We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, quiet and comfortable stay in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very clean, quiet and comfortable stay in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed for one night at Punthill Little Bourke in November 2013 for business. It was the first time that I had stayed there and to be honest I did not know about it previously.

The apartment hotel is located literally a few metres from Little Bourke Street and in the heart of Melbourne's Chinatown. The entrance is in a small laneway (Cohen Place) and you could be forgiven for walking right past it unless you knew it was there.

Don't let the outside appearance of the hotel put you off. Sure, it does not have the glitz and glamourous outside appearance of some of the larger hotels around Melbourne but once inside my apartment I was very pleasantly surprised.

The studio apartment was absolutely spotless and very well presented. On my left as I walked in there was a small kitchenette with bar fridge, bench and sink. In front of me was a two seater couch and coffee table, then around to a king bed situated next to a work desk with lamp and powerpoints. There was a flat screen TV on a table next to this that could be very easily swivelled so that you could watch it from bed or on the couch. There was a separate bathroom running from the bedroom that had a combined bath/shower, washing machine and dryer, and other standard bathroom facilities. There was also a heater/air-conditioner mounted on the wall above the TV which worked very well indeed.

My window looked out onto a solid brick wall but this was not an issue at all for me - I wasn't there to look out the window all day anyway! Despite being in the middle of one of the busiest hubs in Melbourne the room I was amazed at how quiet the room was. The only noise I heard was later in the evening when a truck reversed into the alleyway beneath my window to collect rubbish, etc and I could hear the reversing alarm, but this is certainly not something that I would blame the hotel for and it certainly wasn't anything to worry about.

As I said, the location was excellent. You are right in the middle of Chinatown and only a block from Swanston Street and Bourke Street which are the two main CBDs streets in Melbourne. I would certainly stay here again and will be looking up the hotel to see if they offer 2 or 3 bedroom apartments should I travel with friends, etc.

I would certainly recommend staying here if you are after great service, exceptional apartment cleanliness and fantastic location in Melbourne's CBD.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear CanberraLocal,
Thank you for providing your extensive review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope that next time you may be able to stay a bit longer!
We have studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments at Punthill Little Bourke. For your reference, if you are after a 3-bedroom apartment, we have this apartment style at one of our other city properties - Punthill Manhattan (as well as one bedroom and two bedroom apartments) - which is located at 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne. Check out our website for great deals for both properties, and you can also sign up for our e-newsletter.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    331
    85
    12
    11
See reviews for
130
311
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I just wanted to say thank you to the staff at Punthill in Chinatown. They were just fantastic...nothing was too much for them and they were incredibly helpful at all times. They really showed what good service is about. I have stayed in hotels and apartments all around the world and they rate at the top end of my experience. The apartment we had was also excellent – perfect for what we needed. It was always clean (I was amazed that no matter what time of day we went out when we came back the room had been serviced) and it was in a perfect location. If you are looking for good value you can't do better than staying here...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear alan f,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that the apartments, location and service exceeded all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

great location @ heart of chinatown. excellent service and help provided by reception even though it was a no frills serviced apartment.

had a washing machine/dryer which matters a lot to us travelling as a family.

area of improvement......perhaps complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear TC_holiday,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at this city centre property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed hear for 5 nights very nice apartments. Great location within walking distance of lots of restaurants great service the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Rosemarydub,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke,
Great to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this city apartment hotel, and will happily recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is my first trip advisor review - never done one before but our experience here pushed me to join and write a review. I travel a lot for work so have stayed in many hotels over the years across the world.

The location of Punthill Little Bourke fantastic, right in the heart of China town and a small walk to lots of great places to eat and things to see. However, we were left disappointed and frustrated at the service we received there.

After travelling on holiday around Australia for over three weeks through various places and hotels/motels of varying quality, Punthill Little Bourke was our final place to stay for a few days before flying home. During our check in we questioned why the price of our room doubled to add a sofa bed in there for a friend who joined us for this part of the trip. We didn't receive a good response and from this point on things went down hill.

After being talked down to by the check in staff (patronisingly explaining how hotels operate) and told we'd have to move rooms the next day, we were assured that the sofa bed (which had doubled the price of our room) would be fully made up - we'd just need to pull it out and sleep. When we came to go to sleep that evening and pull out the sofa bed it was not made at all. We phoned the night porter who instructed us we could make the bed ourselves with the bedding provided in the room - there was no other bedding in the room.

We phoned back to inform the night porter there was no bedding, at which we were told he would bring up a roll up bed for the floor. This we flatly refused - given how much we had paid for the privilege of having a sofa bed in the first place. Over 20 minutes later the night porter arrived at our room with the night manager to make the sofa bed. They admitted it was their fault but said there was nothing they could do about it, we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

The next day we packed up as we had been told we'd have to move rooms for the second night. We phoned reception to ask where we needed to take our luggage and were rudely informed we could stay in the room the second night "as we had been told yesterday". We had not been told this other wise we would not have packed up!

Trying to put this behind us and enjoy the last days of our trip, we went out for the day to enjoy Melbourne. We arrived back at the apartment at around 6pm to find that the room had not been serviced at all. We called the reception again, who failed to believe us and so sent the porter up to make sure we weren't lying.

The room was not serviced and remade at all, rather we were given some new towels by the porter. Again, the porter apologised, admitting it was their fault but stating that there was nothing the staff at the hotel could do about this - we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

Not one person in the hotel was able to adequately answer our questions or resolve any of our issues, it constantly felt like we were being argued with.

If it was just one of these issues, I wouldn't mind. However, this all happened over a two night stay. After seeing how much others on trip advisor have enjoyed Punthills, we were left disappointed - it certainly left a sour taste in our mouths for Melbourne.

I do hope this was a one off, as the location is great and the apartments nice - but if you do have any issues, don't expect anyone in the hotel to have the power or authority to do anything about it. Frustrating to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear davidbarber86,
We are most disappointed at your review as we feel that we went out of our way to facilitate your requests and to make you comfortable.
You initially booked a studio apartment for 2 people. You then emailed advising that there would be 3 guests, and we responded that there would be an additional charge for a one bedroom apartment rather than a studio, and a charge of $45 per night for the extra person.
On arrival, you queried the rate and after extensive discussion, agreed to pay, stating that you had not received our email since you could not email in Australia. We advised at this stage that we would do our best to keep you in the one bedroom apartment for the remainder of the stay to save you the inconvenience of moving.
We sincerely apologise that we omitted to make the sofa bed; however the only reason we offered you a good quality single bed rather than the sofa bed was to enable you to still use the sofa to sit on. We do not have rollup beds on the floor; we have excellent, proper single beds.
Unfortunately, you acknowledged that you had left the "do not disturb" sign on your door which was the reason why the apartment was not serviced.
On departure, we arranged your airport transfers, stored your luggage and packaged and posted several items for you the following day. We focus on providing exceptional customer service and go out of our way to attend to guests' requirements and requests. We do apologise that your expectations were not met in this case.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Super like this apartment as its in the heart of the cbd. The check in was very smooth as I told them when to expect me. The receptionist was a very nice lady. She was ever so friendly, helpful & made me welcome.
The room was clean with everything working in order on the fifth floor. It was very comfortable & cozy & exactly as what was in the picture.
There's food everywhere & shops the minute you step out of the apartment. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor as the city does not sleep. there's always people on the street. So it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear sadtab,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is an ideal base from which to explore all that Melbourne has to offer. Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location in Melbourne. Walking distance to the Victoria market and central Melbourne. 1minute walk to Her Majesty's Theatre; great food in China Town. Slight issue in the room was fixed immediately by management. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Suse C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear that you had such a lovely time in Melbourne and would not hesitate to stay at Punthill on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing