We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels/apartments in melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #56 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels/apartments in melbourne”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights and three days, apart from the fact that the building is a masterpiece of architectural design, we had one of the best sleeps we have had in any hotel we have stayed in, we have been in hotels around the world.
The rooms were quiet and very comfortable, every thing you could possibly need, big flat TV, DVD and another one in the bed room, a stove and dish washer, clothes washer and microwave if needed, bathroom was spacious and clean as you would expect.
The bed was a king size and was very soft, not like the wooden planks you get at a lot of hotels. you are a stones throw from everything, shops and sights, also a free tram stops just out side the door, that takes you to the city, literally just minutes away. in the room you can cook your own food or go to one of the many restaurants just out side the hotel along the board walk, lets get this straight, your not in the city, you would be forgiven if you thought you were somewhere else, like Queensland, if your fit and or young, you could walk to the city but if your like us, trams and taxi's are the way to go, especially the free tram, we are not cheep, its just because its more convenient, your also a few minutes walk from the wheel, Melbourne version of London's eye feris wheel, its around $35 per person, but that's another story. over all the hotel/apartments are a very good choice, we will definitely be going there again, I am not going to hope you have a good time if you go, because I know you will.
PS: there is a great pool and spa as well

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you want a harbor view, you should ask,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpetnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    223
    88
    27
    22
See reviews for
152
251
26
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently spent one night at the Sebel Docklands apartments. Due to its newness, everything looked fresh and clean. The apartments have a modern and stylish look to them. They have used colour in their furnishings and in their prints on the walls to contrast with the white decor. The kitchen and apartment itself was nicely set up with quality brand appliances. The full size fridge would be a bonus for a larger family or people staying longer. Toiletries, tea and coffee were supplied. We loved the full height foyer with the glass decorations which gave a quality feel to the Sebel as you walked to the lifts. We used the Number 70 tram to travel to Flinders St. One thing that is really needed is a photocopy of the operating instructions for the dishwasher as well as the free Foxtel. We were unable to figure out how to display Foxtel on the TV. It shouldn't be necessary to have to ring the desk for simple explanations for something like this.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and to have a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Based on the standard of the accommodation and the servicing of the room, I probably should give this a higher rating. But there are simply too many teething problems which individually are minor but collectively are annoying detract from the stay. It started with the entry cards not working, confusion over parking (poor directions, faulty entry card and it seems we should have been given a remote control to the car park (which meant at one stage we were trapped in the car park). There is a need for clearer signage to the car park on each accommodation floor. I nearly went the wrong way and could have ended up trapped in the fire escape. There are no directories in the room to explain how to use the equipment such as air-conditioning etc (All of the equipment is of a high standard). I'd recommend the hotel on the basis of the quality accommodation and cleanliness, but they really need to get their act together.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment over the weekend. The room was modern, clean and comfortable (really couldn't complain about the room itself). However, when we did arrive to check in I found the lady at the front desk very rude and abrupt. She also took around 15 minutes to check us in - very slow and inefficient. When I did ask a question regarding whether our room had a harbour view she responded that she didn't know?! .....As this is a 5 star hotel I would expect better customer service, similar to that of crown or Hilton. Her job was to welcome us and make us feel comfortable, relaxed and ready to enjoy our weekend away. However this was not the case - we left reception feeling a bit disappointed with the service as both me and my partner too work in customer service and know the importance of making a positive first impression.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor (room 203), in a one-bedroomed (king) balcony room, overlooking the marina. The room was very funky, with modern decor in a well designed layout. There were 2 TVs (lounge & bedroom) & a dock to play your music through iTunes. The kitchen had everything we needed, as we had organised to make a seafood dinner in (to eat on the balcony), rather than go to a restaurant (highly recommended). The balcony had enough room for a small table & 2 chairs, with a great outlook. There were really good quality knives that cut through our crayfish with ease (important) & very nice cutlery, crockery & glassware. The bathroom was spotless and had lovely Appelles Apothecary products & fluffy towels. The lounge/dining was terrific, with curved furniture to make optimum use of the space - clever. The bedroom was fantastic - a very comfortable bed & modern decor. When it was time to shut the balcony door & draw the curtains, you could not hear any of the revelry that was still going on in the Docklands - it was absolutely quiet & dark - great for sleeping in!
Check in was very friendly, with a special mention to Andrew and Nisha, as it was really busy due to it being NYE (thank you). We would also like to make an extra special mention to Jesda, who organised a surprise hamper on behalf of our parents. It was exactly as they had asked & was waiting for us in our room - really lovely! (Thank you).
We didn't have to pre-book car parking, & it was much cheaper than other hotels in the city ($20), however, we still think parking should be included in the accommodation cost. When we asked for a later check out (11am instead of 10am), it was no problem at all. Again, thank you.
People say Docklands is "dead", but we don't find that at all. There are lots of really nice places to eat at & the James Squire pub is at the end of the marina. There's an IGA just around the corner if you need supplies & shopping at Harbour Town is close by. We used the free city circle tram to go across to the casino - easy.
A couple of things we do need to mention:
1. Going from the car park to your room is confusing and awkward. We were given instructions at reception, but too many to follow easily. We went through several doors before we worked it out. This would be difficult for anyone who is older or impaired in any way. Even when you have luggage it's tricky to maneuver. We thought this was badly designed.
2. The rooftop garden has a strange access unless you knew exactly what to do. We asked hospitality staff who told us, but it was odd, (you have to go to Floor 5 instead of 6 and then walk up stairs). You can't see the marina from up there, but there are bbqs & seating within gardens.
3. The kitchen could do with a scourer etc to wash dishes (we didn't have enough to warrant using the dishwasher). These are only small things, & nothing to worry about, but it's good to know.
4. The foyer doesn't do the Hotel justice & looks quite cheap, but don't be put off by that first impression. There's a lot of purple everywhere, which may or may not be to your taste.
5. The only really disappointing part for us, was we booked quite a few weeks before NYE and rang 3 times leading up to our night to check that we were booked into the highest floor. We were paying double the normal rate, so we really wanted the view for the fireworks. We were told several times that we had been given the highest floor with the best marina views. We ended up on the 2nd floor, which although was still lovely, and had a nice view, was not as good as what we had hoped for, & more importantly, what we were led to believe. We had even called on the morning of NYE to confirm this, yet, when we arrived, it was not the case. As check-in isn't until 2pm, we arrived 15 minutes early, but were told all the rooms had already been checked into, & therefore we could not be moved to a higher floor. It was really disappointing, as we expected to have what we had booked. Obviously dIfferent staff told us different things.
Overall: we had a fantastic NYE. Docklands is a great place to spend the evening, as it feels very safe & friendly, but with a great atmosphere. We would recommend staying at the Sebel Docklands, especially at their normal rate, as it's a great location, modern, comfortable, well equipped, clean & friendly.

Room Tip: Highest floor for better marina views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyse-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great view across marina to the bay. High quality fittings furniture and appliances in this apartment, mean a very comfortable stay. Ready access to Melbourne CBD via the free City Circle tram outside. Harbour-town and Costcos is close 100+ meters. Secure undercover parking at $20 is available, sadly as is only wired internet at $18 per day. Electronic keying everywhere except your door which has a conventional key with the biggest awkward key-tag imaginable. The lack of appliance documents and phone call information will I'm sure happen when occupation is complete. A number of good restaurants are close by on the dock. Did not use the pool or gym.

Room Tip: South-side higher levels for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with my 16 year old son. He thought the rooms were cool, and he went crazy with the smart TV in the living room. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There was a lovely cleaning lady who walked us all the way to the carpark after she sensed we were feeling lost. The rooms were very clean and I loved the soft pillows on the bed. It is only 2 minute walking to the City Circle tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
938 reviews
Quest Docklands
#21 of 160 in Melbourne
601 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE SEBEL Spacious and elegantly decorated apartments offer guests privacy and headspace as well as kitchen facilities and a dining area, allowing for tailor made self sufficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing