We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy the Crown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay here regularly. Good hotel, always clean, friendly staff and very convenient to the city for the business traveller or tourist. Trams just outside, and plenty of good restaurant options nearby..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Very unusual to find a motel theses days that actually has smoking rooms and your even asked on checkin love the city view all the glitzy lights and a full glowing excellent staff very very polite and helpful perfect location especially if you like a bit of a gamble (yep sure do)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I liked this hotel as it is located in a nice area (Southbank) just next to the 24 hours Casino. Convenient to go shopping, drinking, dining and watching movies too. I stayed there on December 2011. The room was big, clean and had 2 big double beds. Shower was okay too - hot and cold water. However, there was very little amenities provided so you have to buy if you want to have toothpaste and toothbrush, etc. Its part of the hotel's arrangement as it is suppose to be a business hotel - not so much for holiday I guess.

Overall it was a good stay. I recommend great steak just opposite the hotel (in Crown) its called Rockpool.About 10 mins to Melbourne's city by tram or just walk towards Flinders Station and find Flinder Street then you're already in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weloveindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The room was average nothing special. It smelled of cigarette smoke!!! We got put on the smoking floor. The staff failed to inform us that there are smoking and non smoking floors and didn't ask us which one would we prefer. It is crown after all you do expect certain level of standard. You are not going to get it at Promenade

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luci_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Firstly let me apologise for the experience you had whilst staying with us at Crown Promenade. Our staff should have been more diligent on arrival with checking of your requests and hopefully you advised us of your dissatisfaction during your stay so we could organise a move to another room.

Please do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were lucky as we went up and stayed after seeing it advertised as a deal on one of those travel shows.. Because it is nothing special and would have felt being ripped off if we paid the normal price they charge.. Besides having everything so close to the Hotel and the view from the room was spectacular, as far as everything else goes it was just another Hotel... The worse experiences of the stay was even at 18 stories up the humming noise during the night from the A/C Units was terrible and the fact for the ease and the convience we decided to eat at the Hotels Restaurant for Dinner which was very poor.. They only had 4 tables for the night so we should have realised something was wrong then but for only a few customers the service was very poor and the food was only just better...

Room Tip: If you Love a great View go for a Corner Room at least 10 or more stories up as they look across to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Crown Promenade.

We were disappointed to read about your concerns, in particular about the noise from the AC vents and your dining experience – both matters will be forwarded to the relevant Department Managers to ensure a consistent service delivery experience to our guests.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a good hotel in a wonderful location in Melbourne. The hotel is reasonable new and still in good condition.

the first thing i noticed on checking in was the staff uniform. uniforms they are not. There is more variations in dress and manner of wearing them than i could record. It gives a ramshackle appearance.
It also appears that the lack of uniformity on appearance is working its way through to staff attitude. I was called mate, staff were unshaven, clothes were not tucked in.
IT LOOKED ORDINARY.
I don't want to be treated like the PM but some attention to the details of staff appearance and manner of addressing patrons would not go astray.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Whilst it was good to read the positive aspects of your comments we were very disappointed in relation to our staff grooming and the manner in which they addressed you. Please accept our apologies and do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As always crown prom is an excellent hotel, friendly check in, helpful staff and the room and the view were great. very clean and tidy and service was prompt. cant fault or complain about anything. just a great stay for overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,913 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#79 of 162 in Melbourne
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,115 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 162 in Melbourne
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $181 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing