We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, disappointing and frustratung service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, disappointing and frustratung service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is my first trip advisor review - never done one before but our experience here pushed me to join and write a review. I travel a lot for work so have stayed in many hotels over the years across the world.

The location of Punthill Little Bourke fantastic, right in the heart of China town and a small walk to lots of great places to eat and things to see. However, we were left disappointed and frustrated at the service we received there.

After travelling on holiday around Australia for over three weeks through various places and hotels/motels of varying quality, Punthill Little Bourke was our final place to stay for a few days before flying home. During our check in we questioned why the price of our room doubled to add a sofa bed in there for a friend who joined us for this part of the trip. We didn't receive a good response and from this point on things went down hill.

After being talked down to by the check in staff (patronisingly explaining how hotels operate) and told we'd have to move rooms the next day, we were assured that the sofa bed (which had doubled the price of our room) would be fully made up - we'd just need to pull it out and sleep. When we came to go to sleep that evening and pull out the sofa bed it was not made at all. We phoned the night porter who instructed us we could make the bed ourselves with the bedding provided in the room - there was no other bedding in the room.

We phoned back to inform the night porter there was no bedding, at which we were told he would bring up a roll up bed for the floor. This we flatly refused - given how much we had paid for the privilege of having a sofa bed in the first place. Over 20 minutes later the night porter arrived at our room with the night manager to make the sofa bed. They admitted it was their fault but said there was nothing they could do about it, we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

The next day we packed up as we had been told we'd have to move rooms for the second night. We phoned reception to ask where we needed to take our luggage and were rudely informed we could stay in the room the second night "as we had been told yesterday". We had not been told this other wise we would not have packed up!

Trying to put this behind us and enjoy the last days of our trip, we went out for the day to enjoy Melbourne. We arrived back at the apartment at around 6pm to find that the room had not been serviced at all. We called the reception again, who failed to believe us and so sent the porter up to make sure we weren't lying.

The room was not serviced and remade at all, rather we were given some new towels by the porter. Again, the porter apologised, admitting it was their fault but stating that there was nothing the staff at the hotel could do about this - we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

Not one person in the hotel was able to adequately answer our questions or resolve any of our issues, it constantly felt like we were being argued with.

If it was just one of these issues, I wouldn't mind. However, this all happened over a two night stay. After seeing how much others on trip advisor have enjoyed Punthills, we were left disappointed - it certainly left a sour taste in our mouths for Melbourne.

I do hope this was a one off, as the location is great and the apartments nice - but if you do have any issues, don't expect anyone in the hotel to have the power or authority to do anything about it. Frustrating to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear davidbarber86,
We are most disappointed at your review as we feel that we went out of our way to facilitate your requests and to make you comfortable.
You initially booked a studio apartment for 2 people. You then emailed advising that there would be 3 guests, and we responded that there would be an additional charge for a one bedroom apartment rather than a studio, and a charge of $45 per night for the extra person.
On arrival, you queried the rate and after extensive discussion, agreed to pay, stating that you had not received our email since you could not email in Australia. We advised at this stage that we would do our best to keep you in the one bedroom apartment for the remainder of the stay to save you the inconvenience of moving.
We sincerely apologise that we omitted to make the sofa bed; however the only reason we offered you a good quality single bed rather than the sofa bed was to enable you to still use the sofa to sit on. We do not have rollup beds on the floor; we have excellent, proper single beds.
Unfortunately, you acknowledged that you had left the "do not disturb" sign on your door which was the reason why the apartment was not serviced.
On departure, we arranged your airport transfers, stored your luggage and packaged and posted several items for you the following day. We focus on providing exceptional customer service and go out of our way to attend to guests' requirements and requests. We do apologise that your expectations were not met in this case.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    340
    87
    13
    12
See reviews for
137
320
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Super like this apartment as its in the heart of the cbd. The check in was very smooth as I told them when to expect me. The receptionist was a very nice lady. She was ever so friendly, helpful & made me welcome.
The room was clean with everything working in order on the fifth floor. It was very comfortable & cozy & exactly as what was in the picture.
There's food everywhere & shops the minute you step out of the apartment. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor as the city does not sleep. there's always people on the street. So it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear sadtab,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is an ideal base from which to explore all that Melbourne has to offer. Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location in Melbourne. Walking distance to the Victoria market and central Melbourne. 1minute walk to Her Majesty's Theatre; great food in China Town. Slight issue in the room was fixed immediately by management. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Suse C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear that you had such a lovely time in Melbourne and would not hesitate to stay at Punthill on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. What a great apartment, we had king sized bed, great kitchenette, fantastic bathroom, so roomy.

Great value for money with servicing of apartment every day, staff very courteous. Bed very comfortable. Had 1 bedroom apartment. Was great to be able to watch TV from the bed.

Loved having clothes airier to put my washing on.

Staff at reception were so helpful and great to deal with. They all deserve a pat on the back.

I don't know why people complain about no wifi, as you know this before you book!!

Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced Cohen Street, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Shirl071,
Thanks for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
We are extremely pleased that you found the apartments, service and location met all your expectations and that you will happily recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night because we got a great deal with Coxy's Mates Rates. I must admit, I have overlooked this hotel in the past, thinking that being in China Town, it would be too noisy, but it's actually in a perfect location- close to everything but set back from the street and really quiet. We had a one bedroom apartment on the third floor that overlooked the square where the Chinese Monument is and it was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a big corner spa bath and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a continental breakfast included in our deal and it was set up in an area near reception. Even if you had to pay, at $9.50 pp it was good value with a variety of breads, cereal, some fruit, yoghurt and tea, coffee and juice. You can eat it downstairs or take it back to your room. We got onsite parking for $19 for the night which is really reasonable in Melbourne but space is limited so you need to book it. They also have a deal with a nearby carpark if their park is full. I highly recommend this place and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you like to sit outside because ours was one of only two on that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Debbie W,
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Little Bourke, and thanks for taking the time to provide your review on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights this month and would highly recommend this hotel.We got a good rate at NZD 141.00 per night.The studio apt was spacious enough and clean and the decor modern.The servicing daily was well done.The room (604)had no view and was on the 6th floor.relatively quiet for a central city location.The only noise was rubbish collection.
The bathrooms are extremely roomy and shower pressure fantastic.Our only complaint was the bed seemed far too soft and i didnt compain about this.Plenty of cafes nearby for breakfast and dining.
Fantastic location .Lovely well appointed room.Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Higher undoubtedly would be a bit quieter.No room would have a great view as very inner city .Studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Janine45,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and will also recommend Punthill to family and friends!
We do have mattress toppers on our beds, so next time you stay, please request for this to be removed which will give you a firmer mattress.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice room, clean and safe. Central to everything and offers privacy. Gym is not as big as the photos on website but it is a nice place to stay.

Comfy bed and nice decor, would suggest for other couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Eliza C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We do have a fitness room at this property which includes free weights, weighted balls and some other small equipment; we do not advertise this as a gym though.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay last December and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
586 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing