We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Great service this time”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

There were 4-5 persons waiting to check in, the reservation counter was full and everyone seemed busy. I prepared for a long wait, and the usual corporate indifference. I was surprised when the Day Manager, (sorry, can’t remember her name but recalled it was an unusual first name,) joined the staff and started checking guests in. She checked me in although it was only 11:30 am. I asked and got a high level room with stunning views of the city and Yarra River.

The room was well presented with a decent sized desk. I liked the coffee sachet (note singular) and wished there was more. There were bathrooms and slippers. The bathroom had a large shower area.

The bed was divine and just-soft pillows. I recalled last year I did not sleep well, but this time it was blissful. I had the morning paper delivered and read in bed.

I found the concierge friendly and informative. Last year, no one spoke to me, not even a good morning.

Breakfast was about $30, but there are so many dining places on the river front, and within the casino area. Across the river, you had endless choices and Melbourne has great dining places.

I would stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Yarra River so you can see the fire display from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing with us your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. It was wonderful to read about the positive Service you received upon checking into the Hotel and we’ll certainly be sharing that feedback with our Team, we will always try to accommodate an early check-in when we have the rooms available. We recently replaced all the beds in the hotel – a good night’s sleep makes a big difference when you’re trying to relax after a busy day! We are blessed at Crown to have a multitude of dining options, and whilst our buffet breakfast in the hotel is very competitive in price and offerings to our competitors there are a number of choices all under the one roof which means there is something for everybody.

Hopefully we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    854
    172
    37
    45
See reviews for
373
876
87
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Now this is being picky, but with a better bed, this hotel would be 10/10. The staff are excellent, the service almost invisible, and not at all intrusive.

Congratulations to management for building what will surely become a landmark 5 star establishment in Melbourne.

I attended a week long conference, very good facilities.

However, breakfast could be better, all served up in typical buffet style, and you really should improve the cereal offerings and the bircher muesli is just not right with rind of some kind grapefruit perhaps? Just strange and unusual.

Room Tip: City view above level 10 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My Sisters and I traveled over from Rotorua NZ to go to P!nk. The Crown Promenade was my first choice to stay as it was close to where we wanted to go. The check in was very pleasant and our room was amazing. the beds are so soft and the pillows are even softer. we could get to anywhere from the Crown and it is a beautiful hotel. you cannot fault the Crown Promenade and if i get back to Melbourne that is where i will be staying. 100% happy with this place .Another adventure with my beautiful sisters that was amazing..... Thank you

Room Tip: We were on the 12 th floor with 2 queen beds and the rooms were comfy and very nice. especially shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD-RULZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at the Promenade, its was fantastic. Room was great, view was excellent from the 14th floor. We checked in late & checked out really early and the service at reception was great. You have to swim in the pool its amazing. Location is fantastic, you can get to the casino and all the great restaurants, shopping, cinemas without having to go outside - a big plus on a cold day. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review, we will share this with our Team who will appreciate the positive comments. We are fortunate to have unrestricted views of Melbourne and we receive many positive comments about our heated pool which can be enjoyed all throughout the year. It’s good to read you enjoyed the facilities which appeal to all ages and tastes.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I love the Promenade, it's close to everything.
Room is spacious and bed is comfy and luxurious
Walking pathway to CBD is only 20 mins (quicker if you're fitter) !
Minutes from wonderful array of restaurants, cinemas and safe access to Casino !!

Room Tip: We never heard any other Guests over 3 days - loved the peace and silence !! Their service is thorou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank ChrisnRayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was there on two occasions, one for work and one for fun. During both my stays at Crown Promenade I have stayed in the queen bed rooms that were great to sleep on. All impressions were great. Well decorated and maintained, it looks beautiful. It is an great hotel in a fantastic location and if you book earlier you can get a great price.
Check in was quick, rooms on higher floors have great views of the CBD.
It is also a paradise for the gambling lovers with its easy access to the Casino.
Breakfast and restaurant are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaMussiBaptista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed with family on a holiday in Australia in a small group. Excellent property, excellent location and reasonably nice experience! Checkin was smooth and quick and got rooms on higher floors with nice view of melbourne business district. During evenings, the crown property opposite to this hotel has a light and fire show which is visible from the room. Just a walk from the river, the hotel is also conveniently connected with Crown Casino opposite the lane.

Casino is a vast one with many options from small pockets like me to big ones to splurge. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and service quick and courteous. Breakfast options looked limited but still ok. All in all a good hotel for holiday travellers who wants to see melbourne city and also got time in evenings for spending some dollars on casino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaybansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing