We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swings and Roundabouts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Swings and Roundabouts”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

These Punt Hill apartments have many advantages, and one or two small disadvantages. They are located in the heart of Chinatown, which is much quieter than you might imagine. Disadvantages are fairly minor, lack of dishwasher is an issue if you are a long stay guest. The combined washing machine/ clothes drier is also a pain in the neck for long stay clients who might need to do more washing than folks who are only there for one or two nights. Advantages are many, showers are EXCELLENT. Staff are fairly unobtrusive, and you may need to ask for some things to be done. However, everything that you ask for will arrive. There is a gym and pool for the fitness conscious. Lots of eateries nearby, very varied in quality, some good, some bad, some mediocre. There are convenience stores handy too, in Lonsdale St, and also a major supermarket only a couple of blocks away that you can access from a side st, near the corner of Russel and Lonsdale st. These apartments are light and bright, many have a balcony. There is no real downside to this apartment block, which seem to be well managed and quite comfortable. They are not as centrally located as some, and are not convenient for trams for elderly or disabled visitors. There are no stairs, which is a plus for wheelchair guests. There is an excellent Chinese restaurant right next door, using the same entrance as the apartments. A basic breakfast can be ordered at Punt Hill, if you want it. All of this is good if you are on a tight time line for business meetings etc. The apartments are comfortable but of modest size which is good for a small family or couple.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    334
    86
    13
    11
See reviews for
133
314
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The Punthill is just a short stroll from one of the city's main thoroughfares. It is not in a prime location like some of the more well-known but more expensive major hotel groups. It does not have an impressive facade either, however don't let that deter you. It is situated in the heart of Chinatown and close to some very good Chinese and Asian restaurants. The hotel entrance is located in a cul-de-sac off Little Bourke St. This did have one advantage for us in that it was possible to park our hire car outside the entrance for a short period while unloading our luggage.

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a week. The room had plenty of space for a couple as we did not close the doors that separated the bedroom area from the rest of the apartment. The queen sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a fair size and had an excellent shower over the bath.

The kitchen area was well-equipped though we did not use it apart from making the occasional cup of tea/coffee. Our room on the second floor was on the side of the building overlooking an alleyway behind the shops. The view was not good and the noise from the air-conditioning units on the adjacent rooves was intrusive if the windows are opened. Fortunately these were shut off when the restaurants closed.

We would stay there again if we could guarantee a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend girl's getaway and found the apartments to be clean and comfortable. There was a small dining table, lounge suite with large TV and sectioned off area with 2 single beds. As we were a travelling party of 6 women, finding accommodation providing 2 single beds is not always easy but we were delighted to find 3 apartments here to suit our needs. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom huge, containing washer/dryer, etc. The location is great, within walking distance to transport and shopping, situated right in the heart of Chinatown. Staff were helpful, especially when checking out as they went out of their way to help confirm our airport pickup (we had the wrong phone number!) We also thought that the rates were quite reasonable, given the location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Punthill is a decent hotel apartment style of residence. Rooms are good size with all the appointments you would expect from a three star digs. Good is the cooking facility and large bathroom with laundry facility. Bad was the bed, which had us both wake up with sore backs and the view into a narrow laneway with the solid wall of another building blocking the outlook.

Sits on top of a Chinese restaurant and next to a sports bar so food and drink is handy. Good spot within a easy walk to Lygon Street and a number of other Melbourne attractons.

Pretty good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Travelled with my parents and two sisters- hence we got a 2bedroom apartment which consists of one bedroom and a studio next to each other which was not connected. But there was another door before our main room doors which we could lock and leave our room doors opened during our stay. Please refer to my pictures for better idea. The hotel even leave some door stoppers for us to keep our room doors opened.

Arrived really late at night around 1 am. There was no reception but I had already liased with the management earlier and rang them for the main door code and the safety box code where out key cards were kept. Everything went smoothly . I have to say i am quite impressed with the instructions/ guides on paper they provided in the envelope with our keycards eg: to locate the master switch in each room to turn on the power- to enable the air conditioning in the rooms. I would never know what to do and where to look if it wasnt for the instructions.

Rooms- fifth floor . Facing the backyard of the building. Quiet throughout our stay. No noisy drunkards/ noise or music from clubs.

Both rooms have a small balcony with an ashtray placed outside- conveniently reminding the smokers to smoke outside the room. Very impressed with this small gesture.

1 Bedroom- Has a separate sliding door which separates the living room and the bedroom.
It has 2 single beds. Unfortunately the mattress was too soft for my liking. Definitely not for ppl who have back problems. It has a built in wardrobes with clothes hangers- iron and ironboard provided hidden in the wardrobes.

Kitchen fully equipped with cooking utensils, cutlery, dining wares , kettles (complimentary tea and coffee), fridge with milk provided inside and a microwaves. Note- no oven. But i would say this is sufficient for a short stay. My family even cooked a full English Breakfast there.

Bathroom- amazing. Very spacious. The 1 bedroom has a jacuzzi, washer and a dryer. There were small packets of liquid detergent provided for washings. Complimentary toothbrush+toothpaste, shower cap,soaps, shampoo and conditioners. Good water pressure shower. They even have a drying rack if you ever need to dry your clothes. Hair dryer is hidden in the storage compartment behind the mirror. Yes- you do need to do some hunting around to look for things.

LIving room- has a double sofa bed. Mattress is really in POOR CONDITION! Seriously need changing. My sister could not even sleep on this mattress and had to sleep on the floor. SHe had horrible backache just after a night on it. You can see some wires springing out. Something the management needs to consider- replace your mattress and sofabeds.
A flat screen tv and DVD player were provided. Dual air-conditioning in the living room. A small square table with 4 chairs- acts as a dining table perhaps.

Studio.- definitely smaller in size compared to 1-bedroom but sufficient.

Consists of a queen size bed. Again mattress is too soft! Has a L-shaped sofa (not a sofa bed) but still can accommodate for a small person to sleep on it. TV and DVD player provided. Dual air-conditioning. Has a small balcony with ashtray outside.

Kitchenette- because it is smaller compared to the 1-bedroom. However it has everything -cooker hob, fan extractor, kettle(complimentary tea/coffee/sugar) , microwave, cooking utensils, washing liquid, cutlery, fridge with complimentary milk.

Bathrooms- same as described above. Has washer/dryer. (liquid detergent provided). But it has a normal bath tub and not a jacuzzi . Good shower water pressure. Has complimentary toothbrushs + toothpaste, soaps, shampoo, conditioners and shower cap.

Other facilities:- has a swimming pool and gym. Very small maybe 2 lanes indoor heated pool . Very limited gym equipment. absolutely ideal for gym junkies who wants their fix of the day aka: to run on a threadmill. A chinese restaurant attached to it- didn't try it thought so can't give any comment.

Staff: Housekeeping staffs been great. Good work on tidying our rooms. Our rooms were in a big mess each day and KUDOS to them. They definitely have done a good job.

Receptions staffs could do some smiling and perhaps be a bit more approachable. Often thtey are pretty stone cold in answering your questions and needed lots of probing before i could get a good answer. Sigh. Is this what you call customer service? However there was an Asian guy who worked during the evening was fantastic- friendly and helpful. Otherwise the women were just grumpy looking in the morning. May benefit some further training of customer service.

Location: In the other end of Chinatown- closer to Exhibition street. Still very close proximity to everywhere. We walked to most of the places. The reason we chose Chinatown because it is accessible to food 24 hours.

Transport:- Just walk towards COLLINS STREET which the next street (towards south) via the small alley on your right when you come out to Little Bourke St. Turn into the alley and you will see Flower Drum restaurant on your right along the alley (alleged the best fine dining restaurant in Melbourne) and you will reach the end of the alley where you will see ITO (Japanese restaurant) on your left side. - Voila! you have reach the Collin st. tram station where you see Virgin Active Gym on your right on Collins. Take note as this is your landmark to get down when you are coming to back to the hotel via trams on Collin's street.

Otherwise just keep walking on Little's Bourke st and you will reach Swanston street.

Value: Book early is my advice. One of the cheapest and good value for money for a 2 bedroom serviced apartment. My rate was different on each day as I was there during the AFL. Definitely a good place for families. My parents loved it- as we could just whip out a simple breakfast/meals before exploring Melbourne at mid-morning for more food. My parents or perhaps most elderly parents tend tp wake up early and they can always fix themselves a simple meal while waiting for the younger ones aka my sisters and I wake up. =)

And yes i would definitely recommend for anyone travelling with elderly parents or with kids if you don't mind sleeping on soft mattresses. Well positioned in the city and good for value. Be sure to request for a quiet room on your booking. Till then- enjoy Melbourne folks!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank YvesInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Found this Apartment/Hotel to be in a great location for getting around. It was not a luxury establishment, but it was very comfortable and great value for what you get. I had a Queen Studio and it had a large bathroom with bath/shower combo all the usual amenities but also a washer/dryer. Fab for the longer stay. It had a nice little kitchenette with microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery, crockery. It had a settee big enough for someone to sleep on (even 2) which was comfortable and the bed was a large double/queen. I felt very spoilt being in a largish apartment on my own. I should mention that it was easy to find and in the heart of Chinatown so you only had to look for the Gold arches of the China gate and you knew you were close. It had access to the City all around and it was within walking distance to Queen Vic markets and easy hop-on, hop-off tram lines. I loved the shower too - large shower head, good pressure and as hot as you liked. Housekeeping and cleaning was a good standard. Had heating/air conditioning and extractor fan for cooking and/or bathroom. Nicely decorated but not flash but very functional and just what you need after a long hard day at the shops. Plenty of room and good TV too. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will go back there. Good security with key cards for the lift as well as the room. Felt safe travelling alone. So very handy to great food places to suit all budgets.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - Street over the restaurant was noisy after party revellers on a Fri/Sat night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here. Although location is pretty convenient and price is fairly reasonable, our room smelled of Chinese food exhaust all through the night (from the restaurant below). Room was adequately sized for three, although the hottub in the bathroom was incredibly dangerous when used as a shower, resulting in a fall in the first use. When the receptionist was shown the resulting bruise (5 X5 inches), he just shrugged. There must be better places to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing