We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights for a conference. Rooms are very modern and comfortable and staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant buffet breakfast is plentiful, fresh, and tasty! Good location to walking to the Riverfront shopping/amenities and to the downtown area to catch the City Circle free tram.

However, there was no bathtub in my room (although a nice large shower) or other colleagues' room I spoke with and the "hot tub" in the pool was only "warm" (both cause for the four star rating). I was told that because the hot tub flows into the infinite pool it cannot be kept any hotter (~32 Celsius = ~90 F). After a 15 hour flight from the USA, a good hot soak is always needed! Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We were delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, it was great to read you found the “rooms very modern and staff very friendly and helpful” as we take immense pride in our service delivery. Mesh restaurant provides a variety of choice for the full buffet breakfast and is very competitively priced compared to similar hotels – there are a number of other options within the resort should from casual to more formal dining. In relation to the temperature of our spa we appreciate it may not have been warm enough for your liking, however we do have private Steam & Sauna rooms in both the male/female change-rooms which are available complimentary.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    865
    174
    38
    45
See reviews for
378
885
88
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I have now stayed at all of the Crown hotels in Melbourne. This one seemed not quite as luxurious, but still a very high standard. Beds were extremely comfortable. And the shower in the bathroom was huge. I love how you don't even have to leave the Crown complex, everything is there that you need. Check in and out went smoothly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying at Crown Towers for the previous 4 nights, you definitely notice the difference in quality at Crown Promenade which is the more affordable property within the Crown complex.

Staff at check in were friendly and allowed me to check in early. They also were very helpful when my friend needed to get into the room while I was out with the key. The room was clean and contained all the basic amenities but the bathroom was on the small side.

The view from the room was spectacular and overlooked the Yarra and Melbourne City. The highlight of the room was the day bed / chaise lounge next to the full length window which was great for an afternoon snooze with a view.

Location is great, and the hotel is good. Would stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRodra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed overnight with family when going to see Liverpool FC match.

Hotel is new, fresh and the room was everything you need. Breakfast very good, and the location is perfect. It is over the river from the city, but a nice walk either along the bank or straight across. It does join directly to the Casino, or better still to get outside and is just across the road. Was a couple of km walk to the MCG, but just perfect for the occasion.

Would happily stay there again if was on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the last leg of our British lions trip and this hotel is just fab ! Very Las Vegas though and the clever design means you can access the casinos and nightlife as much or as little as you want . Dining options in the complex are huge and we had excellent meals there ! Great staff and a fantastic gym ,pool and spa - would definitely be back ! Only one downside is no free wifi anywhere in hotel :( . Overall fantastic !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcjaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review, it’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments will be shared and appreciated by the Team. We’re glad to read to enjoyed all the facilities the Hotel and wider resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Promenade for the PAX convention. Was a great hotel, the room was great, everything was clean, the bathrooms were nice. The TV had so many channels! It was great watching Adventure Time and Regular Show marathons while getting ready to go out!

The only down side to my trip was the door keys! I had to get mine replaced every night because it stopped working! They say it happens when people keep them in those phone wallets and the magnets in the phone wipe the card. Although it continued to do it even when I stopped carrying it in my phone wallet. It's a minor annoyance especially considering the other 3 people in the room kept theirs in their phone wallets and they had no problems at all. It was just me :(

Overall it was a great place! Wish I had the time to check out the pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kneenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

A flying visit to Melbourne for business. Crown Promenade is conveniently located to all the amenities in Southbank. Room is clean and well presented with staff attentiveness that you would expect. The only suggestion would be is more pillows on the bed. With only 2 on the bed and one spare in the cupboard. Just a small thing that I picked up on given that if you do not enjoy a thin pillow, like my partner and I, you will notice. I will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SMDO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. Our Housekeeping department will really appreciate your positive comments about the presentation of the room as they work hard to ensure the rooms are kept immaculate. We understand feather pillows may not be to everyone’s liking however we do have some spare foam pillows in the wardrobe and a number of other options if you call our Housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,769 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,264 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,438 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing