We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We feel we were very fortunate to find this boutique apart-hotel. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady (Lillian) whose smile just beamed. Check in was efficient and we were directed to our room.

Our first impressions were the room was very well appointed and finished to a high standard, however the bed looked lumpy. Now we didn't know if this was the mattress or bedding but I have to add it was the mattress. That said we both had the best nights sleep - ever - in a hotel!

Although the website advertises 'limited car parking' we found this was actually a public car park nearby. The fee for this was very good when compared to the fees charged by others in the area.

The Wireless Internet was very fast (we speed checked it at over 8mb/s). Although the cost was $18 a day we found that after purchasing only one computer could connect on the username/password provided. This could rapidly become an expensive if we hadn't been able to link through one computer. Maybe this is something the company could take on board!?

We would definitely stay here again. Lillian and her husband gave exceptional service and made us feel like friends rather than guests. So for that a big thank you. And the accommodation is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sthyorksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 730 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from a family trip over to Melbourne. We had a 1 Bedroom apartment attached through a doorway to smaller studio apartment. This place was perfect for our short stay. The staff were helpful and happy to sort out our small requests. I loved to pool, very small and it would be hard to swim a lap with another person there, but we have a small 1 yr old we are teaching to swim and its perfect for that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked at Punthill for the location, which is great being in the middle of china town. As others have said, it was a bit noisy especially on a Saturday night. This would not be enough to stop me staying here again.

Nice size studio apartment with double bed and sofa and a very small balcony. Small but well appointed kitchen area. Good size bathroom.

My only complaint would be the varying water temperature in the shower – it went from tepid to hot to tepid again over the course of a shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great place to stay to explore Melbourne. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The apartments are well appointed, have every thing you need for long or short stays. Cooking facilities, hotplates as well as a microwave,washing machine, iron and ironing board as well as a hairdryer. It's quite quiet considering the location asPunthill is in the heart of China Town so access to great restaurants, transport and shops are within easy walking distance.The Flower Drum just a round the corner in Market Lane is rated as a first class restaurant specialising in Cantonese cuisine.Her Majesty's Theatre is not far for those who enjoy the theatre and for those who like comedy the Exford Pub is close by too.A great place to stay whilst in Melbourne

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was travelling with my husband and 6-year-old son so we needed somewhere that was close to the shops. The best thing about Punthill is the great location, we were right in Chinatown. Buses, trams, restaurants, shopping and many tourist attractions were all within walking distance. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We booked a one bedroom apartment and asked for an extra bed for our son which was charged separately from the room, thought the mattress was a little lumpy. Service was very prompt every time we asked for extra toiletries or other room items.

Our only complaint would be the noise on Saturday nights. Sounds of partying and glass bottles being thrown away, but no problems on any other nights.

Room Tip: Corner one bedroom units have a nice, long corridor so you have a bit of extra space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariam_Azaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spacious one bedroom. Had a small balcony which was nice. I needed to let fresh air in frequently as the room did get hot & stuffy even in winter/autumn, so you would definitely need the aircon in summer. The bedroom is one of those screen off ones, so not completely private if travelling with others, but the sofa bed worked well. Housekeeping was great. A nice bonus these days to get daily cleaning / towels and bedmaking. The bedroom is very dark when closed up, but great for sleeping. Couldn't hear outside noise from the bedroom, but could from lounge / sofa bed. One think to get right is the master power switches. Unlike modern swipe card holders in most rooms that keep lights & power on when putting your swipe key in, this room has central power switches which take a bit of getting used to. However, overall there is nothing bad to say at all, except the pool could have been better. It is just a lap pool with no step or railings to help ypu in and out..Overall, a very good experience and higher quality than expected for the price. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Lovely to have a balcony. Remember to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AALtravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

did enjoy my stay but i want balcony but you have to confirm by ring few day before,,, i did not get my balcony ...so ring to confirm .. by ring hotel....before hand... location near everything..... and bite noise on satursday night....

Room Tip: ring to conform.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna181265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,452 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
215 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing