We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I booked the Crown Promenade for two nights to see a concert in Melbourne. Check in and check out were both excellent, our room had two very comfortable Queen sized beds and the shower was fantastic. As we had late nights and needed a sleep in, the room suited us because it was very quiet. We heard no noise at all.
We had room service drinks and food by the pool which was very nice and the price quite reasonable.
The easy access across the walk-way to the Crown Casino and everything on Southbank makes this a very comfortable and convenient hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a city view - great view and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    828
    172
    36
    43
See reviews for
362
848
86
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable & very quiet - probably one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed in. No complaints at all and I'm pretty fussy. Check in was a little slow. Rooms were spacious and well maintained. Buffet breakfast was good at $29.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keryn-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed one night on business trip and found that the guest booklet does not honestly provide T&Cs for all hotel services. I found that VGA cables are described as available from the concierge and called to get one. I was told that the rent :) will cost me $15. The guest booklet that marks every paid service as "Charges apllied" had nothing in description of this one, so I learned that not everything that does not mention charges is free. These cables are in the roons of most 5 stars hotels in other countries, so I guess there is a room for improvement.

Helpful?
2 Thank TK_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Crown Promenade.

Unfortunately due to the number of services and facilities in the hotel and wider complex it is not viable to place in the compendium all the T&C’s – however we do have a guest services centre which operates 24/7 who are always more than happy to assist with any questions which may arise.

In regard to the $15 charge for the VGA cables these are complementary to our guests and I’m disappointed the incorrect information was given to you – please accept our apologies for this oversight.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed at all 3 of the Crown hotels in Melbourne. This is my 2nd time at the Promenade but this time it wasn't as good as last time.

Positive points
- Very friendly staff - super helpful
- Easy access to the casino (my favourite of all 3 hotels)
- Love the lounge chair along the window so you can sit and watch the world go by
- Dinner was delicious

Negative points
- Room was dusty. I never would have expected this from a Crown hotel. The mini bar was all dusty. Also some sort of fluff was falling out of the vent above the shower and it was all over the floor.
- Breakfast was horrible. I wasn't impressed paying $80 for breakfast we hardly touched. The salt shaker arrived empty which was just annoying. The overall breakfast was just disappointing. I would suggest going out to one of the many restaurants for breakfast.

Overall our stay was still nice but there was just those couple of things that stopped it being perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. It was good to read that you found the staff “very friendly – super helpful”, and that you enjoyed the views and dinner, your comments will be passed onto the team which take great pride in their service delivery.

It did concern us to read about the dust in your room and poor breakfast experience – we will be reviewing the points you raised with our Housekeeping and F&B Manager – please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Hopefully we can redeem ourselves on your next visit to the Crown Promenade and make sure it’s the perfect stay.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Recently stayed three nights here for a business trip, and I must say the stay was excellent. The whole Crown complex in Melbourne is brilliant, and an absolute destination in it's own right. The Crown Promenade is just across the road from the Casino and Crown Towers, however is connected by a covered walk bridge. The only complaint I would have about my stay here was the pillows were very, very soft. Everything else was very good, and they have great facilities on the third floor with a lap pool, spa and gym. I will be staying here often in the future for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiKento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The service was exceptional from the minute we arrived ! All staff were very friendly and above all - smiling. :) Our room on the 21st floor was overlooking the Yarra River and it was lovely. The Tonic Bar on the ground floor was a nice place to have a meal and drinks. At night we went to see the Empire Spiegelworld show in the tent on top of the Crown complex. (Fantastic show !) Our overall experience at Crown Promenade was terrific. Definitely would recommend you stay here. For any smokers out there, when you first make your booking just ask for a Smoking Room.

Room Tip: The higher up your room of course the better the view of Melbourne, especially if you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJY27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to pick up an Easter deal from the website, which included valet parking and a buffet breakfast . We were greeted by very friendly staff who made us feel welcome the minute we stepped out of the car which was a great start. The room that came with the deal was on one of the lower floors , we were offered an upgrade for a higher level for $40 more which after looking at the room I was happy to take as I wanted a view. I am so glad I did. The upgrade room was much nicer and we spent a bit of time on the window seat looking out over the Bay and the city below. The bedding was very comfortable and the room temperature excellent. The wifi charge at $25 dollars for 24 hours was a little steep. The overall look of the room was nice and well stocked. The location is great close to everything with public transport at the door. But for us the standout was the staff, we found the service to be fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff who were keen to assist us with printing that we required.
The buffet breakfast at Mesh was tasty and plentiful a great start to the morning. the 11 oclock checkout was great and they were happy for us to leave our car and bags there after checkout so we could do what we had to do in Melbourne. I will be returning next time we need to stay in Melbourne as it was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#76 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing