We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great place to stay to explore Melbourne. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The apartments are well appointed, have every thing you need for long or short stays. Cooking facilities, hotplates as well as a microwave,washing machine, iron and ironing board as well as a hairdryer. It's quite quiet considering the location asPunthill is in the heart of China Town so access to great restaurants, transport and shops are within easy walking distance.The Flower Drum just a round the corner in Market Lane is rated as a first class restaurant specialising in Cantonese cuisine.Her Majesty's Theatre is not far for those who enjoy the theatre and for those who like comedy the Exford Pub is close by too.A great place to stay whilst in Melbourne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    343
    87
    13
    12
See reviews for
137
323
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was travelling with my husband and 6-year-old son so we needed somewhere that was close to the shops. The best thing about Punthill is the great location, we were right in Chinatown. Buses, trams, restaurants, shopping and many tourist attractions were all within walking distance. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We booked a one bedroom apartment and asked for an extra bed for our son which was charged separately from the room, thought the mattress was a little lumpy. Service was very prompt every time we asked for extra toiletries or other room items.

Our only complaint would be the noise on Saturday nights. Sounds of partying and glass bottles being thrown away, but no problems on any other nights.

Room Tip: Corner one bedroom units have a nice, long corridor so you have a bit of extra space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariam_Azaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spacious one bedroom. Had a small balcony which was nice. I needed to let fresh air in frequently as the room did get hot & stuffy even in winter/autumn, so you would definitely need the aircon in summer. The bedroom is one of those screen off ones, so not completely private if travelling with others, but the sofa bed worked well. Housekeeping was great. A nice bonus these days to get daily cleaning / towels and bedmaking. The bedroom is very dark when closed up, but great for sleeping. Couldn't hear outside noise from the bedroom, but could from lounge / sofa bed. One think to get right is the master power switches. Unlike modern swipe card holders in most rooms that keep lights & power on when putting your swipe key in, this room has central power switches which take a bit of getting used to. However, overall there is nothing bad to say at all, except the pool could have been better. It is just a lap pool with no step or railings to help ypu in and out..Overall, a very good experience and higher quality than expected for the price. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Lovely to have a balcony. Remember to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AALtravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

did enjoy my stay but i want balcony but you have to confirm by ring few day before,,, i did not get my balcony ...so ring to confirm .. by ring hotel....before hand... location near everything..... and bite noise on satursday night....

Room Tip: ring to conform.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna181265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to be in the thick of the action. A short walk to attractions and shopping districts such as Bourke and Swanston streets.

The room was plentiful with ample space to store clothes. Although the lighting was a bit mix matched the room and lounge felt good to relax on in between eating and shopping missions. The view, looking out onto aircon of adjacent buildings, was not great and it seemed that the tiny balcony was mainly for smokers but I was only on the 4th floor (but staying in the city will get you that at times). Other rooms/floors may differ. The bathroom was spacey and the spa worked well, apart from needing some minor maintenance touch ups (the soap dispensers on the wall are a good idea but were covered in old soap underneath).

Parking was $19 per 24 hours and was located very close by at a multi-storey carpark. This seemed to be the average price in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great spot to explore Melbourne right in the middle of China Town. Excellent value for the money. Clean, large and although we were in the front rooms no noise from the street. Bed was new and it was evident the place had been updated . Guy on front desk was helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Front rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,290 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

- Clothes iron was gummy and black, unusable
-staff rude: I asked for an extra flat sheet and the lady at the desk told me FIVE different times that this was the oddest request she has ever had and never heard of such a thing
- The washing machine/dryer did not work and ran for hours all night long (leaving clothes a wet mess once we forced it to shut off; when we mentioned it to staff we were told we did not use it properly, really? There are DETAILED directions on an orange card that we followed EXACTLY but it is our fault we had this problem?)
-we asked for an extra hour for check out and were told no, so I said for all of the problems I had with this room I think an extra hour is not too much to ask for, the man at the desk was grumpy (check out is 10-, check in is 2- there is plenty of time to clean the room, this is not such a big favor to ask for) the same man then shows up at our room moments later pounding repeatedly on our door, my friend was wet in a bath towel, just out of the shower, he did not call to ask if it was ok to come over to look at shower, just showed up unannounced pounding repeatedly on our door (do not disturb sign was on door) he tried to literally push his way into our room, my friend and I were annoyed and put off by this behavior, he said he was trying to help us by fixing the dryer, why not tell me/ask me on the phone he wanted to come up ask us if it was ok? We had already rung out the clothes and packed them in a plastic bag for travel.
-sofa bed did not work, had to have a staff member come up to our room late in the evening to fix it (this staff member was nice)
-not once was there an apology just attitude
-extra blankets were on the floor of the closet, no plastic wrapping, did not appear clean, seemed used by how they were folded.
-no soap in the soap pump container on wall

-we liked how there was a divider door for the main bed to the living room area
-well stocked kitchenette
-nice lay out of room
-clothes dryer rack in room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not realized when you stayed with us. We feel that the problem may have arisen because the reservation was made for 2 people but in fact 3 people occupied the apartment.
The washing machine/dryer has been checked and is working efficiently and it seems that possibly you chose the incorrect cycle.
We train and retrain staff continuously and pride ourselves on delivering excellent service with a smile and goodwill. Excellent customer service is vital in the hospitality industry and should be a priority for all Punthill staff.
We have addressed all matters mentioned by you with staff at the property and would love to welcome you back. Please contact our General Manager,Tania Sreco, when you next wish to travel to Melbourne and Tania will ensure you are well looked after and have a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
3,070 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,224 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing