We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 3 children. Fantastic location within easy walking distance of restaurants etc. The hotel and staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. Room was cosy for 4 of us, but comfortable and fantastic view of the Crown Casino and the city. We had a great breakfast which was reasonable at just under $30 per head (children under 12, 50%).

Room Tip: Great view from higher floors overlooking the Casino and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    752
    157
    30
    39
See reviews for
328
747
73
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My third stay at Crown for our annual corporate event. I love the hotel and the service is typically great. We did have issues with items that were meant to be placed in rooms before our check in and weren't advised of our late check out, even when checking on it. During our conference staff were at times hard to find and didn't always follow the event requirements. The venue itself is great and the staff assigned to give directions to other areas were great (and needed!) Our rooms are always great, this year I had a smaller one, but no complaints. Food in the restaurant definitely was better than the previous year also. Overall great and great for our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambra_Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of the Crown Promenade Melbourne, your positive comments will be shared with the Team. It was pleasing to read you found the “service is typically great” however please accept our apologies in regards to the request for items being placed in your room prior to arrival. Our F&B team will be happy to read that you found the offerings to be “better than the previous year” as we are always working hard to continuously improve the menu.

Thanks again for the feedback and hopefully we’ll see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, rooms are small but comfortable for 2, breakfast very nice at 30 dollars per person although we had ours included in package. Great location, so many nice restaurants, connected by air bridge to casino and crown complex with everything you could need.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunfunsun1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warracknabeal, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with the family for 3 nights over the school holidays. We had a twin room which was cosy but more than served the purpose. All aspects of the service provided by the staff was outstanding & the location excellent.The only little issue was that the bar fridge was not even remotely cold & in my experiences with this hotel they never are. But following a conversation with one of the cleaners she directed me to the guest ice machine located in the middle of our floor....problem solved. The pool area was busy but is large enough to still be enjoyed. We had room service lunch one day & whilst quite pricey was tasty enough. We dined at various restaurants within the complex with mixed results but if your chasing a burger the merrywell is the go! You can take the kids to a movie or galactic circus without leaving the complex which takes all the hassle out. No problems recommending this place particularly if you can get a deal like we did that makes it tremendous value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. Our Team appreciate that you found the “service was outstanding” as they always try to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are fortunate to have a number of restaurants, cafes and casual eateries in the complex to choose from and Merrywell has some amazing burgers to enjoy. The entertainment on offer from bowling to the movies is a fantastic convenient option for the kids especially when the weather can be a little unpredictable at times.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with my sister on a visit to Australia. It was booked through the travel agent so didn't research before booking. The hotel itself was very nice but the room was quite small. Lovely beds and very comfortable. We were on a high floor with a view over the city so that was nice.It was quiet and we slept well. We knew that Australia was expensive but the prices for food and drink were high. It is attatched to a casino and shopping complex and is a fifteen minute walk into the city itself. We either ate in the city or brought pizzas and bottles of wine into our room. We did find a small cafe in the casino called Margos? which was more reasonable than the hotel itself, where you could get a good breakfast or a snack. The price of the WiFi was shocking. You seem to be able to get it free in the smallest cafes but in this hotel it was $25 for 24 hours and we only wanted to check in for our flight. You could use the hotel computers but this price was also disproportionate for what we needed. We ended up going to the airport a bit earlier to check in. The staff were reasonably helpful but we had to wait to check in after midnight and a long flight, as the staff were checking on trips for incoming customers in the middle of the night! The hotel itself was fine but pricey and a bit out of the way. I would probably look for something else if I ever went back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a great rate of $169 per night with wife and 2 teenage kids. Room had 2 queen beds, so we had plenty of room.
Requested high room, facing city if possible. Arrived at 10pm, low room with view of a parking lot and derelict building. Oh well, it was only a request.
Pool and spa area is great for adults and kids, my daughter even got a pic with one of the 1 Direction people (don't ask me who).
Great location close to all crown facilities, including bowling and galactic circus, which is a great way to burn some excess cash.
Stay again , yes, recommend to a friend yes.
Do yourself a favour and study here if you are looking for a one stop location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We paid $467 for one night's accommodation with parking and breakfast at this hotel and were sorely disappointed. My husband arrived to find we had been put into a tiny room with just enough room for the bed even though we had requested 2 queen beds because we have a young child. He asked for our room to be changed and with much huffing and puffing and our initial request was met. Our new room overlooked a gloomy lane way and directly at the freeway and was definitely, not the glamorous night in Melbourne's premier entertainment precinct we were promised on the website tag line. The shower door wouldn't close so every shower left a flooded bathroom, the room was basic and not particularly well appointed. I called guest services to request a One hour extended checkout time given I had come off an overseas flight and would like a little more time to recover, the response was an emphatic "NO!" Guest services is an oxymoron considering the service I experienced.

The next morning I called and ordered breakfast requesting strawberry jam and this request was also not met. I was given 2 jars of apricot jam instead. I had to call and reiterate my request which finally resulted in strawberry jam on my cold and stale croissants, although they were never warm in the first place.

We had a lovely 20 minute swim which was all we had time for given our check out time was looming and enjoyed the only thing resembling service from the lady on the pool deck. we then raced back to the room and called guest services again, this time to ask for our car to come up so we could check out. we were told they couldn't arrange that today and that we needed to check out first then they would bring the car. Once again guest services is an oxymoron.

At check out a perfunctory " how was your stay?" was asked to which we replied "very disappointing" The response was unsurprising and consistent with the other experiences at Crown Promenade " - "just complete this survey and send it in".

$467 for one night with the only highlight being a 20 minute swim under the pressure of keeping to the check out time is very poor value in my experience and we won't ever go back.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the view of the freeway, it's depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTDCTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, firstly let me apologise as it is clear we didn’t meet your expectations. We would like the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail so please contact us at your convenience on 9292-8160.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,288 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#76 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing