We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #31 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very over priced for what are basic rooms. Staff are friendly enough but are not exactly going out of their way to be helpful. Stayed here on a business trip to Melbourne. Would I stay again..no.

The hotel reception seems cold and unwelcoming and generally the hotel has no character.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Whilst is was good to read you found the staff “friendly” it was disappointing you felt we didn't go out of our way to be helpful. Our rates fluctuate based on demand and generally are competitive with similar hotels in the CBD, whilst special events are on in Melbourne rates will generally be at a premium. We appreciate the styling of the Hotel may not be to everyone’s liking however it may be worth considering our 2 sister properties. The Crown Towers is the benchmark for luxury hotels whilst the Crown Metropol is a modern, fresh and vibrant hotel all located conveniently within Crown Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've stayed at the Crown Promenade a few times now and it's got everything you need in a city room. The rooms are a bit long and narrow and there's no kitchenette (which is rare anyway) so you've got to fill the kettle in the bathroom (very common) but other than that, the beds are comfortable, the big full-wall-sized long windows are incredible to watch the fire lanterns that light up about 7pm every night. We would delay our dinner reservations just to make sure we could see the fire lanterns before heading out! We never tried the in-house breakfast as there's so many great cafes along the South Bank, then we'd head over the bridge and comb through the back alleys for outstanding cafes and graffiti "galleries". We love Melbourne and can't wait to return again. The other great reason to stay on the South Bank is that there's less traffic, being in the centre of the CBD seems dark and dingey whereas everything on the South Bank is quite light and airy. Trams are handy and we felt really safe walking around at night. The foyeur at the Crown is incredible by the way, massive lounges and huge ceilings, quite architecturally beautiful and mesmerizing.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over the river for sure, you can't miss the 7pm fire lanterns lightup eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerHillsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views from the 16th floor!!! Room is spacious and clean, bed so comfy. Gorgeous bathroom. So close to DFO, walking distance :))). Superb service and friendly staff. Tonic Bar has lovely cocktails, we didn't eat here because we knew if other restaurants we liked!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review of your stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. Our staff will be very pleased knowing you found their service “superb”. Tonic bar is our best kept secret and offers a range of delightful cocktails and bar snacks – one of the few bars you can get a seat on a Friday or Saturday night and have a discussion without having to shout. DFO and the CBD are only a short walk away with a tram-stop in front of the hotel if you feel like relaxing.

Thanks again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a week as my wife was attending 2 international nursing conferences. We were given a high level room with a view over the river, and this was of a very high standard. No complaints about anything, and the huge windows with a chaise lounge in front was really relaxing to look at the sunset. You expect quality when paying a good price and the furnishings, professional friendly staff and food made this a good place to stay, especially if one is attending a conference at the Exhibition Center which is close by. if it is raining you can walk through the rest of the complex and then its only a short cross over the road to enter the Exhibition center.So many choices of food in the whole Crown complex, casino and food court, as well as hundreds of places along the river. Also a good location to get the free tourist bus and just a 5 minute walk across the river to the free tram, to get to different parts of the city. Plenty of taxis outside to get anywhere in the city or to the airport. We definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a high level room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and daughter had 2 x standard rooms. Nice rooms but nothing over the top. Staff were very friendly and check in a breeze. Check out was extremely busy with a long wait. Pool is lovely with a great spa. Good gym with view of pool whilst on the treadmill however no water available in the gym. We have stayed at all 3 of the Crowns hotels in Melbourne with the Metropol being my favourite. They are all in a great location and staff have always been great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good accommodation and connected to casino complex and Towers and Esplanade hotels.
Basically you never have to leave the casino complex, with bars, restaurants, to suit all pockets and food types, pools, fitness suites, cinemas and shows. But all these are at a cost and the money flows out of your pocket like a waterfall, A$29.50 for breakfast, A$25 for Internet, drinks, food etc. A great destination as long as your bank balance stays in credit and far far cheaper than the adjacent Crown Towers.

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. It was terrific to read you had an enjoyable stay and with a plethora of restaurants and bars to choose from there is definitely something to suit any occasion. We also have a number of packages which include breakfast which may be something to consider on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a few days. Our room was very nice & comfortable. Service was good & friendly. The pool was awesome!!! And it is attached to the casino so it made it very easy for me to lose my money! :)
Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxxxines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thanks for the positive comments, our staff will really appreciate the feedback as they’re always striving to exceed our guest expectations. Our infinity pool is a great place to relax and is set at the perfect temperature in these colder months. Hopefully we'll see you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
3,961 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,415 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,782 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,132 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $173 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing