We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2008

I planned a shopping/spa weekend with my sister and decided to go with Punt Hill Little Bourke, since it was so close to everything. Have stayed at Punt Hill Manhattan and was pretty impressed with it so decided to go with another location under the same company. We were quite lucky to get a room because it was end of November and it seemed everyone had booked places for holidays! Anyway, I called the hotel and the lady was very nice to give me a 1 bedroom apartment for a very reasonable price - $175 pn for 2 weekend nights (other places were jacking up their Saturday nights!)

Although not spectacular, the place was clean and quite spacious and comfortable. We had a queen bed, couch and all the usual kitchenware you would expect in an apartment. There was also good airconditioning and LCD TV's in front of our bed so it made relaxing an ease...especially since we were shopping on hot summery days! There is also a lap pool but it was so small in size we didn't bother trying it.

Being close to the city was a bonus and being slightly off Little Bourke St, it wasn't as hectic as it would be in the main street. However because we stayed weekend nights, restaurants take out their garbage quite late at night and I could hear everything. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher level or bring earplugs!

Apart from that, we were quite pleased. There is a great selection of in-house movies and the staff are pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mushy_sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed in this tidy and clean hotel in Chinatown in July 2005.
The location was fantastic - right in the middle of Chinatown and hence not too far to wallk to the CBD, Lygon street, the prison, etc. Federation square and the museums are a little further away but the trams are convenient to get there. Heaps of restaurants, internet cafes and shops only a hop, skip and a jump away. We only paid about $130 per night making it a reasonable price conscious alternative to other budget hotels.

The room was clean, tidy, spacious and was quiet. We had views of back alleys and the back of another building but that was okay because we were out and about most of the time. The Gym/Lap pool was a bit overrated (the gym equipment all looked old and dodgy and the room wasn't the cleanest).

Overall a very reasonable place to stay in Melbourne and good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We had a fantastic stay at Punt Hill Little Bourke. We arrived on an early morning flight and went to Punt Hill to drop off our bags but unexpectedly were given access to our room immediately (check in was the usual 2.00pm), this was great as we could freshen up and hit the shops. The team at Little Bourke were so helpful, and very friendly - great ambassadors for their city. This is my fourth trip to Melbourne and this is the best hotel I have stayed in by far. My daughter swam in the lap pool every day and used the gym. We found the hotel to be very clean!
Punt Hill is in an excellent location, in vibrant Chinatown, we loved the sights, smells and sounds of this area of town. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Melbourne. Great work Punt Hill!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

We stayed in the Punt which is in Chinatown for three nights (pre booked) and didn't enjoy our stay. The room was not clean, crumbs on the lounge and the carpet and the blankets were covered in long black hairs. The airconditioner broke down on our first night, management did move us to another room, for which we were grateful. But overall our stay was not great

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chubbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,450 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
215 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,123 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing