellent. I will pass on your feedback about the breakfasts to the Chef. As you can see from other reviewers we want to ensure that we maintain our very high standards. The Langham Melbourne is known for its classical elegant style. Thank you again for your feedback. I am sure your next stay will be brilliant.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and i recently stayed here for 3 nights celebrating a special anniversary. The hotel is old world charm and we did enjoy our stay. Some cons: We booked a corner room with a river view, but were a bit disappointed in that the view in one direction had many buidings in front of it and in the other direction we saw the river but had the view blocked with the corner of the hotel from the other corner room. Also, the furnishings were quite outdated, not at all like the pictures in the advertisements. The toilet was inside the bathroom, so it made it difficult to shower and get ready in the morning if someone was using it. On a positive note, location is good, right over the bridge to the central city area. We did pay extra to use the Club Lounge and it made all the difference. In the mornings, Stacy and Vivian were so lovely and helpful. But my new BFF is Suzanne, an absolute gem who made our stay so worthwhile. She couldn't do enough for the guests in the lounge area. One thing to note is that the club lounge has been moved from the 24th floor to the 2nd podium level floor and closed at 8:30 in the evenings, a bit too early if one wanted a drink after coming back from dinner. I would recommend that the hotel keep it open longer.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the toilet outside of the shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for responding. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff in the Club Lounge made such a positive impression. We do have pictures on our website of all our room types so when booking you can check what type of furnishings are used. All rooms have bath and separate shower cubicle and are elegantly decorated with Italian marble. On your next stay ask for our redecorated Grand rooms which maintain our classical style. Our Langham Club has moved back to the 24th floor, so the next time you visit you can enjoy the glorious views as well as the delightful service of our Club staff!
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Valley, Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in a great location with attentive and friendly staff but the best bit is the fabulous breakfast. Very good bircher muesli with a great selection of fresh fruit. Coffee is served as soon as you are seated and I appreciated the regular top ups. So many different types of breakfast foods and juices that anyone would be happy. Must come here again to try all of the other things available. There was even a breakfast "dessert" with a chocolate fountain complete with strawberries to dip in to it. Although we fronted up for breakfast at the busiest time half an hour before closing on a Sunday morning, a table was found for us very promptly. The room was spacious and had a relaxed feel (even though it was full) with a gorgeous view of the city over the river.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the Yarra River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go2andfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had a two night stay, business & pleasure (it was my 50th Birthday). The receptionist gave me a rose when I arrived when she heard it was my birthday and it got better from then. Room was excellent as was the view of the Yarra. Bar was great, restaurant which I had A la Carte lunch and Buffet dinner in was fantastic. The food selection was terrific and the staff very friendly and helpful, even the doorman was excellent. I don't know who trains the staff at the Langham but boy they do an excellent job and I should know as I've been in hospitality for 32 years. The gym was also terrific. The only downside was the Valet parking was a little too expensive ($50 a day), I normally use this service when I stay at a hotl but though this was a little over the top but I can highly recommend this hotelfor basically everything else.
Well Done !

Room Tip: Ask when you book, for an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our weekend away at the Langham was a very special time as we were celebrating the 30th birthday of a gentleman who is profoundly disabled and wheelchair bound. We had experienced much success at the Langham several years ago when one of our female residents also celebrated her birthday in grand style.
I really can only enthuse about the service and facilities, the lifts are huge, so they easily accomodated our wheelchair, the rooms are also spacious enough for wheelchair access to not be a problem. We also loved a special lift that transfers prams , wheelchairs etc, up to the spa and pool area so steps do not need to be negotiated.
All the staff offered their assistance should we need any, and this really made for a stress free break for all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend getaway in Melbourne. Walking in to the marble foyer, with water flowing down the staircase, you can't help but be impressed! The staff were very friendly, and our room, though just a typical standard room, was wonderful. Huge bed, beautiful old style room furnishing, and great bathroom.
It is in a great location too, just across the footbridge from Flinders St Station, and right in the middle of Southbank's trendy restaurant area. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look on websites for great deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We have commenced our refurbishment of rooms, so the classic style that we're known for will continue to be part of your Langham memories. We look forward to seeing you again.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing