We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LIttle Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Gippsland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A LIttle Gem”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night because we got a great deal with Coxy's Mates Rates. I must admit, I have overlooked this hotel in the past, thinking that being in China Town, it would be too noisy, but it's actually in a perfect location- close to everything but set back from the street and really quiet. We had a one bedroom apartment on the third floor that overlooked the square where the Chinese Monument is and it was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a big corner spa bath and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a continental breakfast included in our deal and it was set up in an area near reception. Even if you had to pay, at $9.50 pp it was good value with a variety of breads, cereal, some fruit, yoghurt and tea, coffee and juice. You can eat it downstairs or take it back to your room. We got onsite parking for $19 for the night which is really reasonable in Melbourne but space is limited so you need to book it. They also have a deal with a nearby carpark if their park is full. I highly recommend this place and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you like to sit outside because ours was one of only two on that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Debbie W,
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Little Bourke, and thanks for taking the time to provide your review on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    343
    87
    13
    12
See reviews for
137
323
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights this month and would highly recommend this hotel.We got a good rate at NZD 141.00 per night.The studio apt was spacious enough and clean and the decor modern.The servicing daily was well done.The room (604)had no view and was on the 6th floor.relatively quiet for a central city location.The only noise was rubbish collection.
The bathrooms are extremely roomy and shower pressure fantastic.Our only complaint was the bed seemed far too soft and i didnt compain about this.Plenty of cafes nearby for breakfast and dining.
Fantastic location .Lovely well appointed room.Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Higher undoubtedly would be a bit quieter.No room would have a great view as very inner city .Studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Janine45,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and will also recommend Punthill to family and friends!
We do have mattress toppers on our beds, so next time you stay, please request for this to be removed which will give you a firmer mattress.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice room, clean and safe. Central to everything and offers privacy. Gym is not as big as the photos on website but it is a nice place to stay.

Comfy bed and nice decor, would suggest for other couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Eliza C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We do have a fitness room at this property which includes free weights, weighted balls and some other small equipment; we do not advertise this as a gym though.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay last December and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Melbourne. We originally had only booked for 5 nights, and at the last minute extended our stay for 2 nights. We were part of a group of 17 people, who were located on various floors. Our room was quite good, plenty of room, and a small kitchenette for those who want to cook, but why cook when Melbourne has soo many great places to eat, including heaps on the doorstep in China Town. My main complaint would be the noise at night from bins being emptied (not in the hotel, in China Town), but I am a light sleeper, and my husband heard nothing. The only day the room wasn't cleaned and towels refreshed was Melbourne Cup day, but we had a note the day before to let us know this would happen. All in all, a fantastic week with our friends, which the accommodation helped.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jenniesue,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
The Spring Racing Carnival is a vibrant time in Melbourne, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay .
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

$238 dollars for a one bedroom spa apartment. We checked in and checked out an hour later. The room 113 or 112, directly above the entrance smelt like smoke, musty and stale, The hand basin was burnt as some one had left a smoke in the basin and it had burnt into it. The sofa couch !! WELL, after pulling it out to make it up for the night, the underlay was stained with urine and blood and the mattress was well worn, no adult could sleep on it without feeling the spring base. Not what I expected for the price I paid, and the pics on the website for the room I had booked was nothing like what we walked into. So much for a romantic get away, we could not wait to get away from this hotel. We travel a fair bit, and stay at quite a lot of hotels, THIS was NOT a value for money apartment, and I would never recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: Here's my tip, for the price I payed, we could have and should have stayed at CROWN !!!! Can not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveharrison67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Owner at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Mr Harrison,

You booked a non-refundable rate. It is my understanding that you arrived at our property extremely upset that we would not accept a cancellation
of your reservation. On arrival, you were frustrated as you stated that you could not find the property and you were outraged at the parking charge of $19 ( The parking rate is a fairly moderate charge for the city centre.) Before checking in you stated that you would only stay for half an hour. Approximately 2 hours later you departed.

We are so sorry that you are upset about your experience, but feel that your extremely disappointing review is motivated by your anger. You arrived on your own and did not
reserve the sofa bed which was consequently made up for you. We are not sure why you needed to use it at all. In any event the sofabed is in fact a brand new one. It has been checked and
we are unable to the unpleasant stains you mention.

At Punthill we pride ourselves on giving good customer service and go out of our way to ensure each and every guest has a wonderful stay.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a studio apartment for five nights. The room was a great size. We had everything we needed, great bed, cooking facilities if we wanted to look after ourselves, and a washing machine as well. We were impressed by the politeness, kindness and service by the staff, from the cleaners to the front of house. We enjoyed the locality as well. Just down the road were Myer and David Jones and we were surrounded by some of the best and well priced eateries we have ever found.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel where it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jan R,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke,
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic time in Melbourne during your stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a one bedroom spa apartment. The apartment was really roomy for two sisters to enjoy a shopping trip to Melbourne. We stayed for 5 nights, arriving late after the staff had left for the evening. Easy to gain access through the phone by the front entrance that dials to the main office. We had a room on the 6th floor and it was super quiet. The sliding doors on the bedroom section locked out all the light and noise so we slept soundly. The apartment was really clean and well maintained. The staff on the front desk were so welcoming and helpful. Special mention to Anna who sweet talked us a spot at a hip Spanish Tapa's bar; Bomba, just re-opened around the corner on Lonsdale. Her recommendation led to a great evening. We would recommend these apartments as they are so centrally located, good size kitchenette, comfortable beds and super clean. The only thing that would have enhanced the experience would be foxtel on the telly for when you've shopped so hard you just need to put your feet up! Thanks Punthill Little Bourke for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor and if you want super quiet, get a one room apartment with sliding doors to kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzcruize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear suzcruize,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
Fantastic to hear that you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
3,070 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,224 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing