We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Always have a great stay here very smart clean hotel with friendly staff. Ate at the M restaurant which serves great food.excellent spot if visiting Melbourne as very close to all activities ...If your into the casino it's only across the road or just walk thru the walkway

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    838
    172
    37
    44
See reviews for
368
860
87
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location. Fab corner room. Nice touches. Fantastic selection of bars & restaurants. Would definitely return to this hotel.
Nice atmosphere - not stuffy !
The Spa at Crown Towers (adjoining hotel) was fab.
Friendly staff & nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Corner room was fab. Amazing river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieB717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank-you for the terrific feedback about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We are very fortunate to have over 44 bars and restaurants – everything from take-away to fine dining. We pride ourselves on providing friendly yet professional service to try and make our guests feel at home. It was good to read you had the opportunity to ‘spoil’ yourselves at the luxurious Crown Towers Spa – truly a memorable experience.

Take care and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were given a night as a gift, and took this up with our 19 month old daughter. I was very impressed by the fact that the portacot was free of charge. And to top it off they dropped off a baby bath and baby talcum powder for us to use which we were not expecting at all - we didn't ask for this. I found that very impressive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkamkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The only negative was that our stay was only one night! Lovely hotel rooms, very clean, modern and with the nice touches that you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Location is fabulous, right there at Southbank. No hesitation in staying again. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Class and 5 star comfort void of pretension or pompousness; attentive and friendly service; rooms that feel at once historic and immaculately maintained; cuisine that caters for all budgets and palates. Far and away the best hotel experience I've had in Melbourne. Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was on a 2 week trip to Australia. Was the best hotel choice. Only hotel in Melbourne with Casino. Extremely well furnished rooms with a very centric location. the view from the hotel in mind boggling. Its worth paying a premium for this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_one2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend over Christmas 2013. Wanted a quality hotel and that's what we got.

Lovely room over-looking the rest of the Crown complex and a cheeky glimps of the Yarra river. Great location and really lovely room - everything we could want.

Enjoyed a really nice Christmas morning swim in the pool and loved our complimentary chocolates we arrived back to later that evening.

Staff were really helpful, especially the guy our the front - so friendly!

One thing that did annoy was being asked to put down a $300 bond on my card for any potential mini-bar purchases. We hadn't known about this and took quite some time to be refunded onto my card being a UK card.

Apart from that - great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. It wonderful to read you had such a special and enjoyable stay over Christmas which is always a special time in Melbourne. We are fortunate to have such lovely views from all of our rooms which is not always the case with city hotels. In regards to the bond taken as a pre-authorisation on your credit card, this is a standard practice for hotels and I apologise if this was not communicated to you upon checkin. Unfortunately we have no control over the time it takes to release the holding of these funds as it varies depending on the bank you are with.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing