We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive hotel with mainly business clientele” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel with mainly business clientele”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed in a standard king room for two nights over 1 and 2 December 2009.

The location of the hotel is great and close to a multitude of top quality eateries on Southbank, not to mention the wide selection of restaurants in the Crown Complex. It is a very short stroll into the CBD over one of the many foot bridges. It's also just nice to be on the bank of the river and on the weekend especially there is a really nice ambience with street performers and music from the many bars.

Check-in was quick and easy. I was given the option of upgrading to a corner king room for an additional $35 per night. I think this is about the same as the difference in price of the two rooms through the normal booking avenues. But it was still nice to have the option. I didn't take it though because I was already stretching my budget staying at the Crown Promenade as it was.

The room was beautiful and very spacious. It is tastefully decorated with a neutral colour palette. The photos on the website of the rooms are fairly typical of what you actually get. The bathroom is also very spacious and well appointed. The mini-bar is well stocked. The television is a little dated - not a flat screen. This wasn't an issue for me, but it may be for other people. My room was on the southern side of the building so my view included the ocean.

The only thing I could fault was the fact that I was on a smoking floor despite requesting a non-smoking room. I wasn't told at check-in that it was a smoking room. If I had, I probably would have paid the extra $35 per night for the upgrade. The stentch was really strong for a non-smoker and without the airconditioner on fully all the time, the room really stunk - to the point that it made me feel ill. That being said, there were always air-filtration systems plugged into the hallways in the morning when housekeeping was doing their rounds. But if you are a non-smoker, I would avoid the smoking floors at all costs.

The airbridge which connects The Crown Promenade to the Crown Complex is handy, except the bridge comes out in the casino. So if you are under 18 you obviously can't go that way - you'll have to actually cross the road. However, I did notice that they were constructing a walkway from the Crown Promenade to the Crown Complex at the shopping end of the complex. Once that opens, minors can get through that way.

Crown Promenade guests can use the Crown Spa facilities. I didn't get to use them, but I did go there to enquire about a massage. It looked lovely and the staff were very helpful - such a shame they didn't have any appointments free! If you are wanting to book spa services, I would recommend that you do so right away so that you avoid disappointment.

I ordered room service late one night and it was extremely prompt. However the serving sizes were quite small. The prices for breakfast were fairly hefty and so I didn't bother.
You're in Melbourne after all - go and have breakfast in a laneway - it's much more enjoyable in any event.

As the title of my review suggests, the Crown Promenade attracts mainly business clientele. Well that was my impression at least. This is probably due to the business facilities at the Crown Complex. I didn't see many other younger travellers - although that could have something to do with the price.

That being said, the hotel is still plush enough to serve as a luxury weekend get away or just a nice place to stay for the leisure traveller.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    828
    172
    36
    43
See reviews for
362
848
86
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The location is great. Right in the center of activity.
The casino is downstairs and is great.
There is enough option in the entairtainment centre for games, movies and clubs.
The rooms were neat clean and spacious. Great view of the river across. Service and check in was prompt and there was no problem.
Would recommend for all types of visitors.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing much
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vkarnavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Room was nothing flash although it was clean and had great views. Wooden artwork hanging on wall looked like someone had found some scrap timber and drilled some holes in it. Biggest disapointment was the so called "spa". First thing I check when choosing a hotel to stay in is that it has a spa. The "spa" consisted of a body of heated water which had half a dozen 2.5 inch pipes which just pumped out water like a swimming pool filter would. Couldn't sit in front of it for more than 30 sec or so as it was just too uncomfortable. No jets and no air blower to make any bubbles. Totally inapt and hardly what I would call a spa. Their website brags, amongst other things, of in room playstations for the kids. What they dont tell you until you go to use them is that you have to pay to use them. A bit scabby with the amount they charge just to stay a night. The mini-bar prices could be halved and they would still be making considerable profit. The robes they provided were thin and felt poor quality unlike cheaper hotels I have been to in Melbourne which have had thick & fluffy robes. I'm just nitpicking now but what I am getting at is there are better value for money hotels to stay in and I WOULD NOT recommend the Crown Promenade Hotel to others. To try and finish on a positive, Staff were great, & the check in and checkout were quick.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodgy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

The check-in to the hotel was slow, there were two check-in staff but only one was doing any work. As a result people arrived in after me and were checked by this other staff member. This was poor service. However they did check me in ahead of time at no extra cost and also provided a late check out. The room was on the 16th floor, overlooking a bay and motorway. The room was clean, but had an old tube type TV not a flatscreen one which you expect for this price. Good choice of channels though. There was a broadband connection too and a fridge/minibar and tea and coffee making. The breakfast was good there is plenty of variety, however there are plenty of other cheaper places on the Southbank open at that time. There is a walkway to the casino. There were plenty of magazines to read in the room. You could tell it is a casino hotel because many of the magazines are gambling related e.g Poker News. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the CBD, but five minutes to the National Gallery.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Melbourne was our first stop on our recent trip to Australia so after a long flight we were hoping that this hotel lived up to the other reviews. Our first impressions were wow, great hotel, checkin was quick and efficient, and our room was fine, the full length windows were very impressive as were the views over the river and into the city.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the cost of the Internet, my partner has his own business so did need to regularly check emails etc, and the cost was $25 a day, now this might be OK when your company pays but not for those who are travelling for leisure purposes.

All in all though a good hotel, good location and I would recommend

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Booked three rooms on QFF points. Was looking for a bit of affordable luxury. Big night out on the town. The hotel did not disappoint.

Lobby area has a modern young vibe. Arrival valet service and check in was excellent. I actually arrived very early from an international flight - room was available (I had emailed them prior to arriving). Rooms were a good size. Bed room had a very comfortable queen size bed (linens were good quality), modern understated quality decor - very relaxing. Good size writing desk and executive chair. Long ottoman against the window. Nice floor to ceiling views of Port Philip Bay. TV was an "old" small CRT tube - would have expected an LCD tv. Wardrobe for storage. Decent amount of room to move around - two adults, two small rollaboards. I could hear the guests next door - but they were talking very loudly. Separate bathroom - modern fitout, very clean. Standing shower was huge. No bath. Basin and bench space was excellent. Toiletries were worth using too.

Went to the bar on the ground floor for drinks - good attentive service, nice atmosphere in the afternoon sunshine. Breakfast in the morning was good too - fresh and good range.

Check out was a bit hectic - a long line (approx 15-20ppl). But most people were patient upon seeing all the reception desks fully staffed. Concierge and valet service were accomodating when we said we needed an extra hour or two to get coffees from Southbank. Good PR (and assessment of the situation) when they can see the queue to check out was a mile long.

All in all, a classy place. It's close to everything on Southbank, but doesn't have the Casino dominating your stay.

Thanks to the night staff for having a sense of humour when we hijacked the luggage trolley!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sckc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

2 nights for work at $250 a night
Room was large and well designed. Beds were comfortable and clean. Overall everything was fine but I found the service a bit annoying, for example, service at breakfast was pathetic, took me till after I ate to get coffee and then it was undrinkable.

Gym had some basic machines but it all worked and it had a pleasant view to pool and outside.

The conference facilities were above average with a barrista service (thank the maker!)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#76 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and TravelClick so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing