We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The location is great. Right in the center of activity.
The casino is downstairs and is great.
There is enough option in the entairtainment centre for games, movies and clubs.
The rooms were neat clean and spacious. Great view of the river across. Service and check in was prompt and there was no problem.
Would recommend for all types of visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vkarnavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2009

Room was nothing flash although it was clean and had great views. Wooden artwork hanging on wall looked like someone had found some scrap timber and drilled some holes in it. Biggest disapointment was the so called "spa". First thing I check when choosing a hotel to stay in is that it has a spa. The "spa" consisted of a body of heated water which had half a dozen 2.5 inch pipes which just pumped out water like a swimming pool filter would. Couldn't sit in front of it for more than 30 sec or so as it was just too uncomfortable. No jets and no air blower to make any bubbles. Totally inapt and hardly what I would call a spa. Their website brags, amongst other things, of in room playstations for the kids. What they dont tell you until you go to use them is that you have to pay to use them. A bit scabby with the amount they charge just to stay a night. The mini-bar prices could be halved and they would still be making considerable profit. The robes they provided were thin and felt poor quality unlike cheaper hotels I have been to in Melbourne which have had thick & fluffy robes. I'm just nitpicking now but what I am getting at is there are better value for money hotels to stay in and I WOULD NOT recommend the Crown Promenade Hotel to others. To try and finish on a positive, Staff were great, & the check in and checkout were quick.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

The check-in to the hotel was slow, there were two check-in staff but only one was doing any work. As a result people arrived in after me and were checked by this other staff member. This was poor service. However they did check me in ahead of time at no extra cost and also provided a late check out. The room was on the 16th floor, overlooking a bay and motorway. The room was clean, but had an old tube type TV not a flatscreen one which you expect for this price. Good choice of channels though. There was a broadband connection too and a fridge/minibar and tea and coffee making. The breakfast was good there is plenty of variety, however there are plenty of other cheaper places on the Southbank open at that time. There is a walkway to the casino. There were plenty of magazines to read in the room. You could tell it is a casino hotel because many of the magazines are gambling related e.g Poker News. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the CBD, but five minutes to the National Gallery.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Melbourne was our first stop on our recent trip to Australia so after a long flight we were hoping that this hotel lived up to the other reviews. Our first impressions were wow, great hotel, checkin was quick and efficient, and our room was fine, the full length windows were very impressive as were the views over the river and into the city.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the cost of the Internet, my partner has his own business so did need to regularly check emails etc, and the cost was $25 a day, now this might be OK when your company pays but not for those who are travelling for leisure purposes.

All in all though a good hotel, good location and I would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojangles104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Booked three rooms on QFF points. Was looking for a bit of affordable luxury. Big night out on the town. The hotel did not disappoint.

Lobby area has a modern young vibe. Arrival valet service and check in was excellent. I actually arrived very early from an international flight - room was available (I had emailed them prior to arriving). Rooms were a good size. Bed room had a very comfortable queen size bed (linens were good quality), modern understated quality decor - very relaxing. Good size writing desk and executive chair. Long ottoman against the window. Nice floor to ceiling views of Port Philip Bay. TV was an "old" small CRT tube - would have expected an LCD tv. Wardrobe for storage. Decent amount of room to move around - two adults, two small rollaboards. I could hear the guests next door - but they were talking very loudly. Separate bathroom - modern fitout, very clean. Standing shower was huge. No bath. Basin and bench space was excellent. Toiletries were worth using too.

Went to the bar on the ground floor for drinks - good attentive service, nice atmosphere in the afternoon sunshine. Breakfast in the morning was good too - fresh and good range.

Check out was a bit hectic - a long line (approx 15-20ppl). But most people were patient upon seeing all the reception desks fully staffed. Concierge and valet service were accomodating when we said we needed an extra hour or two to get coffees from Southbank. Good PR (and assessment of the situation) when they can see the queue to check out was a mile long.

All in all, a classy place. It's close to everything on Southbank, but doesn't have the Casino dominating your stay.

Thanks to the night staff for having a sense of humour when we hijacked the luggage trolley!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sckc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

2 nights for work at $250 a night
Room was large and well designed. Beds were comfortable and clean. Overall everything was fine but I found the service a bit annoying, for example, service at breakfast was pathetic, took me till after I ate to get coffee and then it was undrinkable.

Gym had some basic machines but it all worked and it had a pleasant view to pool and outside.

The conference facilities were above average with a barrista service (thank the maker!)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a sofa which doubles as a bed for 1. The room has a very nice view of the Yarra River and the Central Business District area. Free internet service at The Deck till 9pm but not in the room. :(

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
Thank joong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
3,988 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,430 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,836 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,138 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $175 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing