We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the heart of Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My daughter booked this hotel for our recent shopping trip to Melbourne and got a very good deal. The staff were fabulously helpful and friendly, the location was so central, the bed super comfy, the room well equipped, clean and tidy. The only thing I found difficult was the lighting in the room was a bit dark but other than that VERY minor thing we had a great stay and would certainly stay here again. Thank you Punthill Little Bourke for making our 'girls' trip so cool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1MEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear K1MEEE,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Melbourne can definitely be considered a shopping mecca, and we are delighted that you chose Punthill to stay at whilst you 'shopped till you dropped'!
A few weeks ago, we ordered some replacement light fittings which will offer brighter lighting and they should arrive very soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    329
    83
    12
    11
See reviews for
127
308
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very convenient location. EXCELLENT service. Room was trendy, very clean and very spacious. Had the worlds smallest balcony - enough for two to stand on only, not that there was anything to look at (handy for smokers). Disappointed in the lack of practical outfit - shower over bath despite AMPLE space, with a small glass side so water always splashed over the floor. Inability to store clothes airer convienently due to shelf being too low. Next to no kitchen bench space to prepare food (microwave could be attached to wall to counteract this), and sink too small to wash frypan in. Then for the tarrif we paid I expected body wash (not a cake of soap) to wash with, complimentary body lotion (there was none), and a dish washing detergent that actually suds (couldn't handle a couple of cups and plates!) Room 103 was quiet apart from the occassional bin empty and stray Saturday night reveller

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VDKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear VDKingsley,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased that you found the location so convenient and the staff so helpful and friendly. One and two bedroom apartments at this property have kitchenette facilities (rather than a full kitchen) which we do state on our website. We do have two other Punthill properties in the city centre with more spacious kitchen facilities.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill when you are next visiting Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just stayed here last week. The Studio room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. We did have a few issues with the entry cards with the lifts not working with our cards and someone walking in our room but that was minor and was fixed very quickly. It was in a great location Chinatown. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHebditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear JoHebditch,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this city property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Punthill Little Bourke for 8 nights in a one bedroom spa unit. The spa was great after a long day of walking .We would definitely stay there again. As others have said, it is close to everything. Train a 3 minute walk (Parliament Station) China town and all it's eateries at your doorstep. After looking at room tips we asked for a room high up, with a balcony, away from the lifts. Tick tickk tick...great room. We only heard a bit of noise on one night but not enough to keep us awake. The only negative was our taxi ride to the airport. We asked if reception could book us a taxi. They happily obliged. A "taxi" turned up. It was a private company. Apparently Punthill use this compnay a lot for their customers at all their units over Melbourne. The taxi was luxurious, leather seats I think and the driver lovely. But when we got to the airport the trip cost us $60 while our trip in with a taxi cost $47. The trip in was in heavier traffic than the easy trip out on a Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: Room 612 1 bedroom spa unit was good. Had a balcony, was high up and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jump62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Two of our friends had stayed here previously and it was on their recommendation that we booked a room - glad we did as it's clean and tidy and in such a great location to everything. The Management and staff were so friendly and glad to assist so you can't go wrong - will definitely be staying there again next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Ross P,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are delighted to hear that your friends recommended our city property, and also that all your expectations were met during your recent stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Punthill Apartments on Little Bourke at the end of April to join a cruise leaving from melbourne. I found the apartments (twin beds) with spa bath and seperate lounge area very nice, clean and walking distance to the CBD. We had a room on the 2nd Floor facing Little Bourke, you couldnt hear any noise if you closed the windows. My friends had rooms at the back and they said it was noisy with garbage trucks, night clubs etc. I had no complaints, I thought the Hotel was verygood value, very clean and the staff nice. I would recommend this Hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear kazzabear,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and are also happy to recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We've just returned from 4 nights at the Punthill,and although the location was ideal, will look for better accommodation next time. Although the room was supposed to be serviced daily, on our 3rd day we returned at 5pm to find the room still not made up, nor was it done at all that day. The next day we had to request that the room be made up after 3pm and the result was that we were given a single bed sheet placed horizontally on the bed so that it looked ok but there was no sheet half way down. I'm not fussy, but that is just not on. A twin room was requested and we were given a queen bed. There was no advance notification that the twin was unavailable. The Punthill needs to smarten up with its customer relations.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the building. Trucks, bottles crashing and metal doors banging from 4am e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear chrisPerth_Australia,
We are extremely disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay.
Regarding your request for twin bedding, we would like to know how you made your booking because we do make every effort to accommodate our guests' requests. We would appreciate it if you can call our General Manager - Tania Sreco - on 03 9916 8888, who would like to discuss your recent stay and booking. We apologise for the housekeeping issues you experienced and we will be taking these matters up with the property managers.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing