We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from one night at the Punthill Apartments in Little Bourke Street and we were both quite disappointed with what we got for our money.
I realise we had to pay a premium due to the Melbourne Grand Prix being on but I can't say we received value for money even at a lesser rate.
First the good, the service received from the lady at reception was without fault. She fully explained everything I needed to know in regards to our stay including late night entry, car parking, etc.
The location is great. Right in the heart of Chinatown, with so many great restaurants right outside the front door.
The room itself was fine, especially as we were only staying the one night. The only faults with the room itself were that the couch was so sagged in the middle of the seat, once in it was an effort to get out, a bit of mould under the taps over the bath and that the shower was over the bath with only a very small shower screen which really didn't stop the floor from becoming quite wet. Other than that the room served our purpose for the night with the bed quite comfortable.
The main down side of our stay was the noise.
I'm not concerned with street noise, as this is to be expected when staying in the heart of any city. It was more the noise from other people staying in the apartments. There seemed to be a constant chorus of voices, door banging and even the lift which must have been on the other side of our bedroom wall.
I concede the hotel was probably booked out due to the Grand Prix and as such a lot more people coming and going than normal, but given that we paid $345 for the one night we didn't feel it was value for money.
Would I stay there again, given the amount of other accommodation options available, probably not.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Brian G,
Thanks for your comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
As you mentioned, the F1 Grand Prix is an extremely busy time in Melbourne with many local and international guests descending on the city for this annual event, thus influencing the room rates during this time. Unfortunately many Grand Prix guests can be rather excited and rowdy and we do apologise.
We are pleased to know that you found the service so welcoming. The property is also currently undergoing a soft refurbishment and items including couches, carpets, curtains are being replaced.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 719 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I have stayed here a few times, but really felt the service this time was slipping, especially from housekeeping.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a few steps and you are in China town. The pool is lovely to cool off in, and there is also a small gym.
We stayed in a one bedroom spa apartment. Check in was easy, we dealt with a lovely man from New Zealand.
We went up to our room, and I was disappointed to notice that the cooktop was covered in what looked like toast crumbs (subsequent servicing of the room didn't get them cleaned, and they were still there when we left). There was also something sticky and hard splattered in the sink. Upon closer inspection it looked like instant coffee granules had been spilt in the sink, then been left to dry. I gave the sink a light scrubbing and the marks came off. If that was the first thing we noticed when we walked in, I'm not really sure how housekeeping missed it. We also noticed the spa and shower area were not cleaned properly after we had used them.
The shaving cream dispenser was empty and stayed empty.
I understand that we could have rung reception and asked for these things to be fixed, but I really don't believe we should have to.
Just after we checked in, someone knocked on the door, and before waiting for an answer let herself in, and proceeded straight to the bathroom, telling my husband "I'm just going to check the shampoo levels". She didn't ask if it was a convenient time, and my husband found it a bit rude and abrupt.
The room itself was nice, very roomy, good aircon, and sliding doors so you could close the bedroom off.
Upon checkout, we went downstairs and told the lady we were checking out, she barely even looked up at us and only said "that's fine there is nothing owing". She didn't ask how our stay was, wish us a safe journey, or even say goodbye.
Would we return? At this stage I would say maybe, as the room and location were quite good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebthunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear sebthunda,
We are really disappointed at the contents of your review and we take the issues you mention extremely seriously.
Of course you should not have to ask for a perfectly clean apartment and of course staff should knock and wait for an answer before entering cautiously and politely.
We would love you to contact our General Manager on 03 9916 8877 as we need to find out more information about exactly when you stayed. The matters you encountered are out of character for the property and staff and we need to investigate how this occurred.
We are grateful that your concerns have been brought to our attention.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First impressions

The minute we arrived here, I knew that I had made the right choice of accommodation. Punthill Lt Bourke is right in the heart of vibrant, bustling Chinatown. We were warmly greeted by staff who helped us to move our luggage into storage whilst we waited for our room to be ready.


Apartment

We were given apartment no 511, which is at the end of the corridor, just around the corner from the lift. It was fitted out with every convenience and comfort one would need, all cleverly arranged to take advantage of the available space.

There’s a kitchenette with fridge, microwave and gas-fired cookers plus the full range of cookware, crockery, cutlery and glassware. Perfect for self-catering.

The bathroom was huge with a spa bath, a shower over the bath, and a complete package of toiletries, right down to shaving cream. All were conveniently placed in neat dispensers at strategic locations. The cabinet above the basin provided ample dry storage for all our personal toiletries. There is a washing machine and a dryer and management even provide sachets of washing powder. Water pressure was excellent and so strong in the basin that you needed to go easy so as not to spray water onto the floor.

The apartment itself was large and comfortable with a TV, air con, a small dining table and three chairs, a lounge, an easy chair, coffee table and a workstation, which we found especially useful for computer work. The large wardrobe with internal chest of drawers provided enough storage for two of us and my wife appreciated the full-length mirror on the middle wardrobe door. And as if that wasn’t enough, there’s also a large half-sized mirror in the bathroom.

The sleeping area, whilst not physically separated from the rest of the apartment was able to be closed off with sliding doors. This was handy when one of us wanted to sleep and other wanted to watch TV. The queen-sized bed was firm, just the way I like it. There’s a small balcony and an outlook onto Cohen Place outside and busy Little Bourke Street just beyond that.

Nothing has been overlooked. There’s a stand for storing suitcases, an ironing board and iron, a clock radio and a clothes dryer, if you prefer to let your clothes dry naturally as I do. Everything worked well and was easy to use. Not once did we have to call down to reception to ask for instructions or for help in using an appliance, as we often have to do in other places.

The décor is stylish and tasteful with a grey, red, white and black colour tone and interesting fashion photos on the walls.

Despite the central location, it was perfectly quiet, being set back from Lt Bourke Street. We slept well every night.


Service

Everyone we dealt with was helpful, friendly and polite. And they all look smart and professional in their neat uniforms in the Punthill corporate colours of orange and brown. The cherry on top for me was that our apartment was serviced daily, Mon-Sun. What a pleasure to come home each afternoon to a clean and tidy place, with beds made, towels changed if you wanted that, dirty dishes and cutlery washed and packed away and fresh supplies of all the provisions, right down to replacement washing powder. You can’t get better than that. The management have clearly put customer service at the front and centre of their corporate philosophy, by making sure that guests are comfortable and well looked after.


Location

This was the perfect location for us, right in the heart of historic Chinatown, which is one street away from the famous Bourke Street Mall. Everything is at your doorstep, from cafes, bars and restaurants to shops, convenience stores, banks, hairdressers, theatres, cinemas etc. Ample public transport on the major streets and even the free shuttle bus had a stop just around the corner in Exhibition Street. All the major tourist attractions like the museums, the art gallery and sporting venues are either within walking distance or a short bus or tram ride away. The major train station at Melbourne Central is about 15 minutes walk. Everything is flat so walking around is easy and the grid pattern of the Melbourne CBD makes navigating your way a breeze. Even the street names follow a logical sequence with Bourke Street followed by Little Bourke Street, Collins by Little Collins etc. It’s virtually impossible to get lost here. We could not have been happier with where we were.


Amenities

Again, pretty much everything you need is provided. For the fitness fanatics, there’s a lap pool and a gym downstairs. There’s a small dining room behind the front desk where breakfast can be had for $9 and also a single computer terminal with internet access which is free for guests to use. Or you can elect to have internet to your room at a reasonable $3 per hour or $18 for a 24-hour cycle. When we used it, the service was fast and reliable. The place is clean throughout, and well maintained.


Summary

We spent seven days at Punthill Lt Bourke in Feb 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - and our time in Melbourne. We wouldn’t hesitate to come back here and, having experienced the superior quality of this one, I’d feel comfortable staying at any other Punthill Apartment Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be quieter and afford a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artfornodriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Artfornodriving,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a favourable and comprehensive review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to know that all your expectations were exceeded during your recent stay, and both our front office and housekeeping teams at the property will be thrilled to read your comments.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

rooms were clean, staff friendly. Not a place for skyline views but you are right inthe heart of melbournes china town and iin arms reach of a melting pot of culture and food. parking is offered at an alternative location but only a few minutes walk.

no need to worry about rating restaurants etc.... it melbourne - way too many choices on the street.

check you have the right costing when booking!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuFromOzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear StuFromOzBrisbane,
So pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke and we look forward to having you stay with us again sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Punthill Little Bourke in Melbourne’s China Town with the express purpose of attending the Australian Tennis Open. It was part of a package deal booked through Flight Centre.
The most direct walking route took us twenty minutes from the apartment to the Rod Laver stadium entrance and it was an easy and pleasant stroll home late at night. Victoria Markets are also a short walk away; this apartment building seems to enjoy a very central location.
Staff manning reception were always cheerful, friendly and very helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor and we slept soundly, although there are several night clubs nearby, the apartment was lovely and quiet and the beds comfortable. The unit was clean, spacious and roomy and was serviced daily.
It is a self catering apartment but we only used the beverage making facilities. We didn’t visit the gym and didn’t swim in the lap pool either. We couldn't find a safe in the room and there is a charge for wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_vegemite_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear happy_vegemite_too,
It is very pleasing to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Little Bourke earlier this year and thanks so much for providing your review. We agree that the property is ideally located to so many city attractions, and you certainly made the most of your time in Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at Punthill on Little Bourke and we were equally happy with this stay as we were with the last. This is moderately priced accommodation which is clean and comfortable and very well located to walk to many restaurants and trams around the city. Our studio rooms were spacious and had a small kitchenette where you could prepare breakfast if you wished, before venturing out for the day. All in all, Punthill on Little Bourke is a much better option than the regular hotel rooms and I would highly recommend it for those who are looking at reasonably priced accommodation that is clean, spacious and in fantastic location. Our apartments were on the 5th floor and very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedickens_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear suedickens_58,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your lovely review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to know that you enjoy staying at Punthill and are also happy to recommend our property to friends and family.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Better late than never! We stayed here for 3 nights in December in a one bedroom apartment. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location, right in the middle of China town. Close to trams, restaurants, the shopping mall is only a 5 minute walk down the street. Everything you need is right on your doorstep.

The room - our room looked fantastic, clean, spacious and very comfortable - we sleep on a hard futon at home so I was worried that the bed would be too soft after reading previous reviews. I didn't need to worry as the bed was super comfortable as were the pillows. I loved the huge bathroom and the lovely bath products.
The staff at the front desk were helpful and always had a smile.
There was only one thing that bothered us and that was the heavy doors to the room slam shut very loudly unless you make a point to close them with care. We heard lots of doors slamming shut when we were sleeping, which woke us up with a fright.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Punthill Little Bourke and would not hesitate to stay again but I think I would also like to try the other Punthills in the area as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up so you are above the a/c unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear countrycreature,
We are very pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Little Bourke, and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
We will check our door closers on our apartment doors to ensure that they are functioning properly.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our Punthill properties sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#41 of 162 in Melbourne
3,288 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 162 in Melbourne
2,355 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $100 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing